We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in Feb 2013 - Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel during a house hunting trip and were very pleased. Everyone was incredibly polite, the building was clean and we had no issues with noisy neighbors. Our room looked right out to the ocean and came with a microwave, safe, fridge, love seat, table and office chair. The restaurant was closed for the seson but the Front Desk quickly delivered a list of restaurants (with contact info) that delivered to the hotel. This is not a luxury hotel, but a exceptonally well-kept less expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

That about sums it up -- but I shall add that the breakfasts were first class (different offerings at the buffet each morning); the view each morning from the balcony was memorable (all rooms face the ocean, allowing us to see the dolphins swim just a few yards off-shore as they made their way along the beach); excellent equipment in the exercise room; free parking just outside our 4th floor room; and a most friendly staff.
Less one thinks it was perfect, I'll add that Channel 4 on the TV was not available ("We're working on that.") and the bath tub drain leaked. Big deal.

Room Tip: Rooms all the same -- facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heronhouse16316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Heronhouse,

First, thank you for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us. Second thank you for all the kind words. I want you to know that we corrected the issue with channel 4 and fix the drain in your room, so now you can start planing you next trip. LoL Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked with this hotel through a Groupon coupon. When I called to confirm the rezzi I was told we were booked for a room with two queen beds. I requested a king and was told just to ask the front desk when we arrived. Check-in was a breeze with extremely friendly staff. I requested the king bed, oceanfront and was given just that. We were told to park on the floor we stayed on (6). The parking garage is packed in there, so there are some sharp turns and steep climbs. It was so nice to have free parking on site! The room was fine. It was a little dated in fixtures, but very sizable. There was a short wall seperating the sleeping area from a sitting area and then a small balcony with two chairs. Upon arrival, the front desk called to see if our room was okay. After that call we adjusted the heat (stayed in January) and it stopped working and started blowing cold air. We called the front desk and they sent someone IMMEDIATELY! We were on our way out for the night, but when we got back, the heat was working again. The bed was comfy, the TV was flat panel, the channel choices were good, bathroom was very nice with curved shower rod and good water pressure and plenty of towels, in-room coffee maker, fridge and microwave! The only complaint through the night was that the city of Virginia Beach was busy through the entire night pumping sand from out in the ocean to the shore, so there was a constant beeping sound from the vehicles moving around, but that wasn't the hotel's fault - it was the fault of the city of Virginia Beach. I would complain to the City of Virginia Beach stating that room tax (13%) should be lower that time of the year due to their annoying construction.

Breakfast in the lobby the next morning was hot, fresh and FREE! The staff were very friendly and they even offered up real coffee mugs, plates, bowls, glasses and silverware in addition to styrafoam and plastic. There were plenty of good choices and plenty of seating.

We didn't use the workout room or the pool, but we used the computer area. Printer was down, but that was okay because we didn't need it.

Hotel is in a GREAT location on the strip - has access to the boardwalk - just walk out there and you're there on the beach!

Nice place to stay, well worth the great coupon or the regular price. I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Vacaroline,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed. I look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over the New Years weekend and once again had an excellent experience. The staff is very attentive, accomadating, and responsive to our needs. The free breakfast was outstanding, with lots of choices, and convenient hours. Without a doubt we will return for another stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms called extended stay rooms provide an clear view of the ocean while sitting in bed.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear AlRuss,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Tony Sierra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the chance to get away for a few nights to the coast and Va. beach was the nearest to our airport before we flew back to the UK. Booked on Priceline with a name your own price and was pleasantly pleased. Although an older hotel it was very clean and updated. The daily free breakfast was a nice addition as well. Staff was very friendly and helpful with all matters.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oweninthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Did a last minute staycation with the family to VB and this property was perfect. Indoor pool was warm and clean, rooms modern and clean, firness room modern and clean and breakfast was abundant and service was excellent. Front desk staff were very good too. Tony the manager has a great staff and great hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Country Inn and Suites Oceanfront while visiting family in VA Beach. As a full disclaimer, I won the room in a Priceline bid, for a very good rate, so the quality of our room may not be consistent with the quality of other rooms within the property.

Overall, the hotel is good for what it is: A branded, full-service, budget-friendly oceanfront resort. The hotel has been recently remodeled from top-to-bottom and, for the most part, the choices they made are very tasteful. From what I understand, the property used to be a Howard Johnson and it still retains some of that that cheap motel "HoJo" feel in the hallways/parking garage. However, the rooms and lobby are reasonably clean and modernized - which is what matters.

Since we stayed on the 3rd floor with direct access to our room from the parking garage, I didn't interact much with the staff. However, the few encounters I had were nothing but pleasant. Both the night and day-shift front desk staff were very friendly and polite and seemed to genuinely care about providing a great experience.

Our room (#330 - Standard King) was freshly painted, and was reasonably well maintained. It was not, however, flawless. The carpet was nearing the end of its life-cycle and should be replaced soon (worn/stained in several areas, large burn mark from dropped iron, peeling from walls, areas of paint drips, etc.). The corners/spaces behind furniture were also dusty/littered, and could use some attention - we opted to leave our socks on. Otherwise, everything seemed clean and comfortable.

Bonus points for fully encasing their mattresses - we had no worries about the cleanliness of the beds. They also seemed to be doing some work on the rooms, since it's the off-season, so it looks like they're being proactive about maintaining the quality of the rooms.

The only issue we encountered was with the cleaning staff. One night we arrived back to our room to find a filthy washcloth (used by the cleaning staff to clean) placed on top of our freshly made bed. We removed the wash cloth and tossed it on the floor, where it remained for the remainder of our stay (they ignored it completely). This lead us to believe that the cleaning staff was not very thorough or careful, which raised some concerns about the cleanliness of room in general.

The parking garage is not nearly as bad as other reviewers have made it out to be. We have an SUV and had no problem parking/navigating the garage. Yes, there are many pillars/tight turns and steep inclines, but nothing too challenging. I could, perhaps, see it being a bit trickier to navigate/park when at full capacity, but in the off-season parking was no problem at all. We did not eat breakfast or visit the pool, so I'm unable to comment on those amenities. Although, it seemed like there were many people enjoying the breakfast when I went to check out.

Overall, the Country Inn and Suites in VA Beach is a great budget option for an oceanfront stay. Although not flawless, it's a relatively clean/comfortable place to stay. I will certainly consider staying again the next time we're down in VA Beach (priceline or regular rate). The last time we stayed in VA Beach, we stayed at the Courtyard South, and although it was an all-around better property, the rates were more than twice the rates of the Country Inn. For the rate, Country Inn offers a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siburjunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Siburjunkee:

I appreciate you taking the time on posting a comment about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. I also would like to apologize for the housekeeping service you received. We pride ourselves in providing a clean atmosphere for our guest and I am sorry that we failed in your case.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suite, we would like to thank you for your business. I do hope that you and our family will give us another opportunity to deliver the service I know we can.


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $85 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing