We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Overall experience was great. Arrived an hour before check-in and was happy that my room was ready due to our long drive. There are 4 pools in total, 2 kiddie pools, an indoor lazy pool, one hot tub and an outdoor pool. My kids loved the pools, plenty to choose from therefore they were never crowded. The food at the pool side bar was great. The rooms were cleaned, (room service could have been better) washer and dryer on property (there was usual a wait as there were only 4 small washer and dryers for the entire property) the resorts is towards the end of the boardwalk therefore it was not as busy. Free parking available. Would stay again if ever in the Virginia area.

Room Tip: I requested a room on the 3rd floor away from the elevators, I would suggest requesting a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I was hoping by your review that we would be a 5 to you but unfortunately we were not. We hope to see you back here next year or sooner and earn a 5 rating from your stay. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

We loved our 6th Floor Balcony and enjoyed the sunrise each morning. My 9 yr old loved the pools! The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The cleaning service was slower than I would have liked, but it wasn't a big deal. I also wish we knew about the 'dress code' for the Isle of Capri Restaurant as my teenager only brought sport shirts and Hollister shirts, so we ate at the Square Whale or left the property. Overall, I would stay here again and will remember our family fun in the sun.

Room Tip: I'm glad that we didn't have a room over looking the pool. The pool noise and limited ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnnM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, it has been a pleasure having you stay here and hope you will come back next year or even sooner. I will pass this onto the Housekeeping department and in the future please let us know what time you want service. We always clean check out rooms then stay over rooms unless you request it and it will be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and very comfortable. They had so many pillows and blankets, hubby and I had no arguments lol. The bed was huge and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and accommodating..
A shout out to the 3 young ladies Lesley( manager of the square whale), Asia, (at the front desk) and Jaime, (valee) these ladies were so helpful in helping a distress guest find her missing teen age daughter. The whole staff mobilized to assist this mother. I recommend this hotel they treat you like family..

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about our hotel. As a hotel we will read and react to every review and would like to thank you for mentioning 3 wonderful staff members Leslie, Asia and Jaime. They are great addition to our hotel and I appreciate that you are recognizing them. Come back and see us next year if no sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed back in May, but I still wanted to post this review. We loved the location and were able to enjoy the beach, the boardwalk. We were especially grateful to Spencer for his recommendations of local eateries and activities. He was very helpful in making arrangements for transportation into Norfolk and back to the airport. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to Virginia Beach!

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean and the view is better the higher you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel months after your stay. We appreciate your review and we are glad to see that you had a great stay. We will make sure Spencer name is mentioned and thank him for doing such a good job with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel was a zoo during the time we visited but the staff managed to stay on top of everything. We were surprised at how clean everything was given how slammed the hotel was.

The pools are a great asset and my kids loved all of them. They have great programs for younger kids. The valet parking and great location helped make our stay enjoyable.

I would avoid rooms that look out on the pool that faces the ocean. That pool attracts the 20 somethings and college aged kids. It was loud. Non stop screaming was common in the afternoons. Also everyone in the pool area can look up in to the rooms if your curtains are open. It is less private and less peaceful.

Overall it was a clean hotel with lots of amenities for families. The staff did a great job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank soveryclever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for spending the day with us, it was a pleasure having you and your family here and hope to see you again soon. It does get busy in the summer but it was nice having you stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Pros: Location, kids eat free
good breakfast for the price
********************************************************************
Cons: a/c was terrible wouldn't shut off and very loud
pools are very cold even the indoor which was supposedly heated?
beachfront pool is very crowed with people and lounge chairs could hardly pass thru
indoor pool is a weird water height for adults
pools overly crowded
Front desk employees are unprofessional and lack customer service skills
took long time to check in because computers were slow not very fun after 13 hour drive
Beds were uncomfortable
parking was always full
my elderly grandma had to wait over 30 mins for the battery to use the pool lift
Army air base woke us up at 5:45am
the king bed was more like a queen and rooms are very small
jets coming by was a pain

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank your for staying with us, I am sorry you had such a bad experience and hope that you will give us another chance. Most guests that stay here have a great time and we want you to do the same. Please in the future let us know when you are unhappy so we can fix it right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife, and I, My son and his girlfriend stayed at the Holiday Inn North Beach. (Virginia Beach) We had a 2 room suite (first Floor) walk out patio to the beach. Service was excellent, Housekeeping was excellent. We all loved the pools (especially the hot tub and lazy river) If it rains or doesn't rain they have a movie theatre showing movies most of the day. I will hopefully be back during the summer of 2015

Room Tip: Try and ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1taxman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us this summer during your vacation. We appreciate you spending it with us and hope to see you back again next year or sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $112 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing