We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice anniversary”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

stayed here for our 22nd anniversary. the room was a little worn, but clean and very comfortable. nice balcony looking out over the beach. top floor. nice to watch the sunrise and see the dolphins jumping. good location to restraunts and night life. the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toledotravlncpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    251
    89
    37
    17
See reviews for
288
251
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Courtyard is an old hotel that is in serious need of renovation. Several of the problems we noted:
(1) The walls in the hallways and our room were worse for wear - we saw scratches, peeling wallpaper, and holes in a few places.
(2) The carpet in our room was fraying.
(3)The bathroom was in need of new caulking.
(4) The furniture in the living area of our suite was rather tattered and worn out.
(5) The pool looked like it needed a good cleaning (the bottom had brown spots).
The good news for future guests is that it seems they are in the process of renovations. The restaurant was closed, and the parking lot (which was already small) was full of dumpsters and construction vehicles. The best thing about the place is that you're right on the beach, which is the whole reason we went. Since several other hotels on the beach offer the same view, I would try another if I ever return to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall J, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. As you mentioned, our hotel is definitely in need of a little TLC and the great news is that we are undergoing the needed renovations as we speak! We are making every effort to ensure that this renovation goes as smoothly and quickly as possible and we plan to be completely finished and have all amenities ready for opening by early April. The new and improved Courtyard South will feature the Courtyard Bistro dining experience and a brand new lobby as well as all newly renovated and refreshed guest rooms! Combined with our fantastic beach location, we are sure that the post-renovation Courtyard will be a "must-stay" experience and we hope that you will come check us out on your next visit! Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is at a decent area of the Oceanfront, with nothing too far away. Every room has some sort of view of the ocean, balcony and access to the boardwalk, which was great.Our room was incredibly spacious, the little kitchenette was great, and we enjoyed the wifi and nice televisions. There is nice size little indoor pool and the staff were incredibly pleasant and friendly - can't say that enough. Some negatives were the worn furniture, frayed carpets, dirty windows, and the room had a musty, old smell to it. Parking was limited and the restaurant was closed. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, so one would assume these negatives will be corrected soon.

Room Tip: We would suggest a high level floor with a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfmonkey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall J, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We really appreciate your kind words and for highlighting some of the features of our hotel that we are so proud of! I will be sure to pass along your great comments to our staff as well. They are a fantastic team of dedicated associates and we are really fortunate to have them all here at Courtyard South. As you also mentioned, we are definitely undergoing renovations at this time. We are set to be complete with these renovations in early April and will then proudly feature completely remodeled guest rooms, lobby, guest facilities and dining area! We hope you will check us out on your next visit to Virginia Beach and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The thing I like about the Courtyard brand is that they are consistent. This place did not disappoint. Even though it's off-season, there were full amenities. Friendly, responsive staff. Excellent WiFi. Breathtaking view.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, but if you ask for an end, it will be super quiet. Take an upper floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaW528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The pluses to the hotel is that it's on the water, the view is spectacular and the price was great. The downside is that room had a kitchenette, but not a plate or fork to be had. There was a coffee pot with complimentary coffee packets, but no tea. The room was worn. It looked as though it had been decorated with curbside throw-aways. The desk chair was so worn you could see the fabric under the pleather. The most annoying was the cable service was cutting in and out and the TV picture was pixelating. We called the front desk and were told that there was little to done to fix it other than calling the cable company. The desk clerk said she would call facilities and see what could be done. It improved slightly, but the problem returned the following morning.

Room Tip: Request a room on a top floor at the end of the hallway away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Wanting to take pictures of the sunrise we selected this hotel . It was a large room. Great view of the Atlantic. ...all rooms have views. We did use the dominoes that you can borrow from the front desk...( ours had the right number but 2 of one of the dominoes). We had to get the tub drain worked on as the water was slow to disappear. However, that was taken care of promply. Check- in was OK. The drink machine had cokes at $2.00. The Marriott North has cokes at $1.50...interesting. The next morning we asked for late check out and the front desk was so very friendly ...and accomidating! Self parking. Restaurants are close to the hotel. There is an $11.00 breakfast each morning....with a made to order omlet station.
What you would expect from a Courtyard. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor or above or the lights from the board walk are very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaMunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSVBOAGM, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel! I’m glad you got a chance to use some of our amenities while you were staying with us. And I’m having our team go through the domino sets at the front desk now to track down that extra domino and make sure we get it back where it belongs. :-)

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you when you return to our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here on Christmas evening while visiting family members who live in Virginia Beach. We've previously stayed at the Residence Inn several blocks to the north for many years but have stopped staying there due to the increasingly run down condition of the Residence Inn. The Courtyard had it all: very, very quiet; lovely sound of ocean waves crashing; enchanting view of the ocean and the Christmas lights on the boardwalk; nice fitness center; excellent breakfast; extremely courteous and helpful staff and ample parking. We splurged a bit and opted for the deluxe corner one-bedroom room and felt it was worth every penny. Huge suite. We will always return with enthusiasm!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BluDevil81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSVBOAGM, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thanks for the great comments! I’ll be sure to pass them on to our staff and let them know you enjoyed staying with us. I’m also glad you got to experience the Holiday Lights at the Beach. It’s a nice display that the city of Virginia Beach puts on, and luckily is located right in front of our hotel. I can see the lights every day from my window and sometime go up to one of our higher floors just to look over the balcony and see them.

I’m glad we were able to accommodate you when you were in town for the holiday season. We look forward to serving you on a return trip to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing