We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and staff, Wi-Fi internet was a pain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel and staff, Wi-Fi internet was a pain”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here at the recommendation of a colleague. The hotel had some construction going on next door with a new building of some type going up, so the parking lot was crowded, loud, and possibly dangerous.

The room I had was okay, roomy, but in need of a little updating. The air/heating unit was old, it had apparently been updated in the past but became broken, and so the old fashioned on the floor by the window model with turn dial was what was provided.

The Wi-Fi internet was a constant pain, disconnecting, with sketchy service. It was free for me since I am a Hilton Honors member, but I had to had the $9.95 charge per day removed from my bill before checking out as it added it to my room anyway.

I might stay here again, though Virginia Beach has plenty of hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowhand1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Slowhand1527:
Thank you for your review. Fortunately, the construction next door will be wrapping up soon, and we are increasing the parking availability on two sides of our building for our guests. We recently increased our internet band width, but based on your comments we are again researching this issue so connectivity can be fast and easy for all guests.
Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff here is great! The rooms are large and comfortable. Restaurant is good and reasonably priced. The Convention Center is just across the parking lot. In town for USA Fencing's NAC tournament. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Fencin:
We are so glad you stayed with us during the fencing tournament. I'm please you enjoyed your room and our Max & Erma's restaurant. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay at this hotel when I come to VA Beach for races. It is within a block of the Convention Center, which makes packet pick up easy. It is also at the start line for the Wicked 10k and Surfin Santa 10 Miler. It is not on the beach, but during the beach season the hotel provides free shuttle service to the beach. To walk from the beach to the hotel takes about 17 minutes, a nice stroll. The rooms are clean, I find in the off season a bit musty, spruced up with room freshner, but okay. The staff are some of the nicest people and go out of their way to accomodate. My only complaint I ever have with this hotel is the internet is terrible. The connection is slow and tends to drop. Other than that, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clamshell0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear clamshell0121:
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. We so enjoy having the race participants stay with us for several races including the Wicked, Surfin Santa, Shamrock and Rock and Roll. We recently increased our internet band width in an effort to improve the connectivity for our guests. You should see an improvement during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Came to town for Beach Wedding. 1st time in VA Beach, while I was not impressed with the beach it self, the reception I received at this hotel more than made up for it. The lobby and common areas are lovely. We arrived in the middle of the night and the staff was warm and friendly, which helped after a long drive. The next morning staff went out of the way to assist us in locating the facility the wedding was held at. And upon our return we were once again greeted by friendly staff and excellent customer service. Additionally the our house keeper was wonderful and he did an excellent job of anticipating our need for extra towels and toiletries during out stay. During the warm months the hotel offers a free shuttle to the beach which is great if you don’t wish to drive. Overall this was a wonderful experience for a first time visit to VA Beach.

Room Tip: They have VIP Floors that are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear S G:
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Virginia Beach and hope that you will be back to see us again soon. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service, and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the warmth of our hospitality.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree on a Saturday night while visiting friends in the area. Overall we enjoyed our experience. Parking is free but a fairly long walk from the front door reception area (not fun in the rain). The front desk clerks were very friendly and offered us the signature free Doubletree cookies both at check-in and check-out. We were upgraded for free to a room on the 12th floor, which is the "HHonors VIP" level. The decor in the room was a bit dated; the furniture and bathroom were showing their age, but the bed and lounge chair were very comfortable. Unlike in many hotels, the high-definition TV actually showed high-definition channels. We liked the location--right off of I-264, not far from the beach, and close to restaurants and shopping on Laskin Road. If you're here without a car, we noticed many taxis cruising nearby. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Rory F:
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and received warm, friendly service from our staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for a convention. The convention center is a couple of blocks from the hotel. I liked the room, but it did smell a bit like air freshener. The bed was great: nice sheets and pillows. My phone did not work, I had could not get the alarm to work on the clock radio, and when I took a shower, the tub filled up 4" - 5" with water. The hallways were not very bright and my key card always needed several attemps to open the door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear oscar1592:
Thank you for taking time to rate us on TripAdvisor! I do apologize that there were problems with the phone and the alarm clock as well as the tub drain. These are issues that should all be prevented. Our Executive Housekeeper has relayed these concerns to our staff and with their continued focus on ensuring that everything in the room is clean and in working order, I'm confident we will do a better job in preventing future guests from having the same experience.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was filled with mold. My allergies were inflamed and I was sick for my entire vacation 1 week. My children were also affected. There was also a lack of service personnel leading to long wait times and rooms not being prepared for our check in time. The disability room was lacking the essentials, (no shower bar or toliet bar). I will never use this hotel brand for any future vacations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lahonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Lahonda C:
I do apologize for the wait to check in as well as the allergy issues you and your family experienced. Our guests' comfort is extremely important, as is providing appropriate accommodations. We have several ADA rooms on property and all are in compliance. However, if there was anything we could have done during your visit to make you more comfortable, we would have done so gladly. Again, I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory and would be grateful for any additional information you can share to ensure all concerns are addressed.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,916 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing