We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can do better than one sentence...how about one WORD..YUCK!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I actually had reservations next door at the Best Western which surprisingly is a whole LOT nicer with its free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs on the walls, work desks with ergonomic chairs and LOTS of SPACE. But unfortunately they had overbooked, so I was sent to the Days Inn. This hotel reminded me more of a cheap creepy MOTEL. I'm not sure how they can charge $129 a night to stay there. The rooms are EXTRA small, the mattress was old and you could tell because the cloth was coming off of it from the bottom, the tub in my room was FILTHY as if it hadn't been cleaned since at least 4 guests before me and the washcloths/towels were RAGGEDY with strings hanging from them and still possessed the previous users' "hairs" stuck inside. The walls were extremely thin as I could hear the people above me with their kids sounding as if they were doing somersaults off the furniture and the guests next door banging on the walls/floor. Lets not forget the EXTRA CRAMPED bathroom which was barely big enough to turn around in and the toilet seat which looked as if it had been there since 1963 along with the badly peeling pain in the ceiling, and mildew and mold in the shower curtain. The carpet in the room was in EXTREME need of a vacuum or possibly new carpet and the door to the room and also the bathroom door looked as if there had been a few fights in the room previously. I would have asked for a different room since I wasn't satisfied, but it was very late after a long drive from DC and after this room, I was pretty sure the others would have been just as bad. I'm wondering what Days Inn the previous few posters stayed in, because I'm almost SURE it wasn't this one. Shut this dump DOWN and completely revamp before you try and charge this ridiculous amount of money for people to be creeped out, cramped up and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstee511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Come_and_Stay, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had while staying at the Days Inn Norfolk Airport.

I want all guests to have a great experience here. That is why I am personally committed during our renovation and switching over to a new brand that we will provide excellent service and quality to our guests.

As far the rate, the rate you pay is what Best Western is charging you. The rate that we are getting from another hotel for their overflow guests can vary from the rate the guest is paying that particular hotel/motel.

As a Magnuson Hotel, my staff and I are committed to providing excellent service and quality. The renovation and switching of our new brand will be completed within the next couple of weeks. I ask that you bear with us and forgive our appearance as we undergo the renovation so that we can fulfill our commitment to you by providing you great quality, service, value, and overall experience.

Mgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 213 of 213 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jeremy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Evangelista Jos... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
318 reviews
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $58 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing