We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was a bit disappointed by this HIlton property.. just not up to the usual standards. The young man at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant, but my room was worn and tired looking. Much of the paint was peeling and the heater was so loud every time it came on, I couldn't sleep - I finally just turned it way down. The value was good for that area but I'll choose another property next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justpeachy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. "Just average" is definitely not our goal. I will be sharing your comments with our team so we can correct the paint and a/c issue you experienced. Please always feel free to bring any deficiencies to our attention while you are still at the hotel and we will always make it right. We are continuously updating the property and I do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    366
    232
    123
    109
See reviews for
378
249
76
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our third NYE at the DoubleTree. Cocktail hour, bar, dinner, band all FANTASTIC!

The hotel itself is being renovated and we were on one of the older floors, so the room was a bit worn. Bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate. Pool area was a bit overchlorinated, but beter safe than sorry.
Hotel staff was pleasant and very helpful. We'll return for NYE!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccacovb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. Happy to see you had a great time at our New Year's Eve Gala. We are continuously updating the property with more renovations taking place right now. We look forward to seeing you at next year's event (if not sooner).

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

we picked this hotel for the location to where our family lived. it was very clean and staff was very friendly. the only 2 items that we were disappointed about was that there was no complimentary breakfast nor did the room have a small refrigerator like most hotel rooms have.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Like all full service hotels, we offer a variety of breakfast options in our restaurant at a variety of price points. I'm sorry we do not have refrigerators on our rooms. We do our best to list our amenities and restaurant options on our website. My apologies for any confusion. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

For the money this is the top hotel in Virginia Beach. We have stayed at several places in Virginia Beach that were more expensive and were not clean. This hotel is always clean and friendliest staff in the beach area. Best bet for your pleasure and your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jewel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is not on beach but it's still conveniently located. The hotel staff was warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel bar offered a great relaxed ambience. Parking was convenient; easy access to main highway in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our staff treated you well. Come back again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Happy 2014!!! This was our 3rd year celebrating New Years at the Double Tree. The staff couldn't have been nicer - the banquet manager even found some party hats, necklaces, etc., for my grandchildren which was amazing! The "Double Tree cookies are always sooo delicious, warm and gooey!!!!!

The hotel ball room and entrance way was decorated beautifully. Cocktail hour started at 7:00pm. The cocktail hour food was very good - delicious shrimp and a variety of other items. We enjoyed the cocktail hour food much better than the dinner but that was only our opinion. This year the cocktail hour food was better than previous years. The entree filet was very good but the crab cakes were cold and unappetizing. Getting the food out to the guests is very slow. The tables closest to the kitchen got their food first. They were totally done eating before we even got served (we were on the other side of the room). The band started playing at 9:00pm and we were just beginning to be served. Also noticed that the used glasses weren't removed and water wasn't replenished. I should have asked for more water but I didn't. The unlimited alcohol was just that - great bartenders and super strong drinks! Hot Cakes was the band who played. They do a great job and sound fantastic. The dance floor was packed so my husband and I found a corner with space enough for us to dance but unfortunately it was on the carpet which isn't the best for dancing. Would be nice if the dance floor was a lot bigger but I must say, this was a dancing crowd!!!

The gala also included an overnight stay with late checkout. We noticed new carpet and new bright lights in the hallway as well as our room being renovated. The only negatives in the room were: toilet seat needed to be replaced, poor lighting for applying make-up (lighting wasn't bright enough) and no magnifying mirror. The water pressure is very strong in the sink and in the shower. Beds and pillows were super comfy!

Did not eat breakfast at Max & Emma's.........

All in all had a great time! Please note, this review is just the opinion of my husband and myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannyoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was happy to see how much you enjoyed our New Year's Eve Gala and thank you for the feedback. This is one of our larger events each year and feedback such as yours allows us to ensure improvements are made each year. The band Hot Cakes will be back next year! We hope to see you again next year (and hopefully sooner).

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent staff, very happy and pleasing; room service one hour late; location pictures on website were deceptive regarding location to the water; cookies were a nice touch; lobby was awesome; parking good; fitness room great

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for your room service being late. I am sorry that you felt our photos were deceptive. We do state on our site that we are 9 blocks from the ocean, however we do have photos of the surrounding area (including the beach). Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff and building. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks,
John Zirkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing