We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
60
41
36
34
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
41
36
34
65
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located hardly few miles from Virginia beach, it was clean well maintained with ampl of parking space. All the more i liked is the pleasant stay which was made more pleasant by the supporting staff. It would be unfair if i miss to mention about a cute Indian lady working there. She actually made a real difference to our trip helping us finding out good places to hang around. Any issues in room was sorted out within no time with just one phone call. While leaving i missed to say thanks to everyone there which i want to say it here, "Thanks a Ton". Looking forward for more trips and more stay in Magnuson Hotel. Last but not the least i would specially thanks to that Indian Lady over there for her helpful and charming nature. Long way to go!!! cheers.

Room Tip: Rooms are well ventilated, can go for either smoking or non smoking room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeeb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We also look forward to seeing you again soon and appreciate all the thoughtful words that you said about the hotel and the employees at the hotel. We try our hardest to provide excellent customer service no matter what the situation may be. Please make sure when you are in the area you stop by and stay at your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We had flies all over our room. Spent an hour trying to kill them all. Gave us only one tiny trash can for the room. Bed linen looked stained and dirty. The room smelled bad when walking in. The fridge didnt work that well and the freezer had a giant block of ice in it that was slowly leaking out. The walls are thin so we heard the people in the next room arguing all night. It was decent for the price we got especially on labor day weekend

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are apologetic that your experience was awful and that we did not get to handle your issue when you were at the hotel. Unfortunately sometimes when housekeeping is cleaning the rooms the doors may be open and flies can enter the room. As far as the sheets on the bed, we have a linen service that provides us with our linen which is why I am not sure why the sheets look stained on the bed. Also, maintenance does routine checks to make sure all appliances are kept up and working effectively. On behalf of Magnuson hotel, we are sorry and we wish that you give us a call to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, a little far from the beach but other than that it was a really good hotel, clean, we never got to use the pool because it was raining, but it was clean, the rooms were always very clean, the hotel had breakfast every morning so it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cijo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I glad to hear that the hotel was to your satisfaction. We are about 15 minutes from the ocean front, but our rates are significantly lower than the rates on the ocean front. Our staff works diligently to maintain the rooms at the Magnuson Hotel and make sure that you have a nice complimentary breakfast. Thank you for posting this wonderful review about the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel extremely late. I thought I would have issues checking in, but it was the opposite. The front desk clerk was extremrly nice and put me on the first floor hecause she new I was tired and had a lot of bags. The room was great, very spacious and the kids loved the pool. They helped us with directions and suggested great places to visit. All I can say is that me and the kids already plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tameka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am thrilled to hear that you can’t wait until next year and we also can’t wait until next year until you return. To know that the kids loved the pool and had an extravagant time means a lot to the Magnuson hotel. Our number one priority is making sure that the guest has a pleasant stay. Once again, we thank you for taking time out to give us a wonderful review and we can’t wait until next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff here is very friendly. Hotel is conveniently located off the interstate. For the price the rooms are clean and in good shape, would give this place 3 stars. If you are in the area and need a good place to cheap for a good price, this place is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for telling us how much you enjoyed the hotel. It is our goal to try to keep our prices as low as possible and also give you a great value. Again, please accept my sincere thanks and we look forward for your return when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews