We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Facility But Good Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend--10-6/12 and the hotel was so outdated with stained carpet and walls in the rooms. Mold in the bathrooms and particularly worn furniture. How can you stay in business with a hotel in this awful shape. Rooms smell like bleach masked with air freshener. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. 1.5 stars (generously speaking)!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jrbnupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear jrbnupe:
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We are excited to install new carpeting during our off-season as well as some additional improvements in the guest rooms. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've been staying at this hotel now for just under 7 years. Throughout this time I've been exceptionally pleased with the entire staff, & their willingness to make sure all my needs are taken care of. The hotel is older, however it's clean and comfortable with all new flat screen TV's in every room.

Currently, there is construction going on in the lot adjacent from the hotel, but that is a good thing because it will bring upscale housing to the area, which will bring a better atmosphere to Max & Erma's bar & restaurant.

True, the elevators are very slow & on ocassion they are down to only 1 of 3 because of their constant maintenance requirements. The only fast things about the elevators are the doors. They tend to close before people can exit and enter, so watch your step. However, they do have plans on replacing them. The only thing other than the elevators I'd change is the locks on the doors. The card swiper usually takes 2 or 3 attempts to activate.

So in conclusion, I give the hotel rating very good, and expect over the next year with all the improvements being made to elevate to an excellent rating. I look forward to my stays at the hotel nearly 100 nights a year. It's my home away from home, cozy & comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Mark A:
Thank you for your review. Your comments are amazingly accurate. We are look forward to modernizing the elevators and the upgrade to our guest room lock system is currently underway. We have had the elevator company slow down the doors so they don't close so quickly.
Thank you again for returning to our home away from home for so long. We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent the past weekend at the hotel and for the price I paid, ($200.00 a night) I was very disappointed . It feels and look old and outdated and thats becuase it is! The room had a strong smell of urine and I imagine the previous guest had a dog (animals allowed) that pissed on the carpet. The hotel should be replaced in the carpet in the whole building. .

The lights in the parking lot don't work except for the main entrance. It's a safety issue and the hotel staffed used a "standard line" by saying they'd report it to maintenance. I bought it up with them upon my arrival which was late Friday night and again on Saturday evening. Based on their response, I got the impression that this isssue won't be addressed until a guest is hurt or assaulted. "It's scary and NOT SAFE!!

The staff was pleasant, the hotel is located right off the highway ( 264) and it is also next to the VB convention center and just a couple of miles or less away from the beach.

Next time I'll either pay the extra money and stay at a "broadwalk hotel" or pay less and make a commute to the beach from 20-25 miles out.

This should not be anyone's first chocie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear James J:
Thank you for taking time to share feedback with us, both during your stay and through your review. While we were not able to correct these issues during your stay, we are moving forward with new carpeting in all the guest rooms now that our summer season has passed. We are also expanding our parking area, which includes additional lighting this month. I do apologize that the initial phase of this project impacted your stay.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was the only hotel we could get with my Hilton Honors points during the Neptune Festival in VA Beach. Like other reviewers, we found the walking distance to the oceanfront is longer than advertised, and you go down a sketchy street that I wouldn't want to be on after dark. We were checked into the "VIP floor" but the room smelled so bad (mildew), we asked to be changed. The room we were switched to was no better so we went out to buy some Glade, which lasted about 2 hours each spraying. The furniture was old and worn, the elevators smelled of cigarette smoke and the carpet in our room had cigarette burns. This place needs to be gutted and start all over. If the hotel stay had not been "free", we would have moved.

Room Tip: If you go here, ask for a north side room because the fighters from Air Station Oceana were flying m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Annual_Skier:
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I do apologize that you did no enjoy your stay. We are looking to replace guest room carpet as well as the soft seating in the guest rooms this winter, which will completely refresh the rooms. I do hope you will stay with us again soon to experience the new things we are so looking forward to providing.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We found this Doubletree clean and good price. It was next door to the Convention Center which was convenient for us attending the Convention Center. A few complaints... It is not as close to the beach as the advertisement makes it sound, we definitely drove to the shore. Also the elevators were extremely slow and one wasn't even working. If loud planes are an issue with you, then I would not suggest staying there, but then again the loud jet planes were flying all over the whole weekend so I doubt any hotel was peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember06172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear B S:
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your concerns. The elevators are slower than we would like, which is one of the reasons we are looking into replacement options. We do provide a shuttle to the beach from Memorial Day through Labor Day, and this year we extended that service an additional week because of its popularity. You are also on point with the jets - air show weekends are awesome to watch and can be a bit loud.
Thank you again for your comments,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and always helpful, but it seemed the circumstances of the corporate rules, they couldn't be as helpful as they wanted. For example, we found mold in our room and the cleaning staff told us they weren't allowed to clean it and that it was a job for maintainance. Overall, the accommodations were not worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroderick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear aroderick18:
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I'm not sure what corporate rules would prevent a team member from assisting our guests, but I can assure you that will always be our primary objective - providing the special comforts and acts of kindness that make each guest's stay memorable.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the double tree for the rock and roll 1/2 marathon. Or the expo and the race the location was excellent. The hotel however was in desperate need of updating. The lobby and resturant looked newer but the rooms were a little worn. The hotel also had an smell of cigarette smoke which as a runner was hard to stomach. The smell got better or maybe we got used to it. Even with this said I would stay at this hotel again if I was racing because of the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear AbbyOB:
Thank you for staying with us for race day! We are always so please to host runners and organizers for the Rock 'n Roll half marathon and look forward to this partnership for a long time to come. We are looking forward to some guest room updates, in addition to the new TVs and bedding package already in place. See you again next year!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,076 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,036 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oceanfront
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oce...
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $97 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing