We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We picked this up through Priceline, and were very happy with the place. It's well-located (not far from the interstate), very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a hot shower with strong water pressure in the well-appointed bathroom, and felt the hotel exceeded our expectations. We definitely recommend staying at this property!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. Top two floors (11 and 12) are reserved for Hilton Honors guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skelco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you had a "great stay". We strive to exceed our guests expectations and we are happy to see we did just that with your stay. Come back soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    366
    231
    122
    109
See reviews for
375
249
75
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at a number of DoubleTree properties and this one is just average. Pricing was excellent in comparison to those hotels on VA beach. Shuttle is convenient and operates until 10 PM. Room was OK and looks to have been updated in the past few years. Any property near a beach takes extra abuse from the sand and elements. Would gladly stay here again if the pricing is substantially less than those properties on VA beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to see you found are staff friendly and took advantage of our beach shuttle. Guests do find we are a good value when compared to oceanfront hotels. We are constantly updating the hotel and have spent just over two million dollars the past 16 months, with more updates to come this winter. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The place was clean, quiet, and staff were well dressed/professional. Shuttle to the beach was the best thing about this place - half hour pickup/drop off was very convenient. Shuttle drivers were very pleasant and worked hard to accommodate even the most packed trips. Be advised that you cannot escape the sounds of the USAF jets here (or anywhere else in VA Beach) but the hotel did block out the brain rattling effects of them flying quite close. I would stay again, for a non-beachfront, it's still close and the shuttle helps save you parking fees on the ocean front

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xXNotAllWhoWanderXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our staff treated you well. Being a little off the beach does allow us to provide a better value for travelers coming to Virginia Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thanks
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Was there for 3 nights. Room was not made up on day two or day three. Key stopped working on second day, and again on third day. Ice maker on floor broken. Concierge worked for 'gold key resorts' as well as Dbltree and wouldn't stop the hard sell for a time share - leave me alone lady!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for the challenges you experienced. Your key stopped working because of the two separate reservations made. One for two nights and separate reservation for the final night. The system makes keys only for the dates of stay. Our team should have advised you of that and asked you to stop by the desk after the second night so we could re-code your key. Housekeeping should provide services daily unless there is a "do not disturb" on a guests door. I will be reviewing your comments with the team to ensure we do a better job. I will also speak with the concierge to ensure guests are not continuously pressured when they are not interested. We very much appreciate your business and do hope you will visit us again when in the Virginia Beach area.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel is about a mile to beach - convenient shuttle that runs on hour and 1/2 hour. No laundry facilities which was surprising and disappointing. Called upon arrival for refrigerator and it took me 3 calls before anyone would answer the phone. I did eventually get the refrigerator. TV remote batteries needed replacing. Frustrating trying to get TV to work until I realized new batteries were needed for remote. Food in restaurant was fair - I ordered omelet which took 30 minutes. Bar on Friday night had a nice guitar player - very enjoyable. I would have preferred to stay at the Hampton Inn 10 miles away next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank saldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize that we do not have laundry facilities. We do our best to note all of our amenities on our website so guest are not surprised. We do offer same day valet laundry services. I am also sorry that it took multiples calls to request a refrigerator as that certainly should have been handled on the first call. I'm sorry as well for the batteries dying in your remote. We do have live entertainment each Thursday in our restaurant and I'm glad you enjoyed the musician. We will be working hard to improve our service and product and do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The renovation is done and items in the past have now been addressed such as really slow elevators. the room was the cleanest I've stayed at in my last few visits to this property. My only issues was with the wait at max and Erma's but as for the hotel they did great.
FYI, they offer free shuttle every 30 min to the beach and have lots of parking. Good size indoor pool for the kids and huge breakfast options. Don't like that the rooms door slams loudly. They should add stoppers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have been working hard over the last year to improve the property and service. We appreciate you recognizing our improvements. We will be looking into the "door slamming" issue to find a fix. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were booked at this location, for a college friends wedding. The check in/out process was awesome, the room was great with view, and close to beach. Would definitely book again, and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing