We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrified”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrified”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived and was assigned a room and key. When I went to my room the key worked fine but I walked in on an already occupied room. Thank God the people i walked in on was understanding. Terrified the same mistake might happen to me if I had changed rooms I got a refund

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Us123we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Sunny Gandhi
General Manager
Rodeway Inn
7574280931
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    30
    21
    89
See reviews for
74
29
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

You can not beat the price they have! Very Convenient location. Just one block from the Beach. Clean room. Close to convention center. Friendly Staff. My family was happy, What else I want. Good restaurants around in walking distance. We realy enjoy Our Stay.

Room Tip: I had studio room which fit 4 people. But I saw online they also have bigger suites with living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sunny Gandhi
General Manager
Rodeway Inn
7574280931
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed with family on spring break, last week of March. It is well maintained hotel. As they said no breakfast during October to May. I will definately recommand this hotel for family. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room has cooktop-fridge-microwave except utensils. Clean room. They had the best rate in town and more room aminity than standard hotel. Well it is not brand new hotel but well maintained. Definately I will stay here again. Only 2 minutes from Ocean. I believe reviews are not always the true picture based on what I experienced at this hotel.

Room Tip: Their non smoking studio rooms has balcony. All rooms has kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny777778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sunny Gandhi
General Manager
Rodeway Inn
7574280931
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The price was what brought me here!! And never again. I got my room it was dirty, floors were dirty! The beds had sand in them from the previous people!! Pop or something all over the wall...The lobby was very small, and they had little to nothing when it came to there nasty muffins!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Sunny Gandhi
General Manager
Rodeway Inn
7574280931
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

akron
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

well we arrived late on a saturday night. everything was booked so we thought we got really lucky in finding this place online. turns out we were wrong again. first impression of this place outside was not too bad. then the staff gave us a hard time about needing two parking spots for a room that sleeps six. they charged us $10 for a second spot that wasnt even a real parking space. neglected to tell us that there is a free parking lot right across the street. once entering this fine establishment you are overwhelmed the stench of dirty locker room.the pull out couch was stained from edge to edge. we know this because there wasnt a sheet on it. the floors havent been cleaned since who knows when. the tv was considered an antique. my son deffinately couldnt hook up his xbox. the tv in the shared bedroom was missing all together.different color splotches of paint on the door.the beds and pillows were so dirty all of us slept with hoods on our heads so they didnt touch the pillow directly.we found other peoles hair and stains as well.the kitchen area is a joke.we were so uncomfortable that we walked the beach until 3:30 then was out of there by 8:30 the next day. this was deffinately on the do not return list.then we went to the econolodge oceanfront. being late september the rates were very reasonable the most of all the that place is clean.i can not rate roadway inn low enough. should be condemned!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just returned from our vacation and I have never been so happy to be home! We stayed 3 nights at this motel and it was horrible! The people in the office were very nice but that does not mean anything about this place was nice! The beds were hard and worn out. We were given 4 pillows and 4 towels for 5 people. When we asked for more, they said they didn't have any more pillows and we had to take a used towel to the front desk to get a clean towel! I never heard of anything like that! The walls are paper thin... the people staying next to us didn't go to bed until about 3 am which meant WE didn't get any sleep until then. There was no TV in the bedroom! No microwave in the kitchenette! When we flushed the toilet, the pipes made loud noises for about 2 minutes! The parking garage is a nightmare!! The good thing...it is only about 2 blocks from the beach and the "quiet" end of the boardwalk. Other than that, don't be cheap like me...spend the money to go somewhere else and enjoy your vacation. I am not exaggerating....I got up Sat morning crying....that's how miserable I was!

Room Tip: Listen to the bad reviews....I didn't and I was miserable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I absolutely love Virginia Beach and normally we stay on the ocean front hotels, but this time around we thought we could give up the ocean-view and save some money. We had made a trip in July and ran into some other visitors on the beach who were staying at the Beach Carousel for $70 a night so that is where we had intended to stay, but they were booked and referred us to the Rodeway Inn, which was $100/night.

My husband had requested to see the rooms first before we actually booked it and sent me to go with the manager. I didn't thoroughly go through it and I WISH I did! It's just that we were both up all night and left NJ at 3am to make the 6hr drive to VA. As soon as the room was booked we literally crashed in the room and it wasn't until I was fully rested that I noticed all the flaws with the room:
1. The condensation from the AC that was up in the ceiling left the floor wet and had a mildewy smell
2. The bathroom door scraped the floor so we just left it ajar to avoid the annoying nails-on-chalkboard noise
3. The toilet paper holder couldn't even hold a roll of toilet paper because the anchors to hold the rod were too far apart. It was so annoying that housekeeping would always put the roll there when the damn thing would just fall to the floor.
4. The kitchenette cabinetry and vent was gross and streaked in grease
5. All the lampshades needed a good dusting
6. The futon was disgusting and there was a blanket in the dresser that I used to cover the futon which was also disgusting
7. I know the view is only of the 7-11, but is it too much to clean the glass?
8. And thanks for the complimentary frito looking chips behind the dresser. Who knows how long that's been there.
9. The beds are very uncomfortable
10. The pool was slimy
11. Free nasty OJ for complimentary breakfast. That OJ dispenser needs to be cleaned.
12. Worst of all, when I want a non-smoking room I expect to not have to smell any smoke in it. The second night of our stay I woke up about 3:45 am and smelled cigarette smoke and immediately called the office but no answer.
13. They claim to have wifi but we didn't catch jack

My husband wanted to check out and stay somewhere else but of course no refunds and we just took this experience as a lesson learned. We won't ever stay here and will be telling other visitors we chit chat with to avoid this place. You get what you pay for, and apparently $60 more a night is the going cost during peak season to find a decent place. If you have allergies/asthma, this is definitely not a place you want to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lena82in201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
140 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#86 of 109 in Virginia Beach
58 reviews
19 Atlantic Hotel
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
125 reviews
Beach Carousel Motel
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
137 reviews
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach

Property: Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach
Address: 1005 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing