We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Powhatan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in Virginia Beach twice now and I have loved it equally both times! The staff is very friendly. The hotel is very, very nice and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the compliments. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was nice and average cleaness.They charge me & my wife for a two nite stay that was discounted some.The hotel doors to the room were very noise thru out the nite.The would'nt drain right.I didnt think it was worth the money...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbarjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will be sharing your feedback with our team so we can make improvements.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff was very helpful at check-in and the cookies area nice touch. The room itself was very nice and clean , however the bed was a big disappointment and nowhere near the quality level that should be expected at a doubletree hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable and when we lay down on the bed our heads were lower than our feet, plus if you got to close the side, you might just roll off due to no support. The restaurant has gone downhill since last year, with poor service and subpar food. Once agin , not the level that you would expect from a doubletree hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see our staff was helpful and your room was nice and clean. I am sorry the bed was not up to par. Our engineering and housekeeping teams are already taking action to replace the bed. I also apologize for the deficiencies in the restaurant. I have shared your comments with our team and you will see improvement on your next visit. We appreciate and value feedback such as yours as it allows us to continuously improve our product and service.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is fantastic! When I first checked in, Kyle (sp?) was so friendly! He took the time to learn my name and the check-in process was a breeze! I did have a problem with my original room, but Baily took care of the situation switching me over to another room! When I was checking out, Kyle was there again, and took care of me yet again. I really hate to complain, but they did a great job handling everything, Everyone at the front desk was super friendly, and took their time to address each situation! Thank you so much!
My boyfriend and I did not mind the walk from the hotel to the beach and back. FYI, it is about a mile down from the hotel. If you dislike walking, they offer a comp shuttle from the hotel to the beach (runs every half hour)! Parking is also free at the hotel, and they'll write you up a pass so you don't get towed. Oh and it's a DoubleTree, do not forget about their yummy cookies at check-in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahhhchooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was happy to see you had a good stay and our team took great care of you. I do apologize for any issues you may have experienced. We do our best to Create A Rewarding Experience (we call the CARE) for each guest and I am pleased to see we showed our "CARE" culture to you on this visit. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent overall experience. Amenities, including the room, gym, reception area, etc., were clean and welcoming. The service, from check-in to housekeeping, to check-out, was excellent. The food at the restaurant is good, but service needs much improvement. It took well over an hour to be served when the restaurant was not close to capacity. That was the single blight during an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rawle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the slow service in the restaurant. I will be working with the restaurant team to improve staffing and service. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the weekend before Memorial Day weekend. We could not find any hotels available in the area due to several events going on in the area. We stumbled on this hotel while driving around and they had rooms available at a better rate than some of the holes in the wall hotels on the strip. The room was very clean and updated. They offer a nice mini fridge with a microwave and coffee maker. Nothing extra fancy but for the price it was a great stay. The staff was friendly and they are about only 8 blocks from the beach. I recommend this place for families who want the beach trip without breaking your pockets and without the craziness of the strip hotels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nee167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your business and recommendation to others. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel has a great NICE staff. They are willing to help you out with what you need. However, they are soo short staffed that the staff can only help with so much. I have stayed there for about 6 weeks total and each visit is the same thing. SHORT STAFFED, especially in the Max and Ermas part. The staff in the restaurant runs around like crazy trying their best but its never enough. I have ate at the restaurant about 10 times and I have only ONCE got the cookies that I ordered in less than an hour. Half of the times I do end up leaving because the waitress or waiter forgets to put the order in. I do not blame the staff for the issues. It truly comes from the management and not hiring the appropriate people. This place is such a nice environment but its ruined by stressed out staff members.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Britni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for the poor experience you had in our restaurant. I will be reviewing your comments with our management team so we can take action to ensure better staffing. We appreciate such feedback and use it to continuously improve our product and service. I do hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to the Virginia Beach area.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing