We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A calm retreat from the tourist hot spots and beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A calm retreat from the tourist hot spots and beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Most people come to Virginia Beach for the beach, walking the boardwalk, playing in the waves or to visit the historical sites of Jamestown and Williamsburg and that is great, but then many of us want a bit of peace, calm and luxury afterwards which the well located Founders Inn and Spa is quick to provide to its guests. We stayed here years ago when it was under a different management concept but now that the Capella Group has taken over you'll be amazed at the transformation.

The Georgian architectural style of the brick buildings on spacious grounds, the wonderful formal gardens are perfect for a first or second wedding or just strolling. We sat on our balcony and watched the sunset over the plantings and fountains with Abigail, a beautiful white swan and long time resident, slowly paddling around the pond. Even in the starkness of February it was beautiful.

The choices for dining cover quite a range with Executive Chef Scott Simpson adding international flavors to his creative menus. We had a sumptuous Sunday brunch in the Swan Terrace at $29.95 pp (with a crowd of locals and other hotel guests), outstanding room service and a light meal from the Hunt Room's pub-like menu - all of which we would recommend highly.

Whether you choose the Presidents suite or a standard room, and we experienced both, you'll enjoy the colonial furnishings, soft color palette and general quietness of the hotel. The beds are very high and may require little step stools to get in and out of. So if you are of somewhat short stature watch yourself in the middle of the night!

The staff, from doorman to management, was always obliging with the smallest request and this stay was part of a very long road trip for us so I may have been a bit more impatient than usual.

They have an outstanding indoor pool and health club adjacent to the Flowering Almond Spa. Our visit to the spa was a wonderful experience that we won't forget for quite sometime (Our first "couples massage".) Both of us in the "Fireplace" Suite where we found a platter of fruit and pastries with juices and two outstanding masseuses provided soothing relaxing treatments that put the whole experience at a ten on the "wow" factor.

Many of my favorite hotels stays have been in Europe and the Founders Inn and Spa reminded me of a fine hotel in Baden Baden, the gardens of historic properties in France and the food equal to the best of American cuisine with worldwide influences. So you can stay here and it will be like a European break without the thousands of dollars for airfare.
We'll be back every time we pass this way or even if we have to make a detour!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GallaghersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your wonderful experience with The Founders Inn and Spa. I am pleased to know that our staff continues to be attentive and that you enjoyed all of our facilities. Our staff takes great pride in pampering our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    301
    154
    61
    55
See reviews for
339
302
56
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent a weekend here with my wife and while we were there we found the staff to be excellent, very courteous and informative. The rooms are clean with plenty of amenities, the main lodge is full of features including a grand convention room. The grounds are pretty and well kept. There is in house dining, a fine dining room and a pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to commend our staff on their service. I know that our staff does all they can to exceed our guests expectations and I am pleased that they were able to make your visit at The Founders Inn memorable. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We live 15 minutes away and used a Living Social coupon for a Valentine's Day get-away. I grew up just down the street from this complex.

Felt like I was in a bedroom at my mother's house - which is a compliment if staying here didn't cost so much; she lives in Williamsburg, VA in a lovely home/neighborhood and she loves all things colonial. Our room was well appointed with granite counters in bathroom, comfortable beds, fluffy towels and a larger than needed flat screen TV. The room was 'cozy' with lots and lots of colonial blue. The bathroom with it's updated sink area, had a mediocre dated white tub/shower that wasn't 'sparkling'. Heater is loud, we could hear doors closing and people walking down the hall. Public rooms are lovely but my initial reaction to the stairwell leading to second floors (elevators are in the middle of the building and not convenient) in the 'lodge' - an outdoor walk from the reception area, was " ugh, this is way too busy wall paper, dated and worn."

The Inn has a nice indoor pool and hot tub area and the spa is lovely, though I thought the facial wasn't worth the price.

Swan Terrace is only a handful of 4 star restaurants in this area and is worth trying. See my review.

All in all, I would not pay full price to stay here. Looks to be a big conference destination, which would explain how it's been in business for 20+ years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments on your recent visit to The Founders Inn. I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable. We always appreciate to hear our guest’s observations, and we will address the maintenance issues you noted immediately. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to your next visit to The Founders Inn.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

At first it reminds me of a campus with the way buildings are design... Very cool!

Great spa, great fitness center, great restaurant, comfortable room...

Spacious room with huge flat screen tv and very good wifi Internet... Small fridge and complimentary bottle of water; nice...

Really enjoy my stay!

The staff was nice and helpful :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Founders Inn. I am delighted that you were able to partake in the spa, fitness center and our restaurant. We hope to see you again and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Best Regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Flowering Almond Spa at Founders Inn in Virginia Beach is truly an outstanding Spa. it is in fact the very nicest Spa that i have ever been to in the Tidewater area. The staff attend to the customer with a high sens of customer care and professionalism. The facility is very well cared for and clean while delightfully calming and peaceful. I recommend this Spa above all others in the tidewater area. The massage service is particularly wonderful.

Room Tip: Definately Vist the Flowering Almond Spa, then have a nice lunch at the Swan Terrace restaraunt. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imunclejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Flowering Almond Spa! Our staff works diligently to provide excellent and quality service to each individual guest. It is our goal to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. Please join us again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

With the opportunity to utilize a special priced winter deal the wife and I headed to Founders Inn. Since the stop prior to our first scheduled night at Founders was less than appetizing we made the addition of a Friday night stay at Founders. The modified cell phone reservation was handled quickly, efficiently, and we were assured of a room that would be ready to go for our four night visit.

The staff was an absolute pleasure as they were on our last trip here a year ago. Nothing but pleasant staff all around and they want your stay to be pleasant. The management firm, Capella does good work! A thorough look around showed that the room was in very good condition with top notch cleanliness. Since we were planning to spend less time in the room this year we took their smaller room which was still more than sufficient and had a nice seating area to the side. I do not believe we would have used the fireplace that is in the larger room anyway. The only improvement I would like to see would be a second upholstered chair in the seating area (two chairs were in our room, one for the desk). The TV appeared new and worked perfectly with the cable channels. The make up area was top notch as was the bathroom and tub. Higher end fixtures with good looks abound. We stayed in the James River building which was just a few steps from the main building and the spa. Rather than the first floor like on our first stay the staff noted that they moved us away from a group of young people who might have been noisy. I note that the fine group was actually FFA and were delightfully mannered when seen in the main building or when walking through the building to the elevator. I will leave a separate review on the excellent Swan Terrace restaurant and the Flowering Almond Spa but will note that neither disappointed. The indoor pool was nicely heated and you could head right in due to a nice warm temperature. The hot tub was equally nice and properly heated but the pool chemicals appear to be darkening the paint since last year. Some remedial work is definitely in the works. Plenty of clean fresh pool towels were available, even at the end of the day. The location was a good central point to see "Hampton" attractions and was quite convenient to the expressway or good local roads. Will hopefully be back here again, soon!

Room Tip: If you want a larger bed, get the larger room w King. If using the spa services, the James River bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are honored at your faithfulness to the Founders Inn and are always delighted at your return. I am pleased that the staff took it upon the selves to insure you had a peaceful visit and changed your room location at check-in. Our staff makes a great effort to anticipate all of our guests needs to maximize our guests comfort. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a dreary January weekend but the spa facilities made it a fabulous stay. We were 4 girls and stayed in 2 rooms. Booked multiple massages at the spa, spent time at the gym (it was a great facility) and spent lunch at the hotel. Overall really good package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the Flowering Almond Spa and enjoy our facilities with your girlfriends. I hope you are able to make this an annual visit with your friends and indulge in the luxury of a spa getaway. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Property: The Founders Inn and Spa
Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing