We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Spot In Virginia Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mechanicsville Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Spot In Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We live just 2 hours from Virginia Beach, and find ourselves going to Virginia Beach with the grand children 3 or 4 times a year. We always try to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites, North Beach. The hotel makes you feel like you really went on an exotic vacation. All of the rooms overlook the pool and ocean. The pool even has palm trees, which gives you the feel you are in the Caribbean. They even have an indoor pool for those rainy days. This is where you want to stay when you are in Virginia Beach

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    322
    111
    50
    24
See reviews for
674
144
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited this hotel the weekend before Thanksgiving. I actually held an event there and it was a very rewarding event not to mention the hotel was very courteous and on top of everything. Hotel itself was/is excellent (very, very clean and comfortable)..we will be staying again Feb. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at the Va Beach oceanfront area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrapnmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for Christmas afternoon and following 2 days. We stay here in the summer and couldn't go skiing this winter I brought them here for indoor lazy river and kids movie theatre and computer room and freezing walks on the beach!! All 4 of my kids loved it! This is their favorite hotel. Susan at the front desl was so accomodating.. Our brunch was yummy even tho they didnt have huge buffet they still had everything and more!! The friendly staff let us in to see the turtles and put on movies for us at random times!! You will never find a friendlier more accomodating hotel! Poor Andre had to get us extra blankets at midnight and was still smiling and Chris in housekeeping was more than happy to take our 2 bags of trash and pizza boxes as we passed him in the hallway!! This is our 7th stay we have already booked for a week in July and can't wait to go back and see Rachel and her awesome hotel and staff!!!! :)

Room Tip: Honestly all the rooms have been redone so they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 daughters en route from S.Florida to NYC. We were in Virginia Beach on the 27th Dec '12.

The hotel is quite big, being off season it did feel a bit empty (this is to be understood).

Staff were helpful and friendly.

Suite was a really nice size and very good value for money.

There is a large 7-11 over the road. Nice morning walk along the boardwalk.

No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Terry G,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for New Year's Eve with 4 other families and had a blast!! Decor is super sweet, staff was soooooo friendly and accomodating, letting us arrive early and stay past check out time. Lazy river was a blast for our 3 little ones. Brought some light apps and beverages poolside with no hassle. Brunch was so great with friendly staff and super affordable pricing. Can't say enough about our memorable visit. We will certainly return!! Thanks Va Beach Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently spent four nights in an ocean-front room. The room itself was clean, had the required amenities, but was chintzy. They provided one bar of soap, the shower head was pitiful. We had to call to have them disconnect the extremely loud fan, which was tied to the bathroom light.

I had to call maintenance to have them open our sliding glass door. It was very shopworn and extremely difficult to open even after maintenance tried to fix it.

Our visit was in November and the rate was too high for off season considering the quality of this hotel.

The room next to ours had room service one night and the tray was not removed from the hall floor for three days. After we pointed it out, the people at the front desk apologized.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful. When we stayed there before, breakfast was included for priority members, that had been discontinued too.

I would not return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veryseasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. We have a 4 year old and she had a blast. They have a movie room playing kids movies all the time. They have a play area for 4-12 year olds that was great. In the play room they have two really cool tortoises that your kids will love to play with. The indoor pool is outstanding. My 4 year old could have spent hours each days swimming if we allowed her to.

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. This hotel sits on the very north end of the boardwalk. We didn't have a problem with this since it is the off season but I would imagine during the summer it could be a problem being so far away from the action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing