We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First Time Family Thanksgiving Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Time Family Thanksgiving Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our very first time at Founders Inn. The staff was so friendly. Thanksgiving at Swan Terrace was amazing, food was great and they didn't rush you. They had extra activities, like cookie decoration, for the kids, which was such a nice treat. Our son, age ten, loved the indoor pool. The grounds are very nice. Our dog loved the running field. Clean rooms, with big TV. We really had a relaxing, nice weekend. My only suggestion would be to have coffee/hot chocolate machines in the lobby area at all times, because there were a few times I would have really LOVED a cup of coffee! Also, the vendor machines need to be checked because some of the crackers/chips were expired. Otherwise, can't say ENOUGH good things about your Inn! We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Maryanne B,

Thank you for all your lovely comments. I am pleased that you had a wonderful family experience with The Founders Inn over Thanksgiving, and I will definitely share your comments with our staff. I apologize that you received expired items from the vending machines. This certainly does not meet our service standards and will be corrected immediately. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Happy Holidays,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    289
    147
    60
    55
See reviews for
331
293
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

1st time guest this week - - All expectations were blown away by this property...Founders Inn staff were terrific. Little touches like they remembered my name at checkout to the cookies and milk in lobby during evening. Nice location for business travel in the VA Beach area and tons of value for the price and appreciated the free wifi also. Food on site excellent as well and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDawg1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very excited that you discovered The Founders Inn. I am pleased that our staff met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotels little extra touches . We look forward to being your home away from home when you are in Virginia Beach.

Best Regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. I liked the extra sink outside the bathroom with a makeup mirror and hair dryer, just wish it had had someplace to hang a hand towel. There are extra outlets on the base of the night stand lamps which was nice for charging our cell phones.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was not made up one day, we left late that day. I called down stairs and our room was made up within the hour.
The rooms and common areas while very clean need to be updated and much of the furniture is showing wear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments on your most recent visit to The Founders Inn. I am pleased that found our staff friendly and helpful. We take pride in our customer service, and do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Best Regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding & reception for 150 guests at the Founder's Inn. We live 70-miles away, so we just booked rooms and spent the entire 3-days there. It was phenomenal! Kudos to the staff & the events coordinators! The wedding took place in the beautiful Colonial garden with the serene lake as the backdrop and went off without a hitch. The wedding was followed by cocktail hour on the Swan Terrace and a delicious sit-down dinner & dancing in the ballroom. Every talked about how lovely it was, how delicious the food was and how much they enjoyed their stay! One of my friends forget to pack the dress that she had bought to wear to the wedding, but was able to find a great 'little black dress' in the hotel dress shop to wear! Talk about meeting all of our needs! The Founder's Inn went about and beyond! I would definitely recommend the Inn for weddings or just a romantic spa week-end!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are magnificent! Ask for a room overlooking the garden & lake....it is beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi21062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the honor of hosting your daughter’s wedding. We adore weddings and ensuring that every bride’s visions are dreams that do come true. We do our best to go out of our way for all of our guests and I am pleased that we met all of your guest’s expectations. We look forward to your next visit and please let us know if we can assist with any future family celebrations.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Comfy hotel with the most excellent staff that goes out of their way to treat you like royalty! The beds are just a little soft but the grounds are beautiful. This not the hotel for the business traveler. Not enough outlets close to the bed in the room to lug cell phone and computer..just fyi. The restaurant always has a buffet and salads can be made to order (chopped). Wait staff is also amazing and friendly.....and at your service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality you received while you were with us at The Founders Inn. All of our staff takes great pride in their service and do their very best to ensure each and every guest feels genuinely welcomed and special. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were visiting Regent University for parents weekend. The staff is extremely friendly, the room was spacious and very comfortable. Wi-Fi was easy to use and fast. We booked the room with breakfast. The Swan Terrace was very nice and the wait staff was excellent. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Suzanne J,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us at The Founders Inn. We look forward to hosting you again for future parent’s weekends and graduation for your student attending Regent University. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we all do our best to make our guests feel welcome. I will certainly pass on your kind words.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The customer service was exceptional. Beds were comfy and rooms are nicely appointed. Food is good.

The grounds are lovely. While the location says Virginia Beach you are actually about 20 miles from the ocean.

There are numerous restaurants nearby and the courtesy shuttle will drop you off and pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessCaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Founders Inn and Spa. I do apologize for any confusion regarding our hotel location. We are located in the city of Virginia Beach. Sadly, we are not ocean front. However, we do run a complimentary beach shuttle from Memorial Day through Labor Day weekend for our guests that would like to enjoy a day at the beach.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Property: The Founders Inn and Spa
Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing