We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have a lot of business in Va Bch & this hotel is USUALLY $55 which is unheard of for a doubletree,our first time staying there it was apparent why it was cheap! They had construction going on in parking lot so you couldn't park close..the rooms have nice flat screens & good cable channels but are very old. & dated..the beds are not the best either I've had 2 now that sagged in the middle & we are not big people FYI..some bathrooms in the rooms are nice & some are dated as well..the front desk are not professional usually short tempered even rude! They DEF don't pride themselves on customer service here! Its not far from the beach but def is not on the water it's next to the Convention Center which is why despite my unfavorable opinion of the Hotel it's very convenient for work...Although this last trip killed me to spend the RIDICULOUS $199/nt they wanted due to the convention & it being prime season for the area! The Westin was cheaper but unfortunately it's much further & we had early mornings @ the convention...If you stay off season & get the $55/nt rate take it cuz that's all you should pay for this disappointing Doubletree

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingslvr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Wingslvr76:
Thank you for your comments regarding our guest room amenities and the convenience to the Convention Center. Like all hotels, our rates do fluctuate based on the time of year. With summer our prime season, rates will always be higher than in the off season.
Perhaps we will see you again in the off-season.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

When you hear Doubletree or Hilton you automatically think "classy". The lobby is decieving as to what lies beyond those elevator doors! The lobby and staff were great but...after stepping on the elevator I cringed! The interior was slapped together and filthy! If you look inside the crack of the doors you see old paint job with graffiti. In denial we step off the elevator to locate our room. The halls were eerily dim and carpet didn't seem decent at all. Now the room-the housekeepers are obviously to blame for trash left in inconspicuos places, globs of hair found in tub under soap dish, residue on sink spout, stains on sheets and comforter. Window looked as if someone sprayed mud on it. The only positive was Max and Ermas room service which was mind blowingly delicious!! Overall this place was half assed put together and disappointing! HOWEVER, I will give credit for the delicious complimentary cookies upon check-in!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boobaby311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Boobaby311:
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Max and Erma's room service and our delicious DoubleTree cookies. I do wish the rest of your experience would have been equally as pleasant. The cleanliness issues you mentioned with your room and elevator are alarming, and have already been corrected. In addition, we have had the windows of our 12-story building cleaned so our guests can enjoy the wonderful views. Thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights here for a class reunion. The property is showing it's age, but was overall clean.
Our room was clean, but did have a door to the room next door and neighbors were a little loud late one evening.
The staff gets major kudos for attitude and attentiveness to issues.
We had breakfast in the restaurant and chose the buffet. Usual buffet choices, and hot items were fresh and hot. Wait staff checked back often.
The property only has an indoor pool, but does have a deck outside with a few loungers. Cabs are plentiful, and the hotel offers a shuttle to the beach. We would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear VAcruiselover:
Thank you for your review. Your compliments to our staff have been shared and comments about the property are appreciated. Several of the guests with your reunion did stay with us, and we were very excited you chose our location for this important event.
Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here peak season (july 4th) because it was significantly cheaper than the hundreds of oceanfront hotels available. I also used to live in the area and I knew how easy it was to get to the beach from here (straight down 19th). Upon first glance, everything is exceptional. Front desk people were extremley happy and helpful and "upgraded" us to the VIP level...11th floor. Always be suspicous when you are upgraded for no reason. Anyway, our room, 1133 was fine. I think it used to be a handicapped room because the bathroom mirror was about 4 feet off the ground....spread throughout the room in very odd places were power strips and the AC was constantly having trouble. I realize these are all petty things, but there were numerous other things that just began to add up for our 5 night stay. One particular instance, was when we left for the day, we would come back and there would be a "do not disturb" sign on our door. So our room got cleaned only one day and that was because they happened to be on our floor when we were there once. It was very odd. Anyway, the location is good if you dont want to be on the strip (8 blocks or so away) and the price was competitive. the restaurant downstairs (Max and Erma's) was not fantastic, but better than most hotel food options. Bottom line, this is a mediocre establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpatridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear jpatridge:
Thank you for your review and for complimenting our staff. As you indicated, it is the little things that matter, and when there are enough little things that are not quite right they have a big impact. We have addressed and corrected the issues you mentioned in the room you occupied. The "Do Not Disturb" sign is a mystery to me, but one we will investigate. Thank you again for this feedback and for giving us the opportunity to continue to improve our product.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked a room at the DoubleTree for a last minute weekend getaway. Poor Decision :( Front Desk staff was very uninformative and slightly rude. The room was ok, trash from the previous guest was left under the bed. No hotel info binder in the room, therefore we had no clue what the hotel offered or where anything was located (vending machinces, ice, pool), not even a menu for the resturant. Parking was also a problem, very hard to find a space when returning in the evening. We attempt to have an evening dessert at the resturant at 10:45 and was refused services because the kitchen closes at 11 pm, we explained all we wanted was ice cream and they still would not serve us. Very disappointed for DoubleTree.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsoutherntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear sweetsoutherntravels:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am truly disappointed that you did not have a pleasant stay. We do try to keep the Front Desk staff current on all events in the area in addition to having a fully staffed Concierge Desk to provide information, maps, directions and ticket purchase. Our rooms should all have menus for the lobby restaurant, a Max & Erma's along with hotel information. Not having this information in concerning and will be immediately corrected.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

You know, as much damage control as the manager likes to provide with responses on Trip Advisor, it's a nice effort, but unfortunately, there's just no way around the fact that this property sucks. Don't stay here if you can help it. Even if it's the cheapest place you can find in VA Beach, spend more to stay elsewhere; you'll thank me.

Before I continue my negative rant, I'll say that the staff is all very very friendly, and I really commend them for that, for I'm sure their friendliness gets tested everyday with the multitude of complaints and requests from guests. Here are a few reasons, however, they receive complaints from the guests...From the moment a guest walks in...front desk is understaffed, then once they eventually get their room key (hopefully your room key actually works!), they sit at the elevator for 10 minutes waiting to go up to their room. There are only 3 old, slow elevators for this 11-floor, 292 room property. And never have I ever seen all three of them work (I stayed here for a few weeks while working in town). For goodness sakes, fix the other elevator!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why is it such a problem???? Seems like just one of the many ways this hotel cheaps out. Once you get to your floor and the elevator doors open, you'll smell the lovely smells of the dirty hallways and ancient nasty carpet. Yes, the carpet is disgusting. It's filthy. From years of spring breakers to sand and more sand and little kids' baseball tournament crowds, to dog and pet dander (and urine) to the worst case of humid, almost-wet carpet one has ever seen. The carpet is just awful and stained and should have been replaced/removed years ago. I either had to have shoes on or socks in order to walk in the room. The air conditioner...well there's a thermostat on the wall, but it doesn't work, so you have to control the air with the big window unit. No problem. But it's not automatic, meaning, the fan won't shut off when it reaches your desired temperature. You have to shut the AC on and off all day long. And the internet is as slow as 1997. I could keep going, but what for... If you're a family of 4 trying to squeeze in a small vacation on a tight budget, I can see why this place would be appealing, but look further, there are more properties to choose from. If you're a business traveler like I am, I'm sure you've stayed in much nicer places, so don't lower your standards for this place. Sorry to be so harsh, but unfortunately it's the truth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRRizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear JRRizzle:
Thank you for complimenting our staff. While negative feedback is often difficult to hear, it is important. That is why all comments are read and all complaints are addressed. It's not about damage control on TripAdvisor; it's about correcting deficiencies, additional training and continued diligence. I am truly sorry you were so disappointed with your stay; however, I can assure you each issue is taken seriously.
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We got a good deal for this hotel from Priceline. They originally booked us in a smoking room (those still exist, apparently!) because we booked via a third party, but thankfully they were able to put us in a non-smoking room. I was glad that we saved so much money not staying right on the beach because the beach shuttle was convenient to use and meant that we saved on parking, walking and getting sand in our own vehicle. I also appreciated the water the hotel keeps at the main entrance for thirsty guests. Our room was clean, the the housekeeping staff was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Terra C:
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and our wonderful staff! The complimentary beach shuttle is a great amenity we are so pleased to offer, and in the summer heat I believe providing water for our guests is a must! Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,001 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $99 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing