We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place to stay with your dog” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Ranked #23 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with your dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We always take our dog to the beach with us to it's important that we find a hotel where we can take him. This is one of the most dog-friendly hotels we have ever stay at and would definitely recommend it to other dog owners. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. It was a tad on the old side, but that didn't take away from it's charm. Didn't try the breakfast because we were looking for something more substantial, but it looked pretty good. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    268
    92
    44
    24
See reviews for
325
175
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was my first time staying at the Laquinta inn attending the neptune festival and knowing that they except pets with no extra pet fees. I must say that the front desk personel were very freindly (CASEY), did not get in the room until about 3: 00, had reservations.The room was very nice, i was amazed at the cleanliness with no dog, or musty smells very fresh. The beds were very comfortable with the pillows propped up .But i can say that the "little " breakfast they have is just that. It was not very appealing to me at all, the little that they had was scattered about , i guess to make it look like alot. but overall my stay was very nice and i will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed at La Quinta VAB, VA with my 2 year old son and my sister and her family (in a close-by room) and for the price the hotel was not so bad. They were doing construction on some other rooms, so that was an inconvenience. However the staff was accomodating when we asked if they didn't start so early in the morning. The indoor pool was FREEZING cold although they said it was heated, but again the staff addressed the issue quickly. I had a king room with a sofa bed. The sofa was ancient, but the bed was comfy and the linens clean. The room overall was slightly outdated, and there is no balcony. The room lighting was "dark". The room had a microwave and a fridge, which worked out well as our stay was 5 days. The bathroom was clean, but the water that first came out of the tub faucet was "rusty". I really liked that the parking was free and plentiful! The area appeared safe and wasn't too far from the action, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful (again, off-season). The elevators were pretty quick, and the complimentary breakfast was pretty good (fresh waffles!).

Overall the price value made it a great choice, but I cannot see spending hundreds of dollars to stay here during peak season.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudeeRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great value, comfy beds and very nice interior room. We didn't like pools and didn't use them. We don't need pool near the ocean. Book this hotel if you would like to save money and get good service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evedana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Always stayed here when it was Comfort Inn.. still miss the awesome hot breakfast buffet with sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs etc. Stay here regularly when visiting family in area. Quality has gone down. Fitness room has no treadmill; it used to. The elliptical does not give you any kind of strenuous workout. Hallway was not vacuumed entire stay. Trash bags put out into the hall by patrons were not taken at once. Two lay there longer than 24 hours. Room air conditioner units were extremely noisy. Beds comfortable, clean linens, and no sign of bed bugs in the room. Poorly cleaned before our arrival. Very close to big grocery store with salad bar etc. Walk to the beach is not a burden at all. Crossing the two streets is not a problem. Traffic is traffic no matter where you are. I will continue trying to find a similar hotel at this or a lower price.. but have not had any luck in that search. The price we got was a good deal and the staff
was helpful. It seems that they have cut back on cleaning staff and custodial. That takes its toll in the long run. Prefer no pet hotels.. Animals are animals and do leave stuff humans would not. Excellent parking..always able to find a spot.. even late at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neatnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

I have been coming to the hotel at this location for nearly two decades--it's my favorite in-season get away, an easy 2-block walk to the beach yet out of the congestion, with indoor and outdoor pools so there's no need to fret the weather. This is the first time I've stayed since it converted from a Comfort Inn to a La Quinta Inn and I held hopes it would still be the same clean, good value, congenial atmosphere place of before, but I'm afraid I was disappointed. Besides being generally more run down (to be expected as the facility ages), I found the staff generally to seem to feel inconvenienced by guests' requests. Most notably, while sitting in the lobby I overheard a discussion that someone had complained in the morning that the hot tub was too hot and then when it was turned down someone else complained that it was lukewarm. My sons and I experienced the very same thing--in fact, my older son scalded one foot when he tested the hot tub ... after lending us a thermometer, the person at the front desk said something like, Well, I don't have anything to do with the hot tub ... which may be, but as the representative of the hotel, it's important to make sure that _someone_ is monitoring the temperature. I got the feeling no one was really concerned/paying much attention (and I was concerned that a little child could actually get hurt). I do have to say that in my 2+ days there, the manager seemed to be very busy and earnest about attending to guests' needs so perhaps steps are being taken to increase the hotel's quality again. I will also say that you still can't beat the location, the rate was quite reasonable for in-season, and the hotel seems to have a very nice family-friendly mix of guests, including a good many speaking foreign languages, which lent a nice atmosphere. And my kids still get a kick out of making Belgian waffles for their complimentary breakfast. I'm sad to say I will be looking for a new getaway location in Virginia Beach, but this one gave us lots of good years.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smguiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was the worst la quinta i ever been , it has a horrible cigarrette/crap smell and no air circulation at all , the hallways were dark and stinky also the pool had too much chlorine
couldn't wait to get the hell out of there it ruined my first and last visit to v.b.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#5 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#28 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#15 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#29 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Address: 2800 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
La Quinta Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing