We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Town Center
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just needed a room close to the beach for the night before going to our long stay hotel. It was cheap and close enough to miss traffic. Woke up the next morning to bloodsucking monsters crawling all over the bed and a couple of dead gluttons under me. Put the dead ones in a baggy and took them to the front desk. The manager said he had to wait for his pest people to verify that they were in fact bedbugs and that there was a problem, before he could give us compensation. We walked him back to the room and removed the sheets spotted with our blood, but he still refused to believe us. Finally we pulled the mattress back and low and behold an entire colony of bedbugs hanging out. He immeadetly shut up with his "I can't do anything for you" and gave us our money back. We waited 10 more minutes while they brought us trash bags but those never came. We left to go buy some instead and found that they never gave us our credit card back. Awful experience, I left in tears, begging my boyfriend to take me home. I was done with my vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocktowntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick P, Manager at Econo Lodge Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are extremely sorry for the trouble you had experienced at the hotel.We were surprised that there would be such a problem at our hotel.You credit card has been refunded completely . It takes a couple of days for the credit to reflect on your account and so the delay.

The room has been completely treated, the mattresses changed and all possible precautions have been taken in all the rooms at the hotel. This was one isolated incident. Its a widespread incident and even high end hotels are experiencing the problem. Unfortunately it is spread by travellers and hotel guests .
We do regret the incident and would like to offer you a complimentary room on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room had an odd smell upon entering. Mattress and sheets were stained. The stain on the mattress appeared to be a blood stain hidden by a cover. When pulling the sheets back, there was a dead bug found.When we asked for extra bath towels, we got less than what we needed -- we were told to come back to get more at a different time. The towels and wash clothes did not look as clean as they should have been. Toilet had spots on it. Air conditioner knobs were broken -- BOTH of them. Please select another hotel, this is not what you're looking for. I am one of those who think that you shouldn't judge a hotel by one bad review, but please...explore your other options. Don't let the free breakfast advertisement fool you either, its only a muffin and some orange juice.The only positive thing I would say that it's not very far from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick P, Manager at Econo Lodge Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Sorry for the bad experience during youe stay. We do appreciate you bringing to our attention various problems and we have taken the appropriate steps to correct them.

We do value the opinion of our customers good or bad and are in constant process to improve the quality of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading some of the reviews we thought we would stay here since it was only for 2 nights and it seemed it would work out. I must stay they are trying to fix the hotel up and we could see that, the problem with our room was the air conditioner, it was so loud when it ran we were unable to sleep. You are also able to hear doors slamming everywhere and we were on the top floor. The room was clean and had a microwave and small refrigerator which was clean and nice. Beds were comfortable too. While this is minor to some people the continental breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice and a few muffins, we always look for the breakfast because it saves time and money but we had to go out instead of eating here. The location is about 9 miles from VA Beach proper and it is an easy drive to the beach. We would just not recommend this hotel if you have a family, it works for a quick stay but would not want to stay for a week, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crissyrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick P, Manager at Econo Lodge Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We thank you for an honest review . Yes the hotel has been under renovation during that time and the reason for you experiencing some noise.We apologise for the inconvenience.

We do appreciate you giving good remarks for the clenliness and comfortable beds.We do stress on cleanliness and guest comfort immensely.

The breakfast is as per the brand standards which includes bread ,bagels,danish,muffins coffe and orange juice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were truly pleased with this place. The Front Desk staff was wonderful. The room was so clean and fresh and the beds were SOOOO COMFY!!! Location was good, near to beach, shopping, restaurants and we plan on staying there again in the future. The whole area in itself was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review.Reviews like yours go a long way to help other guests to choose our property if they are looking to for a place to stay in Virginia Beach area.

It also has boosted up the morale of our staff as well.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was a fine place for a stay before a meeting Tuesday. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.
Edie at the front desk recommended the mexican restaurant next door and it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevemd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Town Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thanks a lot for you effort in writing this review.We do value input from our past guests and appreciate it deeply.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
330 reviews
2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#85 of 109 in Virginia Beach
361 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
458 reviews
7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,024 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Town Center

Address: 3637 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23452-3404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $50 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Town Center 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing