We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this hotel for a marching band competition in the area and were more than pleased with our experience. The staff was friendly and courteous and more than accommodating to our many requests. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the property was well landscaped and very appealing. The oceanfront rooms have great unobstructed views of the ocean/beach. This hotel is very family friendly, with the many pools (indoor and out), movie theater and work out room. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be booking this hotel again - for both pleasure and business.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay! We stayed at the Holiday Inn North Beach for a business meeting last week and will definitely return there for a pleasure trip. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and nicely renovated. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the parking area (garage) was simple to navigate. We had an ocean front room with a nice private balcony. The business meeting spaces were comfortable and functional. We highly recommend this location for business and pleasure!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean, but the rooms that face the ocean front (only) have a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Placed at hotel for soccer tournament and not expecting much. Instead we discovered a totally renovated hotel with snappy and appealing outside design and pleasant interior. We had a beach front room with king bed and pullout sofa for our two children. Quite cramped with sofa pulled out but fine for family weekend. Pullout bed would not be very comfortable for adult(s) but fine for two children. Room would be fine for just two without pulling out sofa bed. Nice balcony for all rooms. There are other larger rooms, all with ocean view. Better bet for space might be the ocean facing rooms behind the pool on ocean side of hotel or one of the spacious suites. Two pools and lazy-river pool thrilled kids. Rooms and bathrooms have standard amenities plus loads of towels. Pool has small towels and hotel does not furnish towels for beach (although no one objected to our taking the little pool towels down to ocean). Movie theater is nice for kids. Gym is adequately equipped, small and claustraphobic, but who needs it with beach and pools out the door. The poolside bar is pleasant and serves light fare (we did not try) although it closes early (10 pm). Restaurant for breakfast was ok with standard fare but nothing special - included in price of our room. There are alternatives down the street for all meals. Cheery and helpful staff. We thought enough of hotel that we stayed an extra night at reduced rate. All in all a pleasant surprise from what we expected where kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Room Tip: Ask about the ocean facing rooms that are set behind the ocean side pool. We understood they were la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sail12247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I booked this hotel for a business trip at the last minute. I'm very happy that I did, because it was a great hotel. Some other hotels restrict their business rates and don't allow you to book in a resort area. The Holiday Inn did and exceeded any expectations I had.
The hotel is the very last hotel on the north side that sits directly on the boardwalk. The benefit is that it is less crowded, but affords the same view and beach in the busier locations further south. Neptune Park is pretty far away, but I walked there on a nice night.
There is a 2 floor parking garage for the hotel right across the street. I didn't count the spaces, but I think there is one for every room, so you don't have to worry about parking. Virginia Beach also has a bus transit system called the Tide that has a route along the Oceanfront. The bus runs between May and September 30. The boardwalk is in good condition and the entire route is level.
If there is a drawback to this location, it may be that the restaurants are a few blocks away. I walked about 4 blocks and found all the souvenir shops and restaurants, so it isn't bad. If you decide not to go out, the hotel has a restaurant inside. Another added benefit for the hotel is a convenience store directly across the street.
The staff was helpful with any request and check in was a breeze. The rooms are a nice size and there is free wireless that the code is given to you at check in. The beds are comfortable and you have your choice of several types of pillows. If you are in Virginia Beach don't forget to get a tour of Naval Air Station Oceana. If you can't get the tour you can park next to the runway and see fighter jets coming and going.
The elevators seemed to be a little slow. However, Holiday Inn stepped up to the plate at this location. You are able to use the stairs! I don't say that sarcastically, but rather a healthy option not offered by some other hotels. I used them my whole stay because that's an easy, healthy way to stay fit. Thank you to Holiday Inn for letting the stairs open!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have a balcony that you can see the ocean and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crimeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a girl's weekend away from NY and boy did we choose a great hotel. We enjoyed a spacious, clean and beautiful oceanview suite during our stay. The hotel is located on the beachfront and has an attention grabbing kids room with fun activities, a nice size movie theatre with a schedule of movies for the day, five pools, a gym, a restaurant, bar... and more. Its convienently located near shops and other restaurants so we parked and walked. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful which we all appreciated. We had such a nice experience there is no doubt where we are staying when we visit Virginia. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aljakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference last week. We had the most amazing time! The service was high quality with attention to detail. They truly show they care about each and every guest! The food that was served during our conference was top notch. Chef Charles's homemade granola was delicious. Everthing we ate was not only tasty but visually appealing too. We also ate in the Isle of Capri and that too was wonderful. They have great views of the ocean with a great italian menu. They have so many pools and activities for kids and adults that I can't wait to go back on vacation. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the oceanfront suites-great balconies for dolphin watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My family and I decided to stop in Virginia Beach for one night on our way to Florida. This hotel is amazing; with all the things that they have to offer. The food was great, as well as the location of the hotel. The front desk staff (Molly and Edmund) were very helpful, and busy answering phone calls. My daughter went to get a mountain dew from the soda machine but a sierra mist came out. So we went to the desk to try and get our money back, but the desk agent Edmund just told us to get a drink from their shop and keep the sierra mist. very good customer service! I will recommend staying here again and plan to book in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
568 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $115 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing