We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Here the first weekend in November for the "Race for Breath" Lung Cancer fund raiser. Had a suite on the 4th floor with other family/team members. The suite had light switches that turned on nothing, you had to take at least 2 steps into the bathroom & 3 steps into the living room before you found a light switch that worked a light within that room. Took some searching to find the only channel guide in the suite with 2 TVs and it was on the desk in the living room, not with either TV. On the plus side, check-in was a breeze, Samatha greeted me with a smile and was super helpful. friendly and accomodating. Beds weren't bad with plenty of pillows to go around. Check out was also quick, easy and accomodating, allowing us a late checkout to attend the after race ceremony. Parking, to put it bluntly, sucked; the parking places are way to narrow with only a few inches between cars and only if everyone parked in the space evenly, and the lanes between are only wide enough for 1 car to pass thru. Also on the downside, their bar is in the lobby, in fact, when I first arrived in the lobby, I thought the bar was the check-in and it appeared that the business center was next to the bar; all of this being in a big open area. Breakfast was a $11.00 buffet that did include beverages, missing only orange juice, and for such a small area, served up a decent variety for breakfast and the waiter was working his tail off, not only working the tables but also helping keep the buffet stocked. Would I stay here again, not likely, find it hard to believe I can't get a better rate in November somewhere else just as close to the race sight. Atlantic Avenue is pretty much a ghost town and to be charging over $100 a night is pretty much price gouging as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkec_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a response regarding your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that your check in experience was positive and efficient. And I am happy that we were able to extend your check out in order to make your stay even more accommodating. Your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to the correct departments. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have been unable to assist with. Thank you again.

Robert Duffy AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 875 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just checked in to this hotel the parking lot is crowded the front desk was busy, but Charles was very courteous and professional. We checked into our room #315 which smells like cigarette smoke. We requested a non-smoking unit and asked for another room (guest in our party has asthma & I am getting sick from this smell), but we will have to downgrade from an oceanfront corner king suite w-a balcony to a standard double.(We are rewards members...wow!).We were advised that this was the last suite available. Will have to endure one night, but we are leaving in the morning. Sorry I won't stay here again. If I had known this would happen I would have stayed at the Marriott Newport News Town Center. Very dissapointed...smokers pls be courteous and smoke outside and not in non-smoking rooms that crap is so rude!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyW221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

I’m sorry to hear that your room smelled of smoke when you checked in this past weekend. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking, but unfortunately not everyone follows the rules. As a hotel we try to actively monitor this and respond to all complaints quickly, although admittedly some do slip through the cracks. Thank you for identifying your room number in the review – I will ensure our housekeeping and engineers teams have resolved the issue for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Will stay here again, and again. The AC/Heating units in the rooms are in need of renovations, a bit on the loud side. I do like that we have a refrigerator in our room. Great location in the heart of VB oceanfront.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators on a higher floor. My only real complaint is the AC/Heating units in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay! I am pleased to learn that enjoyed our ideal location and that you will be coming back to us again! We would love to host you. I am passing on your feedback regarding the AC units to my head Engineer, and I do apologize for the inconveneince. Thank you again for your input! Please let us know when you are headed our way so that we may assist you in any way we can.

-Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff at the front desk was very welcoming and efficient as we arrived. The common areas are well maintained and were clean. The location is excellent, right on the beach and walking distance to great food and drink.

Our room was a suite on the end. It was very well appointed, clean and quiet. We had a wide screen LCD tv in the bedroom and sitting area, and a small refrigerator and sink with table and chairs. There is a small balcony with 2 chairs that overlooks the ocean...great view! They have free parking and free wifi that worked very well.

We did not use the restaurant/deli on the first floor but it looked good for a sandwich or quick bite to eat.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub, but there is no outdoor or beach seating.

I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The end unit suites were just a little more than a regular room when we stayed here and it was well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NauticalEndeavorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Staff at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the fabulous review of your stay! I am ecstatic to hear that you were able to enjoy just about every aspect of our hotel; from the updated, functional guest rooms to our perfect location on the beach. You can contact us directly at (757)491-6222 if you plan to make another trip to Virginia Beach in the future. We would love to host you!

Thank you,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The layout of our room was brilliant. We had a corner room, which meant gorgeous ocean views. But I like the way the bathroom connected to the bedroom, but not the living area.

The boardwalk was easily accessible, and the pool was good. The staff was great, particularly at the front desk. It's a nice, regular chain with a great location.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank BabeinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us this month! I am glad to learn that our front desk staff was friendly and accomodating, that you enjoyed the convenient layout of your suite, and our location on boardwalk makes beach access fast and easy. We hope that when you make a return trip you give us a call!

Thank you,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived to check in at the front desk, the staff was welcoming and took time to explain the hotel amenities, etc. When my friend got ill, the staff quickly recommended a nearby medical facility and after returning to the hotel, they inquired about the status of her health and continued to do so throughout our stay. Pretty impressive when you have a sold out hotel. The housekeeper got her extra blankets and pillows without it being a request. I cannot express how deeply appreciated their concern meant to her.
The suite was outstanding. The only negative we found was the towels were too thin. This is minor. We just returned October 24th and will return in April.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that our staff was able to make your visit with us memorable as well as meaningful. I am sorry to hear that your friend became ill during your trip, but it is great to know that our associates were able to make her more comfortable. Please let us know when you are planning another return visit! We would love to have you!

Thank you,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Couryard Marriott in Virginia Beach. The hotel staff was amazing, check in was great and the view from the room was perfect. The room was a little dark and the bathroom needs to be updated for sure. I had friends in another room on a lower floor and their room was the same situation. For the price, it should be a bit nicer. Overall the room was clean, the bed was comfy, the view was perfect and the hotel personnel couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vak9girl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay with us! I am happy to learn that you enjoyed to comfortability of our rooms, the friendliness of our hotel personel, and spectacular views from every room! We appreciate your review, and your comments will be passed on. Thank you so much!

-Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $101 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing