We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Owings Mills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and stay!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I just came back from our second trip to VA beach! We stayed at this hotel and it was very nice! The rooms were clean, staff was great and friendly. We stayed in room 530. Very nice view of the beach. Now, most people aren't a fan of hotel complimentary breakfast. However, country inns buffet breakfast was great!!!!! U can make your waffle! There's fresh eggs and cheese and I believe ham to top off your eggs. Biscuits and gravy, yogurt(with toppings. Berries, nuts, etc) of course there's cereal, bagels, toast, Danishes and there was mixed fruit. I was very impressed with the selections for breakfast! I will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick a high floor if possible. I believe any view would be a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear ChamiahC:


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I am also glad to see that you got to enjoy the breakfast and that staff made you feel welcomed. I hope that you and your family have found a home away from home and will make us your hotel of choice.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    342
    210
    119
    72
See reviews for
596
296
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Got this desk as a living social so the price want bad for a"king suite". S long as you under stand that call a room a suite they take out the second bed add a sofa bed, microwave, mini fridge, and it its a suite.
I cannot imagine a family of four in here.my husband and I were crowded. You can hang up five or six items. In general the room was clean. Dusty ledges and such. The windows needed a good scrubbing. Bathroom was clean, and bed comfortable. Wanted to use the indoor pool but was loud and filled with kids no time for adults. But it was spring break. Breakfast was a step above most hotel comp.
All in all it was a good stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaBeachLover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here with our kids for a spring break get away! Free breakfast in am, cookies and coffee in afternoon. We stayed in an ocean front double queen room and just loved it. Nice indoor pool and gym. Definitely would stay here again. Close to everything and a sweet frog near lobby. Recommend without reservation---great staff, too!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5CardsWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? Bathroom filthy...urine smell, hair in the floor, used soap in bathtub and to top it off I come to sleep after a long day to only get to listen to a FULL marching band practicing on the hotel lawn!!! I called the front desk and was told they are "working on it" I travel 6 days a week and I have never stayed at a place with such disregard to customer service. Trust me, stay away from here, I am not picky!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgreg651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mgreg651,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us and I sincerely apologize for the substandard condition that you found your room in. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness and condition. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously we did not meet those standards. I am also sorry for the way the front desk handled the situation with the marching band. Customer service is one of the most important things to us, our goal is the leave guest with a good memory of their time they spent with us. I ask you that you will allow us another opportunity to provide the type of guest experience that you are accustomed to receiving.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My friends and i decided at the last minute to change to the country inn and suites and were glad we did. we got a suite with a nice sitting area, the pool was heated and indoors (it was cold outside), and the beds were very comfortable. The staff at the front desk (Nativia?) were really nice and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Will stay here again when in town! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

As a gift, we received a two night stay here and our registration fees to the Shamrock. We loved staying here. Everyone was nice, the beds were amazing, the cookies were perfect after running 13.1 miles and the breakfast buffet rivaled ones we've paid for in Vegas. We actually opted to stay one more night due to the great stay we had. Our one hiccup of having no heat in our newly renovated room (I forgot my sandals there on the balcony!) was fixed in no time flat. We really had a great stay here!

Room Tip: Choose the King room with a balcony, you can totally open the window and fall asleep to the waves cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandJeff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear SarahandJeff2013


I appreciate you taking the time on posting a comment about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. I hope that had a great run time. I trust you have found the hotel to stay at when visiting Virginia Beach.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everyone we encountered on the staff was exceptionally friendly and told us to have a nice day. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. On-site parking garage a plus as well. We were just down for a 2 day getaway and didn't realize it was Yuengling Marathon weekend, but that didn't cause any problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing