We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, but far from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
307 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Close to the beach, but far from the crowds”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This hotel is not on the beach, but it is so close, that you do not miss the crowds and noise that accompanies those beachfront hotels. The staff is very friendly. I had an issue with my room key, but the staff worked very hard to resolve this for me in a timely fashion.
The Max and Erma's is great for happy hour. The bar staff is very friendly and eager to serve.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crazyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    371
    233
    125
    113
See reviews for
385
252
79
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and have had good and bad experiences. However, my most recent stays have been very good. The hotel has undergone a renovation, so the rooms are more modern, clean, and have an overall better feel that they once did. I would not stay here if I wanted to be on the beach -- it is several blocks away and is not a "beachy" hotel. It is the perfect palce to stay if in town for a conference or event at the Va Beach Convention Center, which is 1 block away. The staff has always been friendly and the food at Max and Ermas is good . . .even better when served through room service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrae1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I read some poor reviews on this Hotel and was hoping not to get it on my Priceline bid. It turned out that we were extremely happy with it.

The staff was extremely nice. The furniture and rooms were very nice for a 3 star, and the location wasn't bad, about 8 blocks from the beach. The fitness room was small but had new equipment, and the (indoor) pool looked pretty good. One nice feature I noticed was coin operated washers and dryers on some floors, which comes in handy for a longer stay. All in all a pretty darn good hotel.

One warning for Priceline customers though - a smoking/non-smoking room is not guaranteed by Priceline. Since a summer weekend is the busiest time in VA Beach, the Doubletree didn't have a NS room for us. Luckily you could barely smell smoke in our room, especially after they ran an ionizer while we were out at dinner, but I would think twice before using Priceline to book a hotel in states that still have smoking rooms (at least during a busy time of year).

  • Liked — staff, room furnishings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We booked this property because they had a discounted Hilton Honors reward. We only stayed for one evening on our way to the Outer Banks.

We were aware that the property is not located near the beach and that did not matter to us. It is an older hotel which they have tried to update. They offered cookies upon check-in which my husband liked. The lobby area is nice. I wasn't thrilled with seeing dogs walking through the hotel and doing their business near the hotel entrance.

They did upgrade us to a two bedroom suite which we appreciated. It was large but even though there were some updates it still seemed old to me. The sofa bed cushions were torn and the woodwork in the bathroom had damage at the bottom. I wonder if an animal was kept there and tried to claw it's way out.

I think if you want to travel with your pet it's probably an o.k. place to stay. Personally, I don't care to share a room that has been previously been occupied by dogs.

We would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Reduced Hilton Honors Reward
  • Disliked — The fact that dogs were permitted.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OfcSupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

This hotel at best is average. If you are going to stay at a Hilton property, please fork over the extra cash and stay at the Hilton that is truly ocean front property. This Double Tree Property is 8 blocks away from the beach! In addition, there is NO outdoor pool. The "pool" is indoor and it looks more like a bath tub than a pool. It was hotter in the pool area than it was outside. Aside from this, the concierge constantly tries to sell time shares. This guy does not give up and he will bother you the entire time you are there. On a nice note, the rooms were very clean and the housekeepers did an amazing job of keeping our rooms clean and making sure that we had clean towels.

  • Liked — The Beds
  • Disliked — Too far from Beach and the pool was disgusting
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DianneWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

beds were wonderful...cookies were hot ...staff wonderful...location adequate ...easy walk to beach ...on bus line if you must be transported...max and erma's restaurant was reasonably priced , beautifully prepared,.great menu...pool was very clean, fitness room adequate...very enjoyable stay

  • Liked — bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed at the Doubletree Virginia Beach while on business for a small trade show at the convention center next door.

I did have a room at the end of hallway so it was relatively quiet.

The room was in okay shape, the bathroom could use an update.

The hotel is convenient if you have business at the convention center as it is next door and about a three minute walk, however there is really no stores or restaurants within walking distance.

If you are going to Virginia Beach on vacation I would not recommend this hotel as it is no where near the beach.

There is a restaurant in the hotel ... just average at best, however as a Gold Hilton member I did get comp breakfast buffet.

I would stay there again if I had business in the convention center.

The Doubletree cookies were good.

  • Liked — convenience to convention center
  • Disliked — not convenient to restaurants or stores
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,865 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing