We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Another Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hedgesville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find Another Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

There is no security at this hotel. Anyone can walk in and use the pool or enter the hotel. Other hotels use a room card swipe to gain entrance while this hotel has no such security. They ask the guests to wear a plastic bracelet because there is no security. Absolutely ridiculous. People were drinking from glass beer bottles around the pool which just an accident waiting to happen. There was trash in the hallway floor that the cleaning people ignored. The breakfast restaurant is too small to serve the guests, and people wait in line in the hallway. There is only a shower in the bathroom. The extra lock on the room door was loose because the screws were not tightened down. All of the pools are shallow and made for children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear J B,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry that we fell below your expectation regarding orderly and cleanliness which was unacceptable. We will address this points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    331
    115
    51
    27
See reviews for
680
152
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here with a few friends. I was participating at the VA Beach Half-Marathon. The experience was overall pretty good. It was an ocean front hotel so it was pretty easy to get to the beach. The pool seemed decent but didn't really get to use it. The hotel does have a bar but it's kinda expensive. You'll be better off finding off-site bars with drinks specials. The rooms were clean, had a balcony and fridge. The only downside was that it was at the end of the boardwalk and most of the places we wanted to go were about 10-15 blocks away (we took the shuttle bus. It was only $1)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Georges de Beauce, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was totaly in love with this hotel, every thing was great
Nice pool's in side out side, restaurant was very good and the breakfest was just a delite !!!
room so clean I was impress on how it was open space and well conftorble. They have a computer with internet accèes, gym, room , Theather room with movies for fammily that project all day long very nice, nice out door pool x2 and 1 indor pool with sauna

Room Tip: King room with sofa bed, with littel fridg. and microwave. Great no bath onely shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visted this hotel in early September, and specifically booked this hotel over others because we thought our child would enjoy the pools and water slides. Unfortunatley, NONE of the pools were heated. In fact, the outdoor pool, although impressive in size, was colder than the ocean. No one was swimming in it, although there were plenty of sunbathers. The pools were so cold that we could not use them the entire time (except for the hot tub), much to the disappointment of our 4 year old who was looking forward to swimming. I complained to the hotel manager, who advised that they NEVER heat the pools. This is the first hotel I've ever visited wtih unheated pools. I could understand if it was off-season, but it was still summer. Nice hotel otherwise, but never again. Avoid if you want to swim.

Room Tip: Suites do not have adjoining bathrooms, so those sleeping it the living room have to enter through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Jb S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the pool. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

If you have small children this is an excellent place to stay. They have two pools and activities to keep them busy. The room was a little smaller than I expected, but it served its purpose. My only complaint is that I thought food and beverages purchased in site were over priced. A can of beer at the outside pool was almost 6 dollars, and if you had one you didn't buy from them they were on you in about ten seconds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 9/6/12-9/10/12 and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to the area! Our room was lovely and clean, and the view was beautiful! We've been on a few cruises and have never had a better ocean view! It was an absolutely wonderful treat to hear and see the ocean from our room, and even more wonderful to be able to walk out onto the beach at any time day or night! The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful as well. The only complaint we had is that the elevator was slow! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Holiday Inn & Suites at North Beach exceeded our expectations! The hotel staff worked hard to be sure we were happy at all times-especially Kyle. We did end up with a leaky ceiling in our room, but the manager himself came up and moved everything to another room for us. He was very apologetic and wanted to be sure we were happy with our stay. The kids eat FREE and the food is decent. The beach at this end was very quiet and the pools, play room and movie theater were enough to keep us very busy during our stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedwards71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing