We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent hotel but great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Consistent hotel but great staff”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Awesome staff. Very Helpful and friendly staff. Hotel was consistent with the brand. Recommended

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ricanranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Ricanranger:
Thank you for your review and recommendation. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here many times in the past and the pool was getting a new face but the Hilton website did not say this and had pics of a nice pool. The smell from the paint and stain made me dizzy and the parking lot is also being fixe so the walk is very far from the entrance. THe resturaunt staff is asleep and its dirty. THe room are OK with grea beds. Just dated and could use a facelift. Front desk staff is very nice and the location is only a few blocks from the ocean with great rates. The f15 will fly right by your room so expect the noise but enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Lower rooms will not here the jet noise but the sweets up high floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Ron M:
Thank you for your review. The pool was repaired in early June, and I apologize that it impacted your stay. We are thrilled that it complete and it seems to be even more popular than ever! We've also completed the new parking in front of the property and look forward to adding even more parking in the fall. Thank you again for taking time to review our property. We hope to have you visit us again!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pros

- Clean
- Shuttle service to beach
- Proximity to highway 265

Cons

- Distance from beach front boardwalk
- Shuttle service to beach does not run late
- WiFi is not free
- Hallways are poorly lit and smell of mildew
- Thin walls, some of which in the bathroom had water damage

Bottom line: Would not recommend unless you are a corporate traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhannah-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Jhannah-us:
Thank you for your succinct review. While we do have quite a few corporate travelers, we also cater to families with our onsite Max & Erma's restaurant and by remaining pet friendly.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have a lot of business in Va Bch & this hotel is USUALLY $55 which is unheard of for a doubletree,our first time staying there it was apparent why it was cheap! They had construction going on in parking lot so you couldn't park close..the rooms have nice flat screens & good cable channels but are very old. & dated..the beds are not the best either I've had 2 now that sagged in the middle & we are not big people FYI..some bathrooms in the rooms are nice & some are dated as well..the front desk are not professional usually short tempered even rude! They DEF don't pride themselves on customer service here! Its not far from the beach but def is not on the water it's next to the Convention Center which is why despite my unfavorable opinion of the Hotel it's very convenient for work...Although this last trip killed me to spend the RIDICULOUS $199/nt they wanted due to the convention & it being prime season for the area! The Westin was cheaper but unfortunately it's much further & we had early mornings @ the convention...If you stay off season & get the $55/nt rate take it cuz that's all you should pay for this disappointing Doubletree

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingslvr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Wingslvr76:
Thank you for your comments regarding our guest room amenities and the convenience to the Convention Center. Like all hotels, our rates do fluctuate based on the time of year. With summer our prime season, rates will always be higher than in the off season.
Perhaps we will see you again in the off-season.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

When you hear Doubletree or Hilton you automatically think "classy". The lobby is decieving as to what lies beyond those elevator doors! The lobby and staff were great but...after stepping on the elevator I cringed! The interior was slapped together and filthy! If you look inside the crack of the doors you see old paint job with graffiti. In denial we step off the elevator to locate our room. The halls were eerily dim and carpet didn't seem decent at all. Now the room-the housekeepers are obviously to blame for trash left in inconspicuos places, globs of hair found in tub under soap dish, residue on sink spout, stains on sheets and comforter. Window looked as if someone sprayed mud on it. The only positive was Max and Ermas room service which was mind blowingly delicious!! Overall this place was half assed put together and disappointing! HOWEVER, I will give credit for the delicious complimentary cookies upon check-in!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boobaby311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Boobaby311:
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Max and Erma's room service and our delicious DoubleTree cookies. I do wish the rest of your experience would have been equally as pleasant. The cleanliness issues you mentioned with your room and elevator are alarming, and have already been corrected. In addition, we have had the windows of our 12-story building cleaned so our guests can enjoy the wonderful views. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights here for a class reunion. The property is showing it's age, but was overall clean.
Our room was clean, but did have a door to the room next door and neighbors were a little loud late one evening.
The staff gets major kudos for attitude and attentiveness to issues.
We had breakfast in the restaurant and chose the buffet. Usual buffet choices, and hot items were fresh and hot. Wait staff checked back often.
The property only has an indoor pool, but does have a deck outside with a few loungers. Cabs are plentiful, and the hotel offers a shuttle to the beach. We would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear VAcruiselover:
Thank you for your review. Your compliments to our staff have been shared and comments about the property are appreciated. Several of the guests with your reunion did stay with us, and we were very excited you chose our location for this important event.
Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here peak season (july 4th) because it was significantly cheaper than the hundreds of oceanfront hotels available. I also used to live in the area and I knew how easy it was to get to the beach from here (straight down 19th). Upon first glance, everything is exceptional. Front desk people were extremley happy and helpful and "upgraded" us to the VIP level...11th floor. Always be suspicous when you are upgraded for no reason. Anyway, our room, 1133 was fine. I think it used to be a handicapped room because the bathroom mirror was about 4 feet off the ground....spread throughout the room in very odd places were power strips and the AC was constantly having trouble. I realize these are all petty things, but there were numerous other things that just began to add up for our 5 night stay. One particular instance, was when we left for the day, we would come back and there would be a "do not disturb" sign on our door. So our room got cleaned only one day and that was because they happened to be on our floor when we were there once. It was very odd. Anyway, the location is good if you dont want to be on the strip (8 blocks or so away) and the price was competitive. the restaurant downstairs (Max and Erma's) was not fantastic, but better than most hotel food options. Bottom line, this is a mediocre establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpatridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear jpatridge:
Thank you for your review and for complimenting our staff. As you indicated, it is the little things that matter, and when there are enough little things that are not quite right they have a big impact. We have addressed and corrected the issues you mentioned in the room you occupied. The "Do Not Disturb" sign is a mystery to me, but one we will investigate. Thank you again for this feedback and for giving us the opportunity to continue to improve our product.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing