We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond human understanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area
Ranked #106 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Traviata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beyond human understanding”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Do not ever go to this hotel! We had not even been there, but the receptionist was inhumanly rude and aggressive when we were trying to make a reservation, and that is over the phone!!! It is not that if I would go there and start giving them hard times etc, it was a mere attempt to book a room! I do not know what kind of management would hire a person obviously culturally challenged, should be someone of the same level. Dreaded to even think about the service there, I would better pay 20 dollars more to stay in another place where my vacation would not be ruined. Apparently having such a person on reservation is beyond human understanding. That is a suicide.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank Traviata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    7
    32
See reviews for
11
15
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Where to start? This is the second time I unfortunately stayed at this hotel. If I knew that is where my Priceline booking would have been, I would not have booked it. The first time, the hotel was under the Ramada brand. It was dirty, noisy, and my family did not feel safe, there was also a rat in the pool (which perched on the railing and starred at my mother!)

Well seeing that the name had changed, I was optimistic that the quality may have as well (particularly since a number of the hotels in the area - Best Western especially, are clean and comfortable.) As soon as I checked in, it was the same old story.
-Dirty
-Phone in room did not work.
-Very large cigarette burns on the bedspread.
-Dirty sheets.
-No blanket, only bedspread.
-Found a condom on the lamp by the bed when I reached over to turn it off.
-Child's toy under bed, that looked like it had been there for some time.
-Noisy, like the place was inhabited by nocturnal inmates (everyone came out at night) and the cops even showed up.
-Tooth pick and a bottle of some type of lubricant behind nightstand in an OBVIOUS location.
-Storage (junk) rooms without window coverings, next to guest rooms, adding to overall rundown appearance.

If I paid $20 a night for this place, it would have been too much, but at that rate I would expected to take a gamble. The thing is, I paid a very competitive rate through Priceline. What a let down, I paid less through PL.com for a NICE, COMFORTABLE room with great beds at BEST WESTERN (highly recommended) accross the street.

Priceline will be contacted and asked about a refund. I took photos, and will post if able to.

Bottom line: AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Liked — Checking Out!
  • Disliked — All of it, the condom on the lamp?!?
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

This place was the worse hotel I've seen yet. The rooms hadn't been cleaned, the tub was molding, some of the doors looked as if they had been kicked in, and we were scared to even stay there! I would give this hotel a half-star, and that is pushing it! The guy at the front desk was rude, too. We had to move to the Best Western across the street ( which had nice, clean rooms and comfortable beds). If one of these online companies like Hotwire sticks you with this hotel, don't even waste your time going there!

  • Liked — That Hotwire was kind enough to find us another hotel!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyfunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

This property is not a three star property by any stretch of the imagination. Should receive star rating comparable to Econo Lodge. Definitely not worth $85 per night. $30 would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mm9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Beach
4.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 37 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#71 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
11.7 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area
Address: 5725 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3703
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn near Norfolk Airport is pleased to be your host during your stay in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area. We take pride in our commitment to making our hotel your home away from home. Whether on business or pleasure, our location puts you in the center of all that Hampton Roads has to offer. Businesses, parks, beaches, shopping, historical sights, and more. Come stay here at Americas Best Value Inn Norfolk Airport Area .... "We've got you covered." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Norfolk Airport Area Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing