We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place and Manager Saved the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place and Manager Saved the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was nice and we were there to watch my wife's little sister cheerlead. We had a few issues with miscommunication and the breakfast but after speaking with the manager she took care of everything and made sure I was happy. The only real neg was the sofa bed was not great. I mean its a sofa bed so I don't expect much. The king bed was great. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place and easy access to the highway. If you have a issue ask for the manager she will help you out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fire072902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Fire072902,

Thank you for the great review, I am happy that you enjoyed your visit! Sorry again about the miscommunication at check-in, thanks for letting us make it right.

Hope to see you back for a future stay!

Thanks again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    117
    50
    25
    12
See reviews for
150
83
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was on business in Norfolk and being a Hilton Honor member decided to book two rooms at this hotel. We had a reservation with a corporate code which was very conveniently thrown out of the door at the time of check in. We were given the option of regular rate or no option and then upon requesting given a small discount. The discounted price was still double the corporate rate. The lady at check in made it seem as though it was my problem and that was just the end of it.

Should have booked at the Holiday Inn next door, at least they wouldn't have treated a loyal hilton client in such a manner

Stay was extremely short, checked in at 7:30 PM on Friday and left at 3 AM on Sunday. Did not use any amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings SiddK,

Thank you for your review, I apologize for the confusion with your room rate. I did some research and found out that while you had a corporate discount code, you were not able to provide proper identification that would permit you to receive the rate which is why your rate was changed at arrival. The front desk did give you a 20% discount off the regular rate for your entire stay.

Again, I apologize for the misunderstanding and if you were given a negative impression of our hotel and staff.

Please contact me if you have any questions, jennifer.mcmicken@hilton.com

Thank you,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We satyed hear at the end of our summer vacation for three nights. Lovely hotel and within easy reach to shops / restaurants / beach (the beach was approx 10-15 minutes drive). Swimming pool area was good and breakfast was very good. There was no safe in the room unlike most of the other Hampton Inns I have stayed. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scairnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Scairnsy,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and our hotel! We hope that you will consider staying with us again next time.

Thanks again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, va, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times and everytime the hotel has been a great place to stay. It was clean and quiet, even with vacationing families with children staying there. The breakfasts were good and varried from low calorie to high calorie options. The fitness room was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Greetings George W.,

Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor! We always appreciate our frequent guests taking time to review us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, especially breakfast!

If you have any suggestions to improve our fitness center, please let me know!

Thank you again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
jennifer.mcmicken@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have always had a good experience at this hotel. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Great location for my business needs and right at the interstate. They have a Wednesday night lite meal in the lobby. The breakfast is a good variety of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carolyn B.,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities including breakfast and Wednesday dinner!

The whole staff is waiting to welcome you back on your next visit!

Thank you again,
Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertwon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff was excellent! They allowed us to check in early, and even had a copy of directions already printed out to the closest Mexican Restaurant so we could go there for a quick lunch before a wedding. Had mentioned this on the phone to them an hour earlier and they had it all set up. Room very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Greetings Caroline J.,

Thank you for the awesome review! Good to hear that your weekend went well and you enjoyed the wedding. Hopefully you can come back and visit again for an extended vacation!

Thanks again,
Jennfier McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This Hampton is probably in need of a refresh. I've stayed in both worse and better hotels and Hampton Inns. This Hampton is habitable and the location/proximity to area attractions is good, as is the comparative rate vs staying at the beach or downtown is good. However, the neighborhood the hotel is in and the level of guest might be worth keeping in the back of your mind. The gentleman at the front desk, Mr. Peas, was very courteous and is a good representative for the company. You probably won't be sorry if you stay here but your expectations should be realistic. It's is not a Ritz Carlton on thus beach. It's a decent bed and shower for a night, maybe two, to hit the area attractions without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ImATravelinFool,

Tahnk you for your review. I apologize that our property did not wow you, we definately are not the Ritz Carlton! You did point our some of our great features for the Trip Advisor community, like the location, affordability and staff service!

You also mentioned that there are items that you would refresh, if you could share specifics I would appreciate that. Please email me, jennifer.mcmicken@hilton.com

Thank you again for your feedback,

Jennifer McMicken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#12 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#35 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#18 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#43 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virginia Beach/Norfolk Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virgin...
#11 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Address: 5793 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach is situated between both cities with easy access to each. We are a short drive from the Norfolk International Airport and Virginia Beach Convention Center. Our hotel is conveniently located to area businesses and military bases, including Northrop Grumman, Riverside Corporate Center, Oceana, and Dam Neck. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing