We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach access”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Cavalier over the Labor Day weekend, so, of course, it isn't going to win a high "Value" rating from us. Based on the reviews I read, I wasn't expecting a very nice hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (on the 3rd floor) had a partial view of the ocean. The room was clean, except for some mildew in the shower area. Being so close to the ocean, it was understandably damp. Everything, including the A/C and Refrigerator, worked fine. The walls are apparently paper-thin, so we could hear what was going on in the next room. The towels were good. We did not eat at the hotel. The bellman was friendly, but not helpful. The front desk personnel were OK, but not impressive. The hotel was close enough to the high-activity areas for us, and the beach was extremely nice in this area. I would probably rate the hotel higher if I'd been paying off-season rates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

The general condition is that the hotel is worn out and poorly maintained. The beds were descent but our carpet was wet in spots and we could not figure out why. The hallways and elevators had no climate control. They charge $10 to park in their lot or they offer you free parking at the other location which is across a very busy street. They should just build the parking cost into the room charge. This is our first time staying here and we are not likely to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteoak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful, partial ocean view was unexpected and nice, room was clean although the bed spread was outdated polyester cover however the beds were reasonably comfortable, toilet and shower clean and in working order. We enjoyed the flat screen tv and small fridge. We also opted to pay the additional $10 for parking onsite vs across the street which turned out to be very convenient for our family with all of our beach gear.
Thumbs down on the Room Service which was catered by the restaurant downstairs the food wasn't very good. The following morning however took a risk and ultimately enjoyed the breakfast buffet from the same restaurant.

All in all, we would go back as it met our basic needs, it's ocean front, and we enjoyed the outdoor salt water pool.

Room Tip: Request partial ocean view if full ocean view is unavailable. The 10th floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bn4md1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a week stay on the naval base and decided to add a night by going early. We booked this hotel a few hours before arriving. Check in was easy, even arriving after midnight.
People were very friendly. Breakfast and lunch were good. Service a little slow in the morning but very friendly staff made up for it. The pool is great with a diving board, and there are bathrooms right there that you can use, showers for coming off the beach. The boardwalk starts just a block away, so it is very easy to hop on from the Cavalier.
They were nice enough to let some friends of ours park in their lot of the older hotel which is being renovated, even though they didn't stay there or have a hang tag. Really convenient.
Overall, delighted with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeybagz312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

NOTE: This is about the oceanfront Cavalier, in front of the original Cavalier

At the rate of $259 per night (over $300 with taxes), we had high hopes for a historic hotel that looked really cool when booking. We only planned to stay one night at the hotel for a quick weekend excursion to the beach with my sister and family (who booked a separate room).

One good experience: we called ahead around 9am and they let us check-in early (almost right after we called) instead of the 4pm check-in time. This was very helpful because we only had a night planned and were able to spend more time in VA Beach.

The negative: if you want to park in that convenient parking lot located at the hotel, which would make sense, you have to pay $10. Perhaps I missed this, but I didn't recall the website saying we had to pay to park. You could park for free, but had to walk from behind the old original Cavalier hotel located across the street. They conveniently didn't charge my sister this fee however, who parked in the lot, so it makes me wonder how they choose who will pay this extra charge. Anyway, the hostess when we walked up was preoccupied with their new computer system and proceeded to tell us why it was confusing, etc. We just wanted to get in and done!

The hotel is very dated and looks like it came right out of the 70s at their last remodel.
We got in the elevator and headed up to the 4th floor to our room and noticed in the hallways bags of trash everywhere; some sitting outside of the trash receptacle and some just sitting outside of multiple rooms on our hall/lobby area. See photos.

We got to our room. The room (403) was beyond frigid when we walked in and had to turn the A/C down AND our door would not close without slamming it (which was probably inconvenient for our neighbors but a must in order to close the door to lock). The room had a convenient small balcony attached hat you could sit on. The bathroom in our room seemed to be nice, except there was really no cold water.

When looking around the room, the carpet was wet/damp and their was mildew on the lampshade (see picture) as well as on one of the double bed (only option available) covers. Maybe in a cheaper hotel or motel, maybe we would expect this, but not for the price we were paying (we would have paid more to stay somewhere mold free).

OH. And the fire alarm was broken in our room (see photo).

So, these things alone really brought down our experience overall. But there were some nice things:

1. Oceanfront so you could walk out to the beach
2. Lifeguards at the hotel pool
3. The hotel pool (although it was frigid also)
4. Kiddie pool for babies and parents

Other negatives:

1. The gym - it was beside an underground parking garage and smelled horrible (and there is no way someone could work out with that smell)
2. The "game room" - it was filled with an empty kid table and chairs, and games (you have to pay for) that weren't all working
3. Loud guests (although at night it didn't bother us)
4. There was hair left waiting for us on our pillow (we swapped it out)
5. Not a ton of electrical outlets to plug in phones, laptops, etc.
6. the TV was huge and hasn't seen an upgrade
7. No fan in the bathroom

Overall, I would find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff is very friendly and polite!
The rooms smelled of mildew, spider webs and dust everywhere,not to mention upon showering we
found the previous occupants dirty laundry still in the shower. There was a $10 a day charge for parking, yet many of the vacationers could not find a parking spot on the site which was paid for. The food was tasty, however, just plain expensive for no reason. WiFi was free, a plus, but the signal was extremely weak.
I would not recommend this hotel to a modern family. If your desire is to take a step into the past....The Cavalier Hotel as far back in the past you can get. This hotel is not a top competitor for modernized hotels for same prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekingsdaughter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Cavalier is a nice hotel at the end of the beach that is peaceful! My check in and check out was amazing! The young ladies Cayleen and Lindsay could not have been nicer! Bathrooms were remodeled but the tissue holder cover was all rusted? Was not happy that the baby pool was filled with sand. I know I am at the beach but still...everything else was great! Glad the Cavalier is still here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvsbnadancersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,041 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
567 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: 4200 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $271 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing