We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms...service can be a lot better. The management is not that great in accomodating customer's needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and the internet was fast. We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel restaurant was very nice
..and the daily breakfast was decent as well. However management is not very accomodating. .. we will try another place next time. However, the front desk staff is friendly

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwchass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In reviewing your response I noticed That you were no to pleased with management.

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.

I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

I made my first solo trip from Ohio without my husband who passed away recently. I traveled with my son and his friend. Both 14 yrs. old. To say the least I had a lot of anxiety about the trip. From the moment I walked in I felt at ease. The rooms were clean, parking was very accessible, the staff was incredible especially Toresa . Loved the location on the board walk. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed with 6 teenagers in two rooms overlooking the ocean. Everything was great. The rooms were clean. The staff were amazingly friendly- especially Amy at breakfast and Josh at the front desk. Even though there was tons of dirt and sand brought in continuously from the beach, the staff constantly cleaned so the hotel always looked first rate. The breakfast was average but the parking was easy, the rooms were spacious and nicely upgraded. No complaints and I will definitely return there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are smoke free and overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_S57592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Found the front desk staff to be very unfriendly. No one spoke as we entered the building at any given moment. The restaurant staff and housekeeping was the only bright aspect of the hotel. SLOW elevators. Dirty pool that had a pipe sticking out and no cover on the intake at the bottom of the pool. TV was out for most of the day Wednesday.Had to pay extra for parking as we had two vehicles. Air conditioner very loud. Stayed on second floor, no problem with outside noise. Will probably not stay there again for $200 a night. Customer service poor.

Room Tip: stayed on 2nd floor. right outside of garage.great for loading,unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfitzhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Sfitzhite:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here in Virginia Beach . I am sorry that you were disappointed with the behavior and lack of concern that my front desk team expressed. I am glad to read that other department came through and made you feel welcomed. Please know that our goal is that every employee you come in contact with knowledge's you and provide any kind of assistance you my need.

As a consumer, I know how I expect to be treated. I am truly sorry that they failed to provide you with their very best. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area.

Respectfully,

Tony Sierra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: Ocean Views, Clean Hotel, Good Breakfast, Somewhat Modern Rooms, Easy Access From Parking Deck, Premium TV. Much Nicer Room Quality (in terms of decor, bed, and walls) Than Many Similarly Priced Beach Hotels.

Cons: Somewhat Cramped Bathrooms, Room Felt a Bit Humid. Front Desk Clerk Misinformed Me Regarding Floor Number of Parking Deck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoProfessor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Arriving at the hotel was easy. The parking garage is convenient, and check in was a breeze. The staff were all professional and courteous. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of everything you would want. They do not lie when they say every room is ocean view. It was beautiful waking up to the sun shining in your room. The beach is just steps away. They served a great breakfast especially when you have to feed 3 kids. As far as the rooms go ...they were ordinary. They were dated somewhat but big enough for my family. The cleaning staff are cleaning but they were not the cleanest rooms I've been in. There were lollipop sticks and other small things in the corners of the room that were not mine. For 200 bucks a night they should pay attention to detail. I'm not extremely picky just being honest. I have a little 1 walking around the room and dont need her picking other peoples stuff up. The bathroom was nice but again needs updating. When you have white tubs a scrub once in a while with bleach wouldn't hurt. The rooms do provide a small fridge and microwave which was useful. The rooms air conditioner was extremely loud because the casing was falling off. I had to push the couch up against it to stop the vibrating, but it did work. I like the fact that you have a balcony to sit on and just watch the boardwalk. The indoor pool was convenient and did not have that overbearing chemical smell you usually get when confined to the indoors. The only suggestion there is maybe you can light it up a little bit its way too dark. The worst part about this hotel is the elevator and the beds. It has to be the slowest one ever.You can literally stand for 5 min waiting for it. Take the stairs.The beds were just uncomfortable. The hotel has a restaurant attached it is ok to dine in but takeout room service sucked! I ordered food for my wife and kids to be delivered because I was not available to pick it up. When the food finally arived 40 minutes later it was dried and nasty...probably from sitting under the heat lamps waiting for delivery. Then they charge you 20% gratuity for that.Overall I like this hotel and would stay again based on location and the overall atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you dont mind waiting for an elevator the upper floors have a nice view. If you want convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd102392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear sd102392,

Thank you for taking time out of you day to write a review about your stay with us. I hope everyone enjoyed there time with us and I am glad to read that you plan on returning next year. I assure you that the concerns you shared have been heard, will be addressed, and taken care of before our arrival next year. My hope is that you found your vacation hotel in virginia beach.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located almost directly mid-point of Boardwalk. Oceanfront balcony. Our corner room on 8th floor had two balconies, one in front and one on the side w/a lounge chair. Large room w/plenty of room even w/sofa. Mini-refrigerator. Bathroom vanity did not have much storage space. Self-laundry is available but you have to pay for it. Check-in parking can get crowded. Staff stored our luggage for us in a safe place until we were able to check in, which they let us do early. Breakfast was good w/the usual stuff: waffles, cereals, oatmeal, eggs, etc. If you ask for salsa, they will bring it to you but they do not put it out on the buffet. Surprised that there was no yogurt. Nice ocean front restaurant on site. We would stay again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the building have double balconies (front and sides).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_2gether_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $71 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing