We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. We have a 4 year old and she had a blast. They have a movie room playing kids movies all the time. They have a play area for 4-12 year olds that was great. In the play room they have two really cool tortoises that your kids will love to play with. The indoor pool is outstanding. My 4 year old could have spent hours each days swimming if we allowed her to.

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. This hotel sits on the very north end of the boardwalk. We didn't have a problem with this since it is the off season but I would imagine during the summer it could be a problem being so far away from the action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    319
    102
    48
    24
See reviews for
666
138
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Our room was very nice, good decor, and had a microwave & fridge. The view was amazing! The staff was friendly. The only negative thing was the room could have been cleaner - the carpet was stained & the bathroom wasn't clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamboliyski, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is the third time I stay in this hotel and I have to say no complain at all. The hotel is front of the boardwalk, nice breeze and ocean. My childs love all the amenities that this hotel have from the Splask Kamp to the movie places and the indoor lazy river.

I want to thank you the entire staff of this hotel for always make me and my family a great stay. The attention and friendly services is no reason for any complain they are so nice with the guest.

We will back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Oceanfront Suite Two Bed- Room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here with my sons' high school marching band on an overnight trip. We and our 10yo daughter had a double room. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a nice view of the ocean. My daughter and one of her friends who came along with her family enjoyed the indoor lazy river. They have a nice little indoor movie theater that was going to show Cars 2, but my daughter has seen that already. I think if it were a rainy day, that theater would be fun for the kids.

I don't know if the hotel has a breakfast buffet for everyone, as we were with the band, and we had our own conference room area set up with a buffet for us. The food was good and so was the coffee.

We also never had any problem with noise, which impressed me, since we were traveling with 130+ teenagers. I expected to be awake for a while. Even though these teens are very polite, I thought I'd hear some noise, and we didn't.

There was a good-sized parking garage directly across the street for your car. We did not venture out into VB to eat or shop on this trip because we weren't at the hotel for all that long and our meals were provided. It might be a little far from shopping & eating for some folks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPoppins922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just walked in to the hotel with out reservation and the staff are very nice, friendly, very clean hotel. They have a lot of options from movie teather, splash kamp a nice lazy river pool with a hot tub. We had a wonderful time thank you to the Holiday Inn staff members.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Two Queen beds suites is awesome for a group of 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wanted to write this review before we actually left the hotel (first time for that). I stayed for one night with my wife and two kids and we have never had a better experience at Va Beach. The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful from the first minute we arrived. My son and I got to enjoy a movie at the on site theater (for free) by ourselves. He thought it was great to have and entire theater to himself. The indoor pool is really fun too. Clean room, good breakfast (though the buffet was not available since it was the off season) and the kids ate free. All in all the best hotel experience we have had in six stays at Virginia beach. We will be coming back in the spring. The only drawback would be the proximity to the rest of the activities at the beach. The hotel is on the far northern end of the boardwalk so it will be a drive or a long walk to get to the center of town.

Room Tip: Two queen bed suites are large and have one tv in the bed room and a second in the living room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

North Beach is probably twenty blocks from the center of Virginia Beach, so the biggest drawback is the lack of close non-hotel restaurants and shops. Parking is a nightmare in the center of town, so this location is best for people who want to stay put or are not there for a long period of time. We stayed in a ocean front room on the fourth floor. The decorating scheme was off-putting, as the styles were confusing and conflicting. However, the bed was very comfortable and the view was terrific. The room was fairly large and had a sofa bed (uncomfortable to sit on - we did not try to sleep on it) and a desk. There were two chairs but no table on the outside deck. We found the heat to be slow to respond and fairly noisy. The hotel staff was welcoming and the lobby is attractive. There are three pools, a playroom, an exercise room and a small computer center. Internet was free, but very slow. Parking is across the street and free. There are three restaurants. Isle of Capri, on the sixth floor, is excellent for dinner, serving Italian food in a romantic setting overlooking the beach. The Square Whale serves lunch, and was also excellent, although a bit overpriced. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with made-to-order omlets and waffles along with many other items. Service was excellent at all three food service locations.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#5 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing