We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, treated fairly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, treated fairly.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Did a local overnight here to go to the theater without the hassle of a long drive late at night. Room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. However, the fridge was missing from the room, which we were expecting. Management was informed and they tried to find a replacement, but none was available. Without making any demands, I was offered a credit of 5000 point for my inconvenience, which seemed more than fair. We made due with an ice bucket and had a great night. Staff was all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do not currently have refrigerators in all of our guest rooms at this time, but we have been working towards getting enough! We try our best to honor all requests, unfortunately it sounds like we were unable to deliver this time. I'm sorry that we were not able to get one provided for you during your stay.
I hope that this does not affect your decision to give us a try if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    52
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
45
41
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I just returned from a short trip down to Virginia Beach and stayed at this hotel. I am very happy with this choice of hotel, as I was looking for some place quiet, away from the noisy beach hotels. The front desk staff, restaurant staff and security personnel treated me like gold - they couldn't have been nicer, friendlier or more accommodating. As I did not have a car (I took the Amtrak down to the Norfolk stop from Alexandria), they helped me out with info on buses, cabs, etc. for getting to the beach. My room was nice and clean, bed was super firm and I slept like a rock. Pool was great, lots of seating, and there's a nice courtyard area where you can sit and relax (and get free wifi). The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, which worked well for me, as there isn't much in the way of restaurants to walk to. If you go to Virginia Beach by car, I'd definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a clean, quiet hotel. It's a little expensive getting to the oceanfront by cab ($35 one way) and it's only a 15- minute drive to the beach. I really enjoyed my stay here - the staff made me feel welcomed the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starcitygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your kind words and hope that if your travels bring you back to the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area that we will see you back here at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice, clean and updated Marriott Courtyard Hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful during check-in, providing directions and even getting ice for our cooler. The hotel seems to be used to accommodating families who are visiting for weekend sports tournaments and they do a great job. These teams can be unruly at times, but the hotel handled this wonderfully. It was generally quiet and the hallways and lobby area were always very clean. We will encourage our team mom to choose this property again next time we are in Virginia Beach for a competition.

One thing of note: Room A/C was noisy...becomes white noise after awhile.

Room Tip: May want to mention A/C Unit noise on check-in to ensure you receive a room with a quieter unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastpitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words! We appreciate it & hope that if your travels bring you back to the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area that we will see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

After trying to find the exact hotel where we had a reservation, we finally found the one where we would be staying. Wonderful front desk employees. Great atmosphere. Excellent room, excellent value. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Exceptionally clean and well stocked room. Quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Joyce,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to provide our guests with a great experience & I am glad to see that we were able to provide you with the experience that our guests have come to expect from Marriott!
I hope that we will see you again on you next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my one night stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. Check in was easy, the room was large and super clean. It looked like everything was new in the room. The room had free coffee so I do not know why others said they did not. The room had a refrigerator, a large flatscreen TV and premium cable channels. I swam in the pool and used their free internet and computer to print out my boarding passes for the next day. The business center provides pens and paper if needed and is within the main lobby area and not tucked away in a dingy office. Again, I was really impressed by the cleanliness of the room. Also, the beds were extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they placed me on the third floor away from the courtyard. Did not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolj265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Carol,
Thank you for your review. We try hard to ensure every guest has a great experience when staying with us. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your time here with us. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend arrived at the hotel yesterday the 14..Front desk straff very on point-nice..Our room is very clean-bed made nice an corfortable..walls are thin,can hear others open an shut there door.I thought it was my girlfriend running in an out of our room. Nice gym to workout in the a.m..the only bad thing was the verrrrry over price snacks at this hotel-like really..2 to 3 bucks for chips or candy..a little bag at that, but its a 7-11 in walking distance from the hotel..We live in norfolk we just wanted to get away from home-wish they had free contenital breakfast..The bristo the hotel restaurant is pricey..But hey it is what it is-away from home..Yes :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurlface76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a very old property - updated to be a Courtyard. The lobby was attractive but it is difficult to translate a cosmetic update to the guestrooms. Our sliding door was difficult to operate and the bar that is meant to reinforce the lock was inoperable. The WiFi worked occassionally. Guests across the hall from us ran from room to room and shouted in the hallway, using it is as play space for their kids. We did not complain but it was so consistent throughout the weekend that it was clear that hotel employees never walked down the hall.

The staff was friendly but they have a tough job making it seem like more than it is.

Room Tip: If all the patio doors were as poor as ours, I would not accept a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Nancy,

Thank you for your review. Our hotel was built in 1986 as a Courtyard hotel so the translation of the original design to the new concept may not have been what you expected. We did have some issues with the sliding doors and the locking mechanisms. Fortunately for us, this was still under warranty & we did have those particular rooms fixed!
I'm sorry to hear that you had to endure noisy neighbors. Noise issues is something that every hotel is unfortunately at risk of experiencing. We do have outside security on staff 7 days a week to address these complaints when they arise. It sounds like we may have dropped the ball during your stay.
I thank you again for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay so that we may have the opportunity to make it right for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virginia Beach/Norfolk Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virgin...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Address: 5700 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing