We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family, friendly atmosphere definitly will come back 100%”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family, friendly atmosphere definitly will come back 100%”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been to Virginia Beach many before but never were really satisfied with any of the ocean front hotels that we stayed before, but we are loving this place. The staffs are very professional and really making our stay enjoyable. The young lady, Shakeela at the Starbucks counter is so delightful. She makes me feel right at home, not to mentioned that she made such good cups of caramel and vanilla fraps. Secondly, the housekeeping lady, Alicia is so sweet and she kept our room so clean. She accommodate our request with extra towels, shampoos etc. ,without any hesitation. She was happy doing her job although I'm sure her job is tough. We gave this place a 4 stars because the room need a little update, however, the customer service from these two ladies made up for the odd and they are the main reasons that we will definitely will return to Courtyard by Marriot Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Did I mention that I'm a very picky and super clean person? So yes, this place is the best place to stay because all of their rooms facing the ocean and it so beautiful.

Room Tip: The perfect location for walking distant to all restaurants and a minute to the ocean .
See more room tips
Green Features: All staff members are very professional and very cleaned.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for the great comments about Shakeela and Alice! I’m so happy they are making your stay enjoyable!

Alice has been cleaning the 11th floor for many years now, and takes great pride in her work. She’s a true asset to our hotel and our guests love her!

The Starbucks Frappuccinos are new to our hotel as of spring of this year. We thought our summertime customers would enjoy them, and I’m happy to hear Shakeela is great at making them for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    249
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
285
244
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good beach hotel. A bit noisy but its a high traffic beach and property. Staff very friendly and enthusiastic. I especially enjoyed staff at coffee and breakfast bistro. They were a joy and very accommodating. They deserve recognition for the great way they treat the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollegeAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the review on our hotel! I’ll make sure to pass your comments along to the Bistro staff and let them know you appreciated their service.

As a tip to our future travelers, Courtyard South is locating right in the heart of Beach Street USA! We have lots of exciting entertainment and dining options near the hotel. Once you get checked into your room, there’s not many reasons to get your car again – dining, entertainment, and of course the beach are all right in front of you. For those guests who prefer quieter accommodations, please let us know and we’ll be sure to get you blocked on a higher floor in the hotel. This will keep you above any beach and nightlife noise that may be happening in the area.

Prior to visiting Virginia Beach, be sure to check out the Beach Street USA website, so you can be familiar with all the concerts and entertainment going on during your stay. Also, the oceanfront has fireworks every Wednesday and Sunday night in the summer months, and you have a great view of them from your balcony!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for dance competition convention. Looked at many properties before deciding on this one. Hubby went with this one because the person on the phone (Wayne) knew exactly what he was talking about concerning room layout, size, amenities and location on the beach. Upon arriving, Wayne remembered my name from the discussion with my husband!

Everyone I spoke with and met had a friendly welcoming attitude. Shakeela greeted me everyone morning with a great positive happy attitude when pouring my coffee which she remembered everyday!! Murray brought iced water out to the beach one morning while I was teaching a yoga class to the dancers in front of the hotel!!! Now that is incredible customer service from both!!!!

The free VALET parking (not free parking during peak months) was a blessing after a long drive and back and forth to the convention center. Wayne, Alfred and Chris were always there to help with a smile!!!

The location was excellent!! Central to all hotels. Being on the boardwalk was key and looking at the ocean all day from our balcony was amazing. 5 min drive to the convention center. The room was perfect for 3 and the "kitchenette"/living area was much needed after being there 7 days. The bathroom was roomy. We slept 2 on the "queen" bed, but it was tight.

Housekeeping and Maintenance were speedy when needed. Front desk staff alway with a smile, Natarra, Sam, Krishna

Overall an amazing stay. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: suites are the way to go if you will be there for longer than a couple of nights
See more room tips
Green Features: typical re-use the towel pamplet....nothing else stood out
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel and our staff. I’m glad we were able to take such good care of you! You highlighted many of the great features of our property – the central location, the balconies, the great view from the room, and our superstars at the front desk, the Bistro, valet, housekeeping, and engineering! I can see from your other reviews that you also go to experience some of the great restaurants around the hotel, including DOC Taylors and Tautogs – two great choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner when staying at our hotel. I’m thrilled your trip to Virginia Beach was such a fun time, and we look forward to seeing you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been staying here at this Marriott for many years now and continue to have excellent service from the entire staff. Rande is exceptional and always goes above and beyond to make each stay wonderful from check in to check out also, Wendy Johnson in the Bistro is absolutely a joy to talk to and her service is always friendly and with a smile. Thanks to a great crew.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Gloria, thank you for the nice review and comments on Wendy and Rande’s service. They’ve both been with us for a while now, and have been taking great care of the guests who come and visit us each year. I’m pleased to know they made your stay enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylett, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We live close enough to come to VA beach for a day. We came for an event at the aquarium. The location is great. VERY clean and everyone was extremely friendly. We came with 2 kids and the staff went out of their way to be nice to them. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
MRSBono,

Thanks for staying with us. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the aquarium while you were here. If you didn’t get a chance to try the new zip line park while at the aquarium it’s a must do on your next visit. Hope to see you back at Courtyard South soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Duffy
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything about this hotel was amazing! Erin at the front desk was super sweet and helpful, got us in to our room without a hitch. Diane and Shakeela were hilarious and great as well at the food counter. Between food allergies and trying to figure out what to eat... They were the funniest, sweetest and the super helpful and accommodating. I would gladly go back there again an stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the great comments about our hotel and our team! I’ll make sure we recognize Erin, Diane, and Shakeela for the great service the provided to you. We hope to see you on a future trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are begrudgingly leaving today, after doubling the length of our stay! Randie... Has more personality than one person should be allowed, and is all around fabulous. He set the tone on our first meeting. Jonathan checked us in, and then checked us in.. Again, when we renewed our "stay". He was so attentive and made sure everything was perfect. Our housekeeper.... With a bright smile every day, was incredible. Sam, made sure we came into new towel art every time we came into our perfectly polished room. Dawn, who directs housekeeping, promised we could have her back on our return. She also was amazing! Erin, quickly assisted with a broken umbrella mishap, and laughed with us, hard! We never met staff, more eager to assist, smile, welcome or just greet us. We were more pleased here, than at the Hard Rock all inclusive, in the Rivera Maya. The beach was cleaned every night. The fireworks show Sunday and Wednesdays, best seat in the house, on the balcony. The night life and family fun on the streets, second to none. If you haven't been, Go! If you haven't been back... Return! But don't expect this incredible vacation experience, if you don't stay at this hotel, with Randie, Jonathan and all the rest! They made it special, and have made loyal customers out of us! Cheers and Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvrspurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Silvrdpurs1,

Thanks for the great words. I am so glad to hear that Rande, Erin and Jonathan made a great impact on your stay. Hope when your travel plans bring you back to Virginia Beach, you’ll stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Robert Duffy
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing