We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your vacation money here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Borderline toxic indoor pool fumes! Cold outdoor pools (dirty pools) room service trays left in. Hallway all day to rot. No help at front desk... Terrible food (cheese whiz on nachos?)... Maid service doesn't replenish supplies and they're too busy at the front desk getting reayd for the next group of unsuspecting travelers to assist current guests. Seriously stay at the Courtyard for your money. It's next door and way nicer - two bathrooms in suites and warm pools. The jets from the naval station fly right overhead of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fool_me_once_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

Upon check in we arrived early are room was ready seventh floor ocean front.This hotel was just remodeled kids water slide and lazy river by the way i have 3 girls 2 4 6 they loved it. Excellent location. This hotel was just remodeled everything looks great.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank mikevw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We just had our family reunion their and the hotel was FABULOUS. Everything was what we needed and more. Fantastic rooms, movie entertainment, awesome pools and the perfect atmosphere for a family get away. Even the oceanview was GREAT. Although the elevators are slow, it's still by far the BEST spot on the beach. Thanks for a wonderful 4 day stay and a smooth weekend I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for total relaxation, 5 stars up. keep up the good work Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam1020u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Went down for a one night stay on a Friday. The good: Arrived early at 2pm and was able to check in right away. Friendly staff, clean rooms & facilities and the recent renovations are paying off. The rooms are nice and new feeling with comfy beds. No bad smells or funny stains. Very clean. The pools are great. Love the water slides, waterfalls, and the lazy rivers. Awesome workout room, kids play room, and a movie theatre. Lots of entertainment to go around. Our kid had a blast! Free Wifi! Easy beach access. The bad: Elevators were extremely slow. Lights in room are not soft white, but like office lights. Bathrooms are small. They made us wear wristbands so they can make sure only guests are using the benefits(pools, workout rooms, etc). However, it didn't appear that the staff cared or was enforcing them. The restaurant, The Square Whale, needs a few fixes: The food was priced okay, but some of it was horrible. The pizza and hamburger were just flat out bland. Lights on balcony for dinnertime would be nice. Eating in the dark isn't fun. Service was solid, but I saw others who were having some trouble. I suggest going somewhere else for a decent meal. In conclusion, we had a great time and will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_magillacutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was a much better stay than in 2008. The hotel has been totally redone. My only compliants (minor) were as follows. Still only one elevator to the 7th floor,and a small one at that. Also the 2 restaurants on the bottem floor are way overpriced.Other than that,if you have kids they will really enjoy the new pool and waterslide.Stay here and you will not be disapointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We will stay here again for sure. Our children were under 5 and really enjoyed the outdoor lazy river and waterslide pool as well as the beach. It was a perfect location for beach access and to other attractions. The King Neptune statue was only 9 small blocks away. We visited that everynight with our children. The staff was awesome and the restaurants are all very kid-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA_family27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights at Holiday Inn Sunspree while attending the AAU Jr Olympics with our 13 year old son. We also have a 5 year old so we wanted to make sure both our kids had activities to make them happy and the Sunspree fit the bill! The hotel location was perfect, the beach was not too crowded and the pools were great! Our kids loved the movie theater and especially the movie night on the pool deck. Our five year old still talks about "Splash Camp" with great excitement. The staff at this hotel really know how to serve families. The free laundry was a great amenity for traveling families! We used the laundry 2-3 times during our stay. After taking a bike ride to the other end of the boardwalk we were definitely happy we stayed at the north end. It seemed much cleaner and less crowded than to the south. We had a great ocean view room and enjoyed all our time at the hotel. Only complaint...the elevators are so slow! Take the stairs if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BoysMomKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $124 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing