We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

At check-in, room was not available however front desk compensated with breakfast for all room quests. Appreciated the willingness of staff to to immediately rectify the accomodation change. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I am happy to see you had an enjoyable experience and that our team was able to accommodate your change in room type. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It's filthy, not well maintained and the restaurant is a joke. I was stuck there for four nights for a fencing tournament. I'll never do it again. If you like fixtures that are falling off walls, stained tubs, dirty toilets and sticky bathroom floors - go for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I am so sorry you had a less then stellar experience. I can assure you that is not the norm for the Doubletree Virginia Beach. You noted on your survey to Doubletree that you did not report the problems. Please always let us know if anything does not meet your expectations. I can assure you we will always "make it right". I have shared your comments with the team and we have already corrected the deficiencies in your room. We want each and every guest to have great experience and I am sorry we failed you on this visit.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Room and staff... A plus. Management...you are fired!
Went to bar to have a cocktail and
Bar was out of many staples that a bar should have. Sorry, but a Hilton should be better than a Motel 8. Totally unacceptable! On a good note...Joe, the bartender; should be the hotel manager. Thanks for great service in a very limited bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dave2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
In my direct email exchange, you mentioned that the bar was out of single malt scotches on your visit. I am very sorry we were out of that particular type of liquor. We try to carry a large variety of beverage options and do our best to always have an ample stock on hand. I have shared your comments with our food and beverage team so they can review their inventory levels to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The stay was average the restaurant was unprepared for the amount of people attending the convention center. Although one waitress Maria was GREAT! The only saving grace of the nightmare of sitting there without service and nothing close by to grab a meal in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am so sorry for the less than satisfactory restaurant experience. We should have been better prepared. We will be working hard to improve and do hope you will visit again.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our stay was pleasant and very convenient for accessing the Convention Center.

The reason I am not giving 5 stars however is because the vent fan in our bathroom did not work and the hotel was not responsive to our complaints.

We called the first night of our stay to report the broken vent fan and the front desk said they would send someone up that night. We waited up but no one ever came. We found out from another guest the next day that there is no night maintenance crew. So it was misleading to tell us someone was coming up that night.

Even though we followed up with several other requests for the vent fan to be repaired during our three night stay, it never was. Neither did we have any indication that maintenance ever visited our room to attempt to repair the vent fan.

Room Tip: Make sure everything important works before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for our lack of follow up regarding the bathroom fan. The fans in our bathrooms run continuously via motors/fans on the roof of the hotel. Our team should have communicated with you better and we will certainly be working to improve in that regard. We do hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Place was spotless and beds were comfortable. Only complaint I have is not with hotel but the restaurant in it. The club sandwich was $10 and not that great. I know there is a premium for hotel food but a club is an easy sandwich and for $10 it should be good. Overall I would return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bowti350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and will be back. I will be sharing your comments with our restaurant team regarding the club sandwich so we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My tub was backed up for 90% of my stay. There were these big bugs that were capable of flying crawling on the lamp. The only thing that I enjoyed about my stay was the free chocolate chip cookies that you get when you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I am so sorry to see you had a less than satisfactory experience. I have shared your comments with our team so we can take action to improve. We have had our pest control company out as well to investigate the pest issue you mentioned. While they could not find evidence of the pests you mention, we did have them treat the area anyway. Please always let us know immediately if you ever have an issue and we will "make it right" immediately.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing