We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but Needs Some Refurbishments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable but Needs Some Refurbishments”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The rooms were comfortable and it turned out I didn't need the extra pillows I requested since I already had 5 nice, cushy pillows.

The restuarant served good food but the bar was terribly slow on the two nights we stopped in for a night cap. They need to have a waiter/waitress dedicated to the bar. Our waiter kept disappearning and after waiting for 20 minutes for my drink (NOT alot of people in bar), the bartender had to bring it to me. The second night, there were only about half-dozen people and no waiter.

And was disappointed that free internet not available in rooms. I can get free internet in smaller hotels, chains and not, so I'm hoping that one day it will be available at the higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will continue making improvements to our restaurant service levels.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swoope
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Very nice hotel, comfortable stay. Very good restaurant in the hotel.
House keep does a good job cleaning.
Have stayed here for several years attending a conference in the Pavillion next door.
And the cookies are great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dawgsSwoope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I booked on Priceline and it wasn't until we arrived at the hotel that my husband and I realized we had also stayed here one Christmas night about six years ago. It was even lovelier this time because our son and granddaughter were able to join us for a swim in the pool.

The personnel are exceptionally gracious. The bedding was so cozy. The pool was warm and clean and I swam a lot more than I usually do. And then there are those delicious cookies. Having one prevented me from having dinner because it was so filling and scrumptious. Both times we've stayed here provided good memories, and I hope to go back again even though we're moving to the area

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethCMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us. They say three's a charm!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Traveling with pets sometimes can be a pain trying to find a hotel that is pet friendly, and not too expensive. Doing a web search for pet friendly hotels brought me to the Double Tree of Virginia Beach. The hotel is 3/4 of a mile from the beach, and the quality is very good for the price. we stayed for 2 nights at $69.00 a night compared with a beach front hotel at $212.00 a night. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. They have a Max and Erma's restaurant in the hotel that provides 24 hour room service. The pool is very nice as well as the work out area. I recommend this hotel for those with a pet and a family budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear robccx:
Thank you for staying with us. Your kind comments about our cleanliness and service are most appreciated. We are thrilled to be one of the most accommodating pet friendly hotels in Virginia Beach. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stayed here and actually had a great mini-vacation in VAB. But, upon checking out, we left my laptop in the room. Not only did a maid steal it, but the hotel tried to cover it up by saying that I left it at the checkout desk and another customer picked it up. They got it back, but never told me how. Although the laptop was wiped completely clean, I'd lost all my school and work as well as some programs, I was just happy to get my $1500 laptop back. I spent 5 months replacing things only to find out that it WAS the maid and not ME! Now they don't want to reimburse me for anything, including a flawed computer (they must have erased a system component). The Hotel Manager Ms. Geist has since become rude and unwavering. I had to take the issue over her head, although I don't know the outcome. My suggestion is to steer clear of this place. They are deceptive and lie to you to cover their own mistakes. DON'T TRUST YOUR STUFF IN THE ROOM!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiahallbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear tiahallbrown:
I do apologize that your stay with us was ruined over the situation with your laptop. I am glad it was found and returned.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Went for a wedding reception and stayed in a two room suite, it was comfortable and roomy.
Restaurant not that good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzofnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear fitzofnc:
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the upgrade to your room was appreciated. Look forward to having you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed at the doubletree with my wife for one night whilst we were travelling to Florida.
The Hotel lobby is okay and staff is nice, room was okay but nothing more. The swimming pool was filthy and trust me IS NOT HEATED! We had lunch and had to wait 30 minutes for a salad and a sandwich... no comment. The Hotel website says "just 8 blocks from the beach" and the staff told us it was 10 minutes walking well it took us 30 minutes to get to the beach! If I knew i would have taken the car! I guess this hotel is okay for business as the conference centre is next door but i wouldnt reccommend it for leisure people.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexuk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Alexuk79:
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are definitely closer to the convention center than the beach, and are pleased to offer a complimentary shuttle to the Ocean front during our summer season. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing