We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Alexandria, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were here over President's Day weekend. The room was nice, oceanfront with a balcony, clean, bright and comfy. There appeared to be no heat in the common areas - hallway, stairwells, etc. and it was COLD when we visited. I would hope these areas are air-conditioned in the summertime.

Be advised that the parking garage is steep and narrow. If you drive anything bigger than a mid-size sedan you will have a challenge in the garage. It's not that you can't get a truck or SUV in there but you won't want to try to park any higher than the 2nd level. What goes in must come out!!

The breakfast food was nasty. We had a choice of DIY waffles with some sort of thick strawberry topping (obviously dumped out of a can but not warmed up), biscuits, bagels, toast, sausage links, sausage gravy, COLD lumpy oatmeal, dry cereal, plain yogurt, mushy apples, oranges, skim milk (no regular milk), OJ, apple juice, water, coffee or tea. I've definitely had better hotel continental breakfasts.

The staff was very nice especially Jackie in housekeeping. She made us feel like family when we were checking out. The front desk staff was very nice also. There was a cookie plate on the front desk but it was always empty and I never saw cookies in it. If they aren't going to fill it, they should remove it.

The indoor pool was warm but the room itself was dark and cold and the towel supply was very limited and often there were no towels available. I understand towels disappear so they have to manage their inventory but there has to be a better way so that all guests can have a dry towel.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but I would avoid using the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwarren217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    355
    222
    124
    77
See reviews for
638
301
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight for a quick weekend getaway! The staff was very pleasant. The room was very clean and has great views of the beach. The breakfast area was kept very neat and the staff was constantly working to keep it straight. We really enjoyed this hotel and look forward to visiting it again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I bought a living social deal to the County Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront in December 2013. It was $44 for 1 night in an Ocean Front King Suite with free breakfast. I went with my Boyfriend on January 1st 2014. The hotel was quiet and we were offered a top floor room with a great view of everything. We were able to enjoy the indoor pool during our stay. The pool was kept warm and there weren't any other visitors when we went. The room was big enough, but lacking in the decor area. We enjoyed the room, nonetheless. Breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of options: Juices, milk, coffees, teas, hot chocolate, waffles, french toast, bagels, muffins, pastries, eggs, sausage etc. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly and acommodating. A great deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear AMY R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our stay with us. I am happy to see that you took advantage of the promotion we were running on Living Social and that enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent one overnight at this clean and modern hotel in January. Our room had a beautiful view of the water. It was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The breakfast the next morning was delicious; real waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs, etc. No cardboard cutouts to gnaw on! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miayercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed here for three night in January 2014. My room was ocean front and i can enjoy the sea view from my Balcony. Its really Good. This property looks bit old from Inside but still comfortable. Its really Value for money. Hotel Staff at Reception shows good courtesy. Good Place to stay & Relax. Penalty of restaurant but for non-vegs only . For vegetarian food, one has to request for pizza without meat- with cheese & Tomato only.

Room Tip: Ocean front Room with Seating Space on lower Ocean is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas30aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I recently spent the weekend in Virginia Beach at the Country In & Suites. We stayed in a 7th floor room overlooking the ocean. Amazing views and the sound of the surf from the comfort of our room! The staff was extremely friendly and everything was great. The only negative that I can come up with is a pool that was colder than we had hoped it would be and there was no whirlpool, but we would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear David J,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review about your stay with us. I am happy to see that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend getaway, and definitely enjoyed reading that you intend to return.

I have also shared your compliments with the staff, about their great customer service they provided during your stay, and they were pleased. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done!

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and I know we will see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


All the best,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location: it's located on Virginia Beach main avenue and right on the beach. Very easy access to the beach and if you're lucky like us you'll have a room with a view of the very nice beach.
Hotel: free breakfast, wi-fi and parking included. The halls and elevators look dated but nothing major. There's a pool and business center.
Room: They're big with a mini fridge and microwave. They have balconies with a couple of chairs to relax and admire the beach. Bathroom looks dated too but it was clean. Nice quality toiletries offered. There are safes and hair dryers in the room as well.
Overall, the location makes it worth it. Expect a dated construction but our room was clean which is what mattered most.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing