We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Convenient to Convention Center”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a last minute family event to attend in Virginia Beach and made reservations here because the rate was attractive and the location convenient. The hotel is well maintained and close to the beach, although it is much better suited if you're coming to the convention center, which is within easy walking distance, for an event. We checked in late in the evening and left the next morning so did not try the on-site restaurant. We were given two warm, delicious cookies on check-in, though. The room was spacious, clean and well-kept. Only gripe--unless you're a Hilton Honors member you must pay for wifi, which is an outdated practice and off-putting, to say the least. I could have signed up for Hilton Honors on the spot, except I couldn't get on the Internet--Catch 22. We weren't there long enough to really care about this, but be advised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and found our location to be convenient.
We have passed along your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our rooms to our housekeeping department, and are pleased that you enjoyed our warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookies as well!
Complimentary internet access is truly an amenity that we hope to be able to provide to each of our guests in the future, and we apologize if this may have caused any inconvenience during your stay.
Thank you again for providing this feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future! Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    374
    235
    128
    113
See reviews for
389
256
80
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stay here atleast once every few weeks and we love it! It is beatiful, best beds and pillows, big nice new tvs. Restaurant with room service, pool and fitness center onsite. A gift shop with anything you need if you forgot something and the greatest staff.. everyone is so sweet and it keeps bringing us back. Rates are fair and I have stayed at many places in VB and this is our favorite! Only thing that is a setback is that you have to pay for WIFI in your room and its disappointing but overall an amazing hotel. Best at the beach !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you, truly, for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience(s) here with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach!
We are so pleased to read find our hotel possesses the comforts of home, and that our staff has been able to make such a wonderful impression over your past stays with us.
We look forward to your future stays here at our hotel!
Complimentary wireless internet access is an amenity that we sincerely hope to be able to offer to our guests in the future, and we do apologize that we were unable to offer that at this time.
Thank you again for this feedback, and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stay here when I go to Virginia Beach for business. I always have a great stay. I did get to use the fitness center this time and was pleasantly surprised. All the machines worked great and it was clean. I was early so no towels were available when I went. Rooms were clean and the big screen TV with HD was awesome also. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and business center for printing etc. is available as well. Bar and restaurant available in motel. Plenty of parking for RV's or campers and is right next to the Virginia Beach Pavilion.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the cookie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric34328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide this review about your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach. We are so pleased to see that you have returned to our property, and enjoyed your stay so thoroughly once more! We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest, and we will keep plenty of cookies warm for you!
Thank you again, and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My recent stay at the Double Tree was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and I absolutely LOVE the warm cookies upon arrival. The hotel itself was clean as well as our room, and my favorite part was how comfy the bed was. The temperature in the room was a little hard to regulate but I have to say that was the only semi-issue we had. I would definitely book this hotel again in the future. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach here on TripAdvisor!
We are so incredibly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and found our beds so comfy and our signature warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookies with walnuts to be so delicious! I will certainly speak with our Chief of Engineering regarding the heat regulation within the rooms, however, to be certain that this may be rectified.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, and promise to keep plenty of cookies warm for you! Thank you again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Hannah Murphy
CARE Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I walked into the lobby and my room keys were ready, free internet code given to me, and I was on my way to my room in under 2 minutes with my cookie. The individual at the checkin desk gave me his name and made certain that if there were and problems or questions to call for him by name. The room was large and clean, the bed very comfortable, and there was no noise from the hallway. Checkout was equally fast - dropped off the keys and left for my meetings in town.

Room Tip: Even a room near the elevator was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you, truly, for providing such a glowing review about the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach!
We are so incredibly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly, and that our wonderful staff and facility made such a great impression! We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the future, and providing you with another rewarding hotel experience.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor, and we hope that you have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for New Years Eve party. The party was outstanding, food great, service wonderful, open bar, and good band. The room was clean and neat. Hotel staff was friendly. We had no issues except it is advertised as the Doubletree at the oceanfront. It is not on the beach. It is a bit too far to even walk to the beach. They have separate floors for smoking so it is good for either smoker or non smokers. There is a restaurant in the lobby that has good food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify smoking or non smoking. I believe it is seperated by floors so non smokers don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach for our sparkling New Year's Eve Gala! We appreciate all feedback, and utilize this as our most important tool in our efforts to provide the best service and quality to each of our guests.
We are so truly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and had a great time at our celebration! Though we are directly located on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, during the summer months we offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from the beach for our guests, so that they may enjoy a bit of sun in the fun! We truly hope to welcome you back to our property as our guest another time!
Thank you again, and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am a faithful Hilton family traveler and was shocked at this hotel. I arrived in the evening after a long day of travel from the West Coast. When I arrived and inquired about how late the hotel restaurant was open, I was informed that night was the all employee holiday party and the restaurant was closed. As was the sundries shop. I asked how they had notified guests of this prior to arrival and was told - nope, we're just telling guests as they check in. Hmmm... Employees were smoking outside and the stinky smell was wafting into the lobby.
As I arrived in my room, my welcome letter from the GM had my name typed wrong. The next morning as I headed down to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, I was told by the server that the guest catering team that was in the night before to cook for the party had shut the gas off and no one knew how to turn it back on, so there would be no hot breakfast available. The second morning I went down for breakfast, I was told by a different server that since the hotel & restaurant were "so slow" they wouldn't be offering the hot buffet and that I should plan to order off the menu.
On the postive side, the maintenance staff was very responsive when I asked for someone to fix the SQUEAK I heard every time I opened the door to my room.

Was definitely not the DoubleTree experience to which I am accustomed. Very sad indeed. It's tough to travel for business right before the holidays, but getting such sub-par service makes it even worse.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLC_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTbyHiltonVB_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We absolutely appreciate this candid feedback, as we may utilize this in our efforts to provide the most rewarding experience possible to each of our guests.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the service issues that effected your stay negatively, as we strive to provide the absolute highest level of customer service to each of our guests. Though we were limited during the date of our employee appreciation party, I will certainly be addressing the service issues to be certain that these do not occur in the future.
I am glad to read that our engineering department made such a wonderful impression, however, and will be certain that they are commended for a job well done.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations at another time. If you may have any other questions or concerns, please contact myself at melanie.bowman@doubletreevb.com or our CARE Coordinator, Hannah Murphy, at hmurphy@doubletreevb.com. Thank you again for this feedback, and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Melanie Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
Address: 1900 Pavilion Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Virginia Beach is perfectly located adjacent to the Virginia Beach Convention Center in the resort area of Virginia Beach. The Hotel is just eight blocks from the sand and surf of the beautiful Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Boardwalk. Our newly-appointed, spacious guestrooms set us apart from the others, and feature all the comforts of home with a long list of amenities to include Neutrogena products. For your convenience, we have upgraded the high-speed Internet access that is available in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Enjoy a workout in our Precor® Fitness Center, take a dip in the indoor pool or sunbathe on our sundeck. Our on-site Max & Erma's Restaurant is ready to serve you from sunrise to sundown. Whether you visit for business, vacation or getaway weekend, our friendly, helpful staff at the Doubletree Hotel Virginia Beach looks forward to welcoming you with our special, signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Doubletree Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing