We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed October 16, 2013

First thing is first, the staff at this hotel is the best I've ever met! I arrived at the hotel WAY before check in time and the front desk clerk was able to check me in with no problem. She even fulfilled my request of being on the first floor with a good view of the outdoor pool in addition to giving me some extra towels and pillows.The room was clean and tidy and the foyers were quiet even in late night hours. Throughout my stay, I visited the breakfast area every morning--delicious, and even got directions to local attractions. The hotel's clerks are so knowledgable of the area! I spent 3 days at the Magnuson Hotel and honestly, it was the most excellent hotel experience I've ever had. I will definitely be back when I'm in town next month!

Room Tip: The pool looks great from the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2014

We are delighted for your generous words about your stay at the Magnuson Hotel. It is our obligation to make sure your visit is nothing less than satisfactory. I do apologize that you were not able to get breakfast and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located hardly few miles from Virginia beach, it was clean well maintained with ampl of parking space. All the more i liked is the pleasant stay which was made more pleasant by the supporting staff. It would be unfair if i miss to mention about a cute Indian lady working there. She actually made a real difference to our trip helping us finding out good places to hang around. Any issues in room was sorted out within no time with just one phone call. While leaving i missed to say thanks to everyone there which i want to say it here, "Thanks a Ton". Looking forward for more trips and more stay in Magnuson Hotel. Last but not the least i would specially thanks to that Indian Lady over there for her helpful and charming nature. Long way to go!!! cheers.

Room Tip: Rooms are well ventilated, can go for either smoking or non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeeb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We also look forward to seeing you again soon and appreciate all the thoughtful words that you said about the hotel and the employees at the hotel. We try our hardest to provide excellent customer service no matter what the situation may be. Please make sure when you are in the area you stop by and stay at your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We had flies all over our room. Spent an hour trying to kill them all. Gave us only one tiny trash can for the room. Bed linen looked stained and dirty. The room smelled bad when walking in. The fridge didnt work that well and the freezer had a giant block of ice in it that was slowly leaking out. The walls are thin so we heard the people in the next room arguing all night. It was decent for the price we got especially on labor day weekend

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are apologetic that your experience was awful and that we did not get to handle your issue when you were at the hotel. Unfortunately sometimes when housekeeping is cleaning the rooms the doors may be open and flies can enter the room. As far as the sheets on the bed, we have a linen service that provides us with our linen which is why I am not sure why the sheets look stained on the bed. Also, maintenance does routine checks to make sure all appliances are kept up and working effectively. On behalf of Magnuson hotel, we are sorry and we wish that you give us a call to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, a little far from the beach but other than that it was a really good hotel, clean, we never got to use the pool because it was raining, but it was clean, the rooms were always very clean, the hotel had breakfast every morning so it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cijo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I glad to hear that the hotel was to your satisfaction. We are about 15 minutes from the ocean front, but our rates are significantly lower than the rates on the ocean front. Our staff works diligently to maintain the rooms at the Magnuson Hotel and make sure that you have a nice complimentary breakfast. Thank you for posting this wonderful review about the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel extremely late. I thought I would have issues checking in, but it was the opposite. The front desk clerk was extremrly nice and put me on the first floor hecause she new I was tired and had a lot of bags. The room was great, very spacious and the kids loved the pool. They helped us with directions and suggested great places to visit. All I can say is that me and the kids already plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tameka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am thrilled to hear that you can’t wait until next year and we also can’t wait until next year until you return. To know that the kids loved the pool and had an extravagant time means a lot to the Magnuson hotel. Our number one priority is making sure that the guest has a pleasant stay. Once again, we thank you for taking time out to give us a wonderful review and we can’t wait until next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff here is very friendly. Hotel is conveniently located off the interstate. For the price the rooms are clean and in good shape, would give this place 3 stars. If you are in the area and need a good place to cheap for a good price, this place is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for telling us how much you enjoyed the hotel. It is our goal to try to keep our prices as low as possible and also give you a great value. Again, please accept my sincere thanks and we look forward for your return when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was great and friendly, but they failed to tell us where the rooms are, so we had to walk around the area for a while. We checked in to a non-smoking room but when we entered the room it smelled like smoke! We complained about it immediately but the only solution they gave was an air freshener. The inside of the bed sheets looked like they weren't changed at all, we even saw some dirt and hair on it. The "free" breakfast was disappointing. The area was too small that we had to eat quickly so that the others can eat that were standing.

We would recommend you to stay for the a night, but not more than. The area was great. It was close to the beach, some attractions, and dining places. If you are traveling with kids, we don't recommend staying here, especially if they have asthma, the allergies will act up.

Room Tip: Choose to stay on the 2nd floor! You would probably sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for any difficulties you experienced. The rooms are checked daily and we reassure you the room did not smell like smoke when the room was checked. Unfortunately, since our hotel property is not all non-smoking, sometimes the smoke from the air may get in the non-smoking rooms. We take allergies and asthma very seriously and we have a machine that cleans the room of any odors or bacteria in the air. As far as the sheets that were not clean and the breakfast being disappointed we do apologize, we try our best to exceed our guest expectations. Again, I apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience and wish that you get in contact with the hotel to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
373 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $62 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing