We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of 19 Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
19 Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We based our booking on the reviews in here and didn't regret it. We did arrive at a busy time and were a bit stressed by the small parking lot, but things worked out fine. The room was as all other small, but very clean and cozy. Actually, my husband who normally hates small rooms, commented on the fact despite having a room with no window he felt very comfortable in there. It was a bit hard to find a spot for the open suitcase, but we got everything arranged and if we had decided to unpack it all, we would have had both a wardrobe and drawers to put it all away. The bathroom was also more than big enough, but an added shelf would have been convenient. An advantage of the inner rooms is that there was no street noise in our room.

The front desk staff was friendly and we enjoyed that we could get a cup of coffee at any time down in the reception area. There is only one elevator, but it is big, so no problem there. The room terrace is great and a good spot to relax after a day on the beach. Some friends stayed at the hotel at the same time and the terrace worked great as a social meeting point. The only negative was that the housekeeping was a bit quick at times - used cups were not replaced and a half empty just left on the table. But they seemed to do the bathroom and the bed was made, so it was no big deal. The cabled internet connection was very fast most of the time. All inn all, that close to the beach it is great value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    108
    51
    34
    36
See reviews for
72
133
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Due to the cheaper rates they offered compared to the hotels around them. We decided to save some money and stayed here as it is conveniently located across the street from the boardwalk\beach, and walking distance to restaurants and stores.
- Hotel: Since the hotel entrance is right off the street/road you need to use your Room key to enter into the hotel, which is a good security feature. The hallways are very narrow
- Room: The room was clean but small. The carpet was clean. Since our stay was short (1 night) and it was only two us it worked out just fine The room had a microwave, refrigerator and a flat screen TV with cable. The bathroom was nice, clean and they offered Bath and Body Works toiletries.
In the bathroom there is a Sign that states that you will be charged for any missing towels on check out.
- Parking:This hotel has two parking lots. The one located directly behind the hotel is small and very limited. But the one located two blocks away was spacious and had many spots available. Hotel provides you with a parking pass.
- Amenities: This hotel does not offer any amenities, other than close proximity to the boardwalk/beach/shops/restaurants. There is no pool, no free breakfast and no WiFi, but you can obtain the internet with a wired connection in the room and there is free coffee. Also they provide a rooftop terrace where you can go out sit down and relax or overlook into the street below.
- Experience: We arrived four hours before our check in time. So we decided to see if was possible to check in, it would have been but our room was not ready. So the clerk took our cell phone number and within an hour we received a call and returned to the hotel to get check in. We didn't spend much time in the room, but late that night we noticed that the A/C unit in the room, made this drilling noise every few minutes which was annoying, we even turned off the A/C and it still made that drilling noise. Due to that annoying noise, we did not sleep very well. We complained to the front desk a few times and played the recording of the drilling noise off our cell phone as documented proof and we were able to get a reduced price on our bill.

Apart from the A/C drilling noise, we didn't have any other issues and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypersome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Tried to plan a last-minute overnight beach stay (as it turned out with the Nat'l Shriners Convention going on). ALL the major chains were booked solid, ended up here based on Tripadvisor reviews. Cost was less than half of what I would have paid for the hotel directly accross the street. Reviews were pretty much spot-on. We got lucky with parking - there is an overflow lot 2 blks away if needed, check-in w/out problem. Got the suite. It's the size of a standard single hotel room. Maybe. Room was clean. Bathroom was clean. No tub (for those traveling w/ littles). No linens for the fold-out, they got them for us as soon as we asked. Good Location - easy access to the beach. Only real complaint was not the hotel's fault. The strip stayed very active (and loud) until around 0230. Easy check-out, no surprises on the bill. Would recommend without reservation. Would not want to stay there a week with several little kids due to size, but would definitely stay there again for a quick overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzasemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed with my family of 4. Great room rates (half the price of a hotel across the street on the beach). This is a no frills, generic, bargain hotel. Rooms are small but clean. More than adequate for our family, as we spent little time in the room. Bathroom is small and only accommodates one person at a time. This is an older hotel, and as such, has older rooms, fixtures, one elevator, minimum parking next to hotel (although their other lot is just two short blocks away). They have a nice open deck on the roof. This is a non-smoking hotel. The front desk staff was always helpful and pleasant.

The biggest downside for us was our room had windows facing Atlantic Ave., where all the night activity is located. A nightclub was nearby and the noise level was quite high until the clubs closed. It didn't quiet down until around 3 AM. Also, the street is very bright and the light shined in the windows, despite our best efforts.

If you are looking for a bargain hotel in a great location, this might be for you. Remember, you get what you pay for. Ask for a room away from Atlantic Ave or even an interior room without a window.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylarichmondva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the 19 Atlantic over Labor Day weekend. It was the least expensive of any of the hotels "across" the street from the resorts. It was very clean, updated furnishing and decor and a great location. There is a roof top deck which looks directly between 2 of the larger hotels so there was a view of the Atlantic as well as the dolphins swimming along each day. We had no problems with parking in the lot directly behind the hotel.

If you do not plan to spend any time in your room besides sleeping, the smaller double bed room is perfect (and much cheaper!). The room is rather small but if you are using it as a "home base" while on vacation it is just fine. If you think you be in the room more I would suggest something larger.

I would definitely go back!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sknib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I don't normally comment on sites like this but felt compelled. I read some of the negative reviews of this hotel and was prepared for the worst when I booked my weekend stay for the Labor Day holiday. All I really wanted was somewhere to sleep and close to the beach - so I didn't care if the hotel was a dump. Besides, even if the hotel was a dump - the price was right! ! HOWEVER, when I arrived at the hotel I was VERY surprised. First off, the hotel looked very clean and was well-maintained. This is coming from a hotel snob who is a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest. Don't get me wrong - its not a resort (ie. not a place to honeymoon!!) but it is a very well kept hotel. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of other hotels but there are some nice amenities and the staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is right across the street from the beach (there is access through a building right at 19th street) and there is free parking (sometimes you have to park at an annex lot 2 blocks away but I ALWAYS found a spot).

A part of me wants to write a negative review because I liked the hotel that much - I don't want anyone else to stay here in case I decide to book again! I'm already thinking about booking for Labor Day next here.

Anyway, this is a diamond in the rough. If you are looking to go to VA Beach for a fun weekend with friends or family, and you arent planning on spending the weekend in the room - then book this hotel! One negative - the rooms and hallways are small. If you can get over that - you will love this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattH_Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We really enjoyed the hotel, staff (very friendly and helpful) and location. The room and bathroom were immaculate (even behind the dresser as I dropped something back there!). Also enjoyed the 3rd floor Sun Deck. We were at a scrapbook conference at the convention center right down the street, so the location was convenient to that as well as the Boardwalk. We felt comfortable at night and there was always staff present at the desk no matter what time we were coming in or going out. The room was rather small, but we weren't there to stay in the room, so it was no problem. All the amenities were there for our purposes. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenie531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
107 reviews
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
307 reviews
Schooner Inn
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
164 reviews
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
135 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 19 Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19 Atlantic Hotel

Property: 19 Atlantic Hotel
Address: 203 19th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3301
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 19 Atlantic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 19 Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19 Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing