We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
475
267
104
45
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
267
104
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suiterande gainescourtyard by marriottfront deskvirginia beach oceanfrontbreakfast buffettop floorindoor poolcorner roomacross the streetocean viewoff seasonhousekeeping staffmini fridgerandybalconyboardwalk
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 912 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I very much appreciated the great staff. They were all professional and well trained.
Though the hotel is in dire need of a face lift ( which we were told will take place this winter) we were pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom. My husband did comment how he did not like the extra long shower curtain in our narrow tub. I would have liked a wider sink area.
We enjoyed being on the wide boardwalk which afforded us a great view. We were told all the rooms are ocean front!
We also loved our balcony!
It was quick and convenient having the coffee bar in the lobby! There is also a breakfast buffet which was adequate.
I enjoyed the egg white frittata from the coffee bar. Also , I loved the coconut milk latte, extra hot, which was served with a big smile!
Lastly , though it was nice having an indoor pool, we did notice a chlorine odor when entering the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2017

diane p,

Thank you for the tripadvisor review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that staff was friendly during your visit. We are excited to have our renovations at the end of the year. I will make sure to communicate the chlorine odor to our maintenance department. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Tara at the front desk was sooo helpful after an error made by Orbitz. All of the staff went above and beyond. The hotel is recently renovated and very comfortable. There is an indoor pool that was ok. The outdoor pool is really nice. Great location.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Suzi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2017

Suzi F,

Thank you for the kind comments. I will forward your remarks to Tara. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Virginia Beach.

Sincerely,

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

The hotel is really one of the worst ever. The Holiday Inn next door is so much better. The cafe/bar doesn't open until 5pm on Friday. So no food or beverages available even though it takes up half the lobby. The whole place is so dirty. The pool area is disgusting and it doesn't look like there is anyone on the maintenance staff during the weekend. There was a half-empty, dirty glass on the table in the elevator foyer on the 5th floor on Friday when we checked in. It was still there on Sunday afternoon. At various times during the weekend there were big rolling carts of various products in the hallways and blocking rooms (not housekeeping carts). So strange. There was a rollaway bed in the elevator foyer on our floor for almost a whole day. The first morning we were there, we got into the elevator to go down and there were remnants of a pizza party all over the floor of the elevator. We notified the man at the front desk and he just sort of chuckled.

I never thought I would ever say this, or advise it, but you are probably better at the Holiday Inn.

There are no benefits for platinum members except a free small coffee in the morning. The rooms are very old, and dated, the beds are super low, sheets are worn and the pillows are very thin. The AC was fine. The 'coffee maker' in our room was broken (it was probably 10 years old---the Holiday Inn next door had Keurig machines in all the rooms), and the bathroom was absolutely hideous. A big clump of hair came out of the shower faucet the first time we turned the water on. The sink was outside the bathroom. It looked like something from the late 90s. Mildew and all.

The housekeeping crew never replaced any of the toiletries.

The balcony had a lovely view but it was very dirty with plastic chairs and tables.

For the price, I can't imagine ever staying here again. The Ocean Beach Club, the Hilton and the Hyatt were by far the better properties on this strip of beach.

I am so embarrassed for the Marriott company, and this brand. It makes me queasy thinking about it. Oh, and parking is $8 per day.

Room Tip: Maybe see if there is something recently cleaned...??
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mydayjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rande g, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Dear mydayjob, it sounds like your summer vacation here at the Courtyard was anything but enjoyable for you. We pride ourselves on always making our guest feel at home. Our property is slightly dated, but that 's nothing our whole hotel renovation can't fix. The 1st quarter of 2018, finds us with the same awesome center of the boardwalk location, but now with updated hotel amenities for all our guests. Virginia Beach is a great place to vacation to, and once again we are primed to help all travelers enjoy a great night's sleep and a positive uplifting environment. If you ever get lucky enough to return to Virginia Beach, you should stop in and spend the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. I will say the view of the water was beautiful, but so is the view of several hundred other rooms on the boardwalk. We had a 1 bedroom suite for 4 of us, with a pull out and king size bed. Unfortunately when you were in the bed your feet were higher than you head, the mattress was well used and need of replacement. The toilet was not secured to the floor properly so when anyone sat down the entire thing moved. The AC was so loud and making awful noise and you couldn't hear the TV. While the view was beautiful, we had to stand on the balcony to enjoy it since the patio doors were so clouded with condensation between the panes of glass. We could have probably overlooked all of this since it was just one one, but we arrived early and requested an early check in. The front desk person was very gracious and put us on the list. We then patiently and toward the end not so patiently waited for our room for 5 hours, and even past the 4 p.m. check in. After watching many people check in from noon on, my husband finally asked for the manager at 4 p.m. when our room was still not ready. While he was gracious when his staff hunted him down, he explained that because Marriott elite members had a later check out, so our room wasn't clean yet (too bad we are also elite members). While that may have been the case, there was no offer during this time to possibly take another room/rooms or given any options but to sit in the lobby and watch other guests check in. Our next Virginia Beach overnight will certainly be somewhere other than this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLover1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

we stayed here for just one night to break up our trip to the outer banks from new york. couldn't ask for better views of the ocean! the hotel was just what we needed and couldn't have asked for anything more. special note: Celia Rose at the front desk was the most friendly person ever and was so helpful and kind. thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rande g, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. The beach is calling always, and when you are ready to answer that call, we will be right here to help you enjoy. Passing on the comments you said of Celia. The great stay was our pleasure...please come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews