We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Founders Inn and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$270
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$470
$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$79
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$454
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$277
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$348
$309
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$309
$278
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveler rating
607
347
185
89
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
347
185
89
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan terraceregent universityhunt roommain buildingcolonial styledog parktennis courtsoutdoor poolbeautiful propertyminute drivefitness centervirginia beach areamini fridgefireplaceweddingfoundedconference
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to try this place as it was on Group On. The azaleas and dogwoods were blooming and the gardens were lovely. I would like to come back and be able to eat outside and swim in the pool. Our room was a standard Colonial and nice but not great. We did eat at the Swan Terrace and it was delicious. The staff there was great and we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Lisa S.,

Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It certainly is a great time of year to enjoy the blooming gardens. We hope to see you again soon and even to celebrate your 26th Wedding Anniversary!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

staff was wonderful grounds were beautiful conveniently located a great value can t wait to go back we were visiting our son who is stationed in Norfolk with the Navy. Great visit great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Rich S,
I am happy that we were centrally located for your needs and that you could spend some time with your son that is stationed here with the US Navy. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The beds are absolutely wonderful to sleep on! Prob one of the best I've slept on i wish i could take it home. The Inn it self was decent stay, the ground and surrounding areas are beautiful. I attended a wedding here in April and it was very nice and the food was excellent. Short drive to anything or anywhere you want to go, the beach was an easy 15-20 min drive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drt244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear DRT244,

I am delighted you enjoyed our beds and had a good nights rest. When you are in the market for a new mattress, we have Kingsdown pillow top mattresses. I hope you will visit us again for leisure and have an opportunity to indulge in our spa. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel on a whim in April of 2013. From the moment we arrived, staff was courteous and the amenities are great. Wifi worked wonderfully (very important to techies!) and the rooms were extremely clean. We ate at the restaurant inside the inn, and the food was outstanding! Our waitress Cierra was exceptional and clearly cared about our dining experience, not just "pretending to care" because she has to like many upscale waitresses. She even engaged us in conversation and helped us choose the best dishes and local wine which were all outstanding. Founders - if you are reading this - keep that girl because she is an outstanding employee!! We also spoke with another employee, Godfrey, who we spoke with for quite some time because we are from the same part of Africa! It is clear that the employees of The Founders Inn really do care about your experience and are not just putting on airs because they have to. One word to the wise - make sure you get here before rush hour as the traffic was bumper to bumper on the highway, although the location does mean easy access to pretty much anywhere you want to go in the area. We did not have time to check out the spa on our short visit, which will have to wait until next time. All in all an excellent value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Caitlin,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Founders Inn. I am very proud of our staff and how each employee goes out of their way to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is my pleasure to pass on your high praises to Cierra and Godfrey.

I hope you have a chance to visit again in the future and permit us to pamper you at the spa. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent two nights here while visiting the Regent University campus. Check-in and check-out were easy. We were given a room in one of the lodges, not in the main building/conference center. Although it faced the main road, we didn't hear any road noises, which was my initial concern. Our room was right across the hall from the elevator and several feet from the front door so there was some noise (not too bad) associated with traffic from people coming and going. I wondered if this is where they put guests who prepay through opaque booking sites? :-). Anyway, the room was nice. I loved the beautiful quilts on the beds and the matching drapes. The beds were also comfortable. They may be a little soft for people who like firmer mattresses, but they were just perfect for me. The room and bathroom were clean. I did notice the pressure in the commode was not that strong but it worked just fine. The big, flat screen TV had great HD quality. Hotel was close to the interstate and right by a main road so it is easy to find. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping places within a five minute drive of the hotel. We crossed the street to eat breakfast at a Waffle House. There is a dining room/restaurant in the hotel but we did not try it. The lobby of the inn and conference center was beautiful and had plenty of "colonial" character. Would be glad to stay there again next time we visit Regent.

Room Tip: If staying in a lodge, ask for a room away from the elevator and front door for less noise.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank surfnshopntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Surfnshopntravel,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate knowing what our guests are thinking. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that The Founders Inn was conveniently located for all your interests while in Virginia Beach.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding your room assignment upon your arrival. Rooms are assigned on a space available basis. We do understand the significance of requests as it relates to the overall comfort of our guests. We attempt to accommodate all requests, additionally this is subject to availability. We are happy to note in your guest history that you prefer a room away from elevators, stairwells and any other noisy areas.

I thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit with The Founders Inn.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews