We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the Hampton Standard - But an ok deal at the Halfmarathon Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach during the Halfmarathon weekend (aka Labour Day weekend). The rooms were ok - not quite as nice as the Hampton's are usually.
The only bad experience we had when we asked for a Deposit Box to put our Papers and stuff while we were away to run the Halfmaraton. The night clerk did not seem to have an idea what he was supposed to do. Firstly he wanted to leave our little bag at the registration desk - visible and easy to grab for everybody. Then he searched for the form that has to be filled out for about 10 minutes. Then he searched for the keys. After we told him (for the third time) that we were running out of time he did not even speed up his search. The whole procedure took approximately 20-30 minutes. (And felt like hours.)

Overall - compared to the prices of the Oceanfront hotels - the price perfomance ration was ok. However, if it's not a very busy weekend, I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank someone,too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 528 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed July 7, 2005

I am an avid Hampton Inn lover so you can imagine my dismay when I found one unappealing. My first experience was with how the front desk staff person left me standing at the counter for several minutes while finishing something on the computer. It was very rude. Most customer oriented companies help the "live" customer first. Didn't matter because her customer service was blunt and not warm. A shocker from this chain.

I was also shocked at the cleanliness of the hotel. We asked for a room with a sofa bed and left to give extra time for them to prepare the room. Once we got in ithe room, the sheets were not on the sofa bed, and there was some previous guest leftover "hair" all over the existing sofa mattress cover (yuck!).
Also lots of hair all over the bathroom floor and very nasty caulking around the tub, that screamed needing bleach or replacement.

Despite the warning signs, we ignored it. We left for the beach unfortunately walking past a pile of dirt or swept trash in the hallway. When we came back 4 hours later it was still there! I promptly picked up the phone called the front desk and told them we were leaving and to check us out. They asked what the problems were, I explained, and it didn't matter because the night manager blew us off (Not surprised).

Just prior to calling I had called my Hilton Honors rep to book another hotel and that we would be checking in immediately. It was one we had stayed in before. The other hotel gave us the type of "quality" "cleanliness" and "customer service" we love from this chain. In our 10 years of being Hampton Inn lovers, we have only experienced this from Hampton one other time, 4 years ago in Anaheim, Cal. I'd like it to be several more before I ever run into this again. Thanks for listening.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2004

This is a wonderful hotel with a great staff. Very kind and understanding. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The beds are the softest I've ever slept in. I always have a great time when I stay here, and I'll continue to stay in this hotel for years to come.

4  Thank youngflyflashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank francis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
636 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,192 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,550 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach

Address: 5793 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $92 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach is situated between both cities with easy access to each. We are a short drive from the Norfolk International Airport and Virginia Beach Convention Center. Our hotel is conveniently located to area businesses and military bases, including Northrop Grumman, Riverside Corporate Center, Oceana, and Dam Neck. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing