We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“February in VA Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“February in VA Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spent President's Day week in Va Beach for a business trip. I found this Double Tree extremely accomodating. In particular, I especially felt welcomed by Baily's reception at the front desk. She has an awesome personality, which set a positive tone for the whole trip. The hotel is very close (3-min drive) to key restaurants, pubs, and night life on Pacific Ave. The restaurant in the Double Tree, Max & Ermas, is a fun place to eat and socialize. It's attached to the hotel so when you exit the elavator you walk right into the nice restaurant / bar. I ate two meals there and enjoyed the food selection. The prices was reasonable and fair. The food quality was excellent. I recommend the Talapia or Philly Cheesesteak. Their happy hour specials bring in big crowds, due to the low prices for a pint of beer. If you want to step outside the Max&Erma's bar for some fresh air there is a large furnished patio to accomodate the guests. I had a good conversation with the bar tender named Brewer. He's very knowledgable about bourbon. I also used the fitness center. They have dumbells from 5-50lbs, a cable weight machine, and plenty of modern cardio machines with attached TVs. It's also a spacious fitness center, which means not feeling boxed in. I honestly had three above average workouts while staying at the hotel. From the beginning, the reception (thanks Baily) set a good tone and I stayed on that vibe for the 5-days and 4-nights I was a guest. The rooms are quiet, well decorated, and nicely furnished. Check this place out, the overall appearance of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Victor_M36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your comments with our team so we can continue to exceed our guest's expectations. We hope to have you stay again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    366
    232
    122
    109
See reviews for
377
249
76
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our check-in was scheduled for 3pm. At 3pm, we drove to the hotel from a local event. The room was not ready. They gave us cookies. At 4:30 we drove back on the way to a dinner that was scheduled off site to drop our bags off. The room was ready but they could not give us the key because the floor "Supervisor" had to check the room for excellence. Apparently the staff had been in a meeting all afternoon. Bad timing! They gave us more cookies with an apology. So, we left for dinner to meet our group, still not checked in. This was on the Honors floor for their special loyal guests! When we finally got in, way later, it was a clean and well decorated place to sleep. Didn't like the gap between the carpet and the door. All else was fine for the two days we were there. The bar was GREAT! Joe was the best bartender ever! The restaurant for lunch was very good! The restaurant was OK for breakfast. The "free" Honors level breakfast consisted of muffins, cereal and toast. If you wanted hot stuff like eggs it costs about $4 extra per person. Other than the hotel being really close to the Conference Center, it was nothing that stood out as being far above the standard clean room for sleeping.

Room Tip: Lots of (Navy??) fighter low flying jet noise if you are on the top floor. WOW are they loud! They d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldestbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We value feedback such as yours as it allows us to continuously improve our service and product. I am very sorry for the delay you experienced when checking in. I will be reviewing your comments with our team so we can ensure corrections are made moving forward. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
455 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed recently at this hotel adjacent to the Pavilion Convention Center in Virginia Beach. It was a great property with an excellent location for business travelers as well as vacationers going to the beach.

My room featured a coffee maker, flat screen tv, iron/ironing board and was immaculately clean. The first room I was given had a toilet that continually turned itself off and on so the front desk receptionist,Bayly, gave me another room right across the hall and all was solved. Both her and Jessica the day receptionist were pleasant and very helpful. And the Cookies they handed out were amazingly good.

I also enjoyed the indoor heated pool which was very clean and well maintained and not crowded at all.

Plus the hotel had a Max & Erma's Restaurant in the lobby which featured a good fare of food. If there was one thing the restaurant should do , it should offer the breakfast buffet at a more reasonable cost to hotel patrons.( $11.99 for breakfast is a little on the high side.)

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Va. Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our team was helpful and pleasant. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Was over all I nice stay for my family.. The free Breakfast is a BIG JOKE!! Was just a few blocks from the beach. Some nice places to eat breakfast close by which you will need!!! Get use t ohearing jets all the tiem but is expected being so close to a Navy Jet base!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As a Hilton Honors Diamond member one of your benefits is you receive complimentary continental breakfast for you and a guest. I am sorry you found the continental breakfast to be below expectations. I will be sharing your comments with our team and Doubletree so we can make improvements. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Several of the members of our team were told we'd have refrigerators and microwaves so we brought food with us, but none of our rooms had these. Told our team could get breakfast in the lobby, but it was cleaned up before the time stated on our brochure. Thought is was expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for any miscommunication regarding the availability of refrigerators and microwaves. While our website advises these items are on request and subject to availability, the rooms for your groups were booked via a housing agency that may not have relayed this information correctly. We did offer your group a complimentary "grab and go" breakfast in the lobby each day from 6am until 10am, which were the times provided to the meeting planner. We will be working hard to be more than "just OK" as our goal is to consistently exceed our guest's expectations.

Thanks
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORFOLK, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

When setting the reservation the hostess was very nice and helpful. i enjoyed the room the beds were so comfortable. The rooms was neat and i love the mirror that was on the wall. i would not mind staying again when i go on vacation in another state.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Radiiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the compliments and can't wait to welcome you back again.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The stay was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not have any problems during our stay. We would recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to the Virginia Beach area. This hotel is very close to stores and popular restaurants. The only problem was no refrigerator or microwave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the Doubletree Virginia Beach. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing