We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A regular customer”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over the New Years weekend and once again had an excellent experience. The staff is very attentive, accomadating, and responsive to our needs. The free breakfast was outstanding, with lots of choices, and convenient hours. Without a doubt we will return for another stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms called extended stay rooms provide an clear view of the ocean while sitting in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear AlRuss,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    337
    205
    115
    70
See reviews for
578
289
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the chance to get away for a few nights to the coast and Va. beach was the nearest to our airport before we flew back to the UK. Booked on Priceline with a name your own price and was pleasantly pleased. Although an older hotel it was very clean and updated. The daily free breakfast was a nice addition as well. Staff was very friendly and helpful with all matters.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oweninthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Did a last minute staycation with the family to VB and this property was perfect. Indoor pool was warm and clean, rooms modern and clean, firness room modern and clean and breakfast was abundant and service was excellent. Front desk staff were very good too. Tony the manager has a great staff and great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Country Inn and Suites Oceanfront while visiting family in VA Beach. As a full disclaimer, I won the room in a Priceline bid, for a very good rate, so the quality of our room may not be consistent with the quality of other rooms within the property.

Overall, the hotel is good for what it is: A branded, full-service, budget-friendly oceanfront resort. The hotel has been recently remodeled from top-to-bottom and, for the most part, the choices they made are very tasteful. From what I understand, the property used to be a Howard Johnson and it still retains some of that that cheap motel "HoJo" feel in the hallways/parking garage. However, the rooms and lobby are reasonably clean and modernized - which is what matters.

Since we stayed on the 3rd floor with direct access to our room from the parking garage, I didn't interact much with the staff. However, the few encounters I had were nothing but pleasant. Both the night and day-shift front desk staff were very friendly and polite and seemed to genuinely care about providing a great experience.

Our room (#330 - Standard King) was freshly painted, and was reasonably well maintained. It was not, however, flawless. The carpet was nearing the end of its life-cycle and should be replaced soon (worn/stained in several areas, large burn mark from dropped iron, peeling from walls, areas of paint drips, etc.). The corners/spaces behind furniture were also dusty/littered, and could use some attention - we opted to leave our socks on. Otherwise, everything seemed clean and comfortable.

Bonus points for fully encasing their mattresses - we had no worries about the cleanliness of the beds. They also seemed to be doing some work on the rooms, since it's the off-season, so it looks like they're being proactive about maintaining the quality of the rooms.

The only issue we encountered was with the cleaning staff. One night we arrived back to our room to find a filthy washcloth (used by the cleaning staff to clean) placed on top of our freshly made bed. We removed the wash cloth and tossed it on the floor, where it remained for the remainder of our stay (they ignored it completely). This lead us to believe that the cleaning staff was not very thorough or careful, which raised some concerns about the cleanliness of room in general.

The parking garage is not nearly as bad as other reviewers have made it out to be. We have an SUV and had no problem parking/navigating the garage. Yes, there are many pillars/tight turns and steep inclines, but nothing too challenging. I could, perhaps, see it being a bit trickier to navigate/park when at full capacity, but in the off-season parking was no problem at all. We did not eat breakfast or visit the pool, so I'm unable to comment on those amenities. Although, it seemed like there were many people enjoying the breakfast when I went to check out.

Overall, the Country Inn and Suites in VA Beach is a great budget option for an oceanfront stay. Although not flawless, it's a relatively clean/comfortable place to stay. I will certainly consider staying again the next time we're down in VA Beach (priceline or regular rate). The last time we stayed in VA Beach, we stayed at the Courtyard South, and although it was an all-around better property, the rates were more than twice the rates of the Country Inn. For the rate, Country Inn offers a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siburjunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Siburjunkee:

I appreciate you taking the time on posting a comment about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. I also would like to apologize for the housekeeping service you received. We pride ourselves in providing a clean atmosphere for our guest and I am sorry that we failed in your case.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suite, we would like to thank you for your business. I do hope that you and our family will give us another opportunity to deliver the service I know we can.


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family of four stayed here May 2012. The location is great - right on the strip, walking distance from many restaurants. We had booked for 4 nights but shortened to 3.
First the good things:
location, breakfast - lots to choose and hot - service was great as well, rooms - spacious and clean but washrooms could use an upgrade. We had an issue with the drain which was fixed quickly after a call to the desk.
Bad things: one major thing - we saw a massive cockroach in the pool area. Since this is indoor - this made me super nervous. I reported it to the front desk who had maintenance come and clean it up but what else was there? Needless to say - this shortened our stay and the kids didn't want to use the pool the rest of our stay which was unfortunate.

Room Tip: Our room was on the same floor as parking so that was convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trijo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Trijo27,
I sincerely apologize for the substandard condition that you found hotel in. At Country Inn and Suites, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness and condition. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. I am also sorry that we left you with a bad image of the hotel. I assure you this kind of incident is not the way we conduct business I also would like to let you know that we are in the process of renovating our bathrooms to have a more modernized look and feel.
I ask you that you will allow us another opportunity to provide the type of guest experience that you are accustomed to receiving.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Awesome breakfest! Wish I lived at this hotel! Very clean! Front desk was friendly.. the oceanveiw was priceless in the morning when the sun was rising. I always come here during the off season, for peace and tranquility .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_babygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a last minute stay at this hotel for 3 nights last week after we received news of a death in the family. To stay in an establishment with such friendly and kind employees was such a blessing. I have stayed in many high-end hotels (Westin, Hyatt, Hiltons) and have never experienced such great treatment by EVERY employee. From the front desk, to housekeepers, maintenace, etc. they all had a smile on their face and greeted you. The breakfast was amazing-the food was delicious, was varied from day to day, and the wait staff was outstanding! ( The reviewer who said that she took the food, threw it away and then went out to eat.......must be awful hard to please!!) The coffee and cookies were alway available and delicious.

The view from the patio was beautiful even though a Noreaster had really churned up the water on a couple of the days. The rooms were clean, bug free, and adequate. Yes. there was some water damage on the ceiling, but I'm sure it will be addressed now that it is the slow season.

Thank you so much Country Inn for staffing yourself with excellent employees. We spent our last 2 nights at another hotel closer to the airport, for much more money, and only wish we could have stayed with you the entire 5 nights.

We live in Florida, but if we ever head up to Virginia Beach area again, we know that we'll be back to your friendly hotel!

Room Tip: WE were on the 7th floor and if you parked on the roof of the parking garage you are practically rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitzy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Glitzy40,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you recent stay with us. I am glad to you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry for your loss and glad to read that that staff helped you through this tough period. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. Please come back and visit us in the future.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing