We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, not 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Okay, not 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Recently attended a meeting at this hotel and stayed the night.
Did not find this hotel to be what we have come to expect of a 4 star rating. The room was just a basic hotel room, clearly not too many upgrades have been made over the years. Coffee maker in the room, however no coffee. We had to ask at the front desk to get it.
Dining room (Swan Terrace) was comfortable but was not outstanding. We originally went in to enjoy a quiet glass of wine before dinner and found that the server was not happy that we did that. We did have plans to enjoy a meal there later in the evening and had explained that when we asked if we could be seated just for a drink. As the restaurant became busier we decided to order a meal and the attitude of the server changed completely.

Breakfast was part of our package and we enjoyed the buffet. However we were rushed to leave so they could get set up for a special Sunday Brunch Buffet.

Would I recommend this hotel? Not as a 4 star!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warm_and_Rested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Warm_and_Rested,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. I apologize that your stay was not exemplary. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and I am disappointed to hear that this is not what you experienced. Thank you for your feedback; it helps us continually improve our services for all guests. I hope that you will join us again soon so that we can prove our superior service standards to you.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    301
    154
    61
    55
See reviews for
339
302
56
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We live far away, but if near Virginia Beach this is our perfect place to stop. EVERYTHING here is first class, it is like going to a resort years ago when service was expected to be great. You feel like you are special, there are many employees to help with whatever you need. We have gone to a couple of banquets here and they are first class events, the food is excellent (in all the places you can eat at the Inn) and the service is outstanding. Be sure and take a walk around the grounds of the university next to the Inn, gorgrous! We highly recommend the Founders Inn if you are stopping in Virginia Beach. Sharon F.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sharon F,

Thank you for your kind words; I will share them with our team! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to delight every guest through great service and offering amenities like the restaurants and the spa. We hope to see you again soon to enjoy another fabulous stay!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Va
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The decor of this hotel is in keeping with the early American theme such as four poster beds. The grounds are beautifully kept with many benches to sit and ponder. However, if you are in a wheelchair like I was you should know that they do not have handicapped bathrooms. Luckily we also had a walker because the doorway to the lav was not wide enough for the wheelchair and the toilet was very low without any hand bars on the wall to grab onto. Though this was a temporary situation for me I wonder what happens to those who's health would not improve. The dining room is really nice but again their menu never changes so if you're planning on being there for a few days you'd better be ready for repitition or go down the road for Ruby Tuesday or Outback.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TheNeen,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lovely English gardens. They truly reflect our "old-world" style.

I am sorry to hear that your room did not accommodate your needs during your stay. We do have handicap and wheelchair accessible rooms available upon request. I apologize that you were not notified of this.

While our standard dining menus are available each day, we do offer various options for dining throughout the week. For example, we host Prime Rib night each Thursday and a wonderful Sunday Brunch. In addition, we also offer a varied buffet for lunch each day.

I thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value guest feedback as it helps us continually improve for our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just a few miles from the hectic beach scene is this beautiful hotel resort with the most beautiful gardens, pond with swans and magnificent facilities. The indoor and outdoor pools are huge. Great for peaceful getaway!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves in reflecting the grand history of Virginia and strive to be great representatives of Southern hospitality. The hotel is situated in a great location in Virginia Beach; within proximity of most area attractions. We hope that you'll join us again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The property is amazing, as are the conference and meeting rooms. I've attended alot of conferences; this hotel is a great facility for that. The staff could not have been more helpful, the grounds were meticulous. However...the facility is old, and my rooms reflected that. Yes -- rooms plural. The A/C was buzzing so loud in my first room that they moved me to another...which was almost as loud. The rooms were both gorgeous but beds were uncomfortable. This place is only a good value if you negotiate a really low room rate comparable for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the helpful staff and I will pass on your comments to them.

I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't exceptional. We are continually working towards improving our services and product to enhance every guests' stay, so we thank you for letting us know of areas of opportunity. We hope that you'll join us again soon.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at The Founders Inn and were delighted with the property and its amenities. Our room had a view of the formal garden and lagoon with its lovely fountain. It was comfortably furnished and nicely decorated and housekeeping kept it neat and fresh looking every day.
We had our breakfast in The Swan Terrace and enjoyed both the ample buffet and a la carte offerings. The highlight of our stay was the Prix Fixe 3-course dinner at The Swan Terrace where we enjoyed a scrumptious salad with pecans, cranberries, blue cheese, and a raspberry vinaigrette dressing, a delicious beef entree,and a caramel, pecan cheesecake that was to die for. My husband had a shrimp appetizer that had giant shrimps atop fried green tomatoes with an extremely tasty sauce on the side. His entree was blackened salmon atop mashed potatoes with
green beans. Did I mention we had two breads?...kalamata olive herb bread and an asiago cheese bread. For dessert he chose their specialty, a peanut butter chocolate delight. Okay...we're foodies and we would return just for the cuisine if we lived in the area.

Room Tip: View room overlooking the lake is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Wanderlustsuzy,

We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lake view room. I will pass your comments regarding the restaurant to the Swan Terrace staff. It is our goal to satisfy the culinary delights of all our guests. We hope to see you again soon for another wonderful stay!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really wanted to love this place...had a Groupon, so it was a good deal, usually a little too pricey for us. The lobby was nice, check in was efficient, and even though our room wasn't ready, they called us as soon as it was done. We were in the James River Lodge, one of the separate buildings, on the first floor. From the pics and descriptions on the website, I expected this to be a little more luxurious than it was. For all intents and purposes, it was just a typical hotel. The bed was fine, everything was clean, but dated. It was just nothing special. We had a colonial room...maybe the larger rooms are nicer. I've stayed in Marriots and Hampton Inns that were nicer than this by far. It was fine, but not impressive. I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancetraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Dancetraveler_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. It is our goal to make each guests' stay extraordinary and unique and I apologize that this was not your experience. I hope that you will join us in the future so that we may prove this service standard to you.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Property: The Founders Inn and Spa
Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing