We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, could use improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The stay was good, but it is not a hotel that I would recommend. Some crucial amenities were not replenished. Upon arrival, pillows were not in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,015 - 2,021 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a big beautiful room with a fantastic view of the ocean. Everyone was very friendly. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have a better movie select/t.v for my husband.Beds that are more firmer,pillow with no feathers will have made a better night sleep.


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cockroaches, dirty room, and unaccomodating staff on our wedding weekend. Will never book here again. The hotel is extremely overpriced for the condition it's in and service received. Only plus is the beach isn't crowded and we were luck enough to pay for a non-ocean view room but got one on the side and could still see the beach and ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Three words describe this hotel. Old, dirty and FELTY. We paid almost $250 per night for this hotel. The elevator to the west tower is the first indication of what is to come. It is just dirty and old. Get used to these 2 words as I will be using it throughout my review. The hallway to our room hasn't seen a vacuum for ages and wasn't vacuumed for 4 days we stayed there. The AC unit in the hall way was unplagued white outside temperature was in the 90's and surprisingly we found the same thing in our room, an unplagued AC unit. There we large stains on the ceiling, TV stand and the sheets. We had to call for new sheets that were delivered promptly. I had to go buy a can of Lysol to spray the beds as I was disgusted what what I was seeing. I have no idea if they vacuum the rooms or not as I found a chewed up gum under the bed. The WiFi is non existing in this hotel. You are better off having your own data plan to connect to Internet or check your emails. The wood panels on the ceiling of the indoor pool are rotten and will crumble soon. Everything is rusty and nasty. On the second day of our stay we found large clumps of hair floating in the indoor pool. We had to notify the front desk to clean this health hazard as it seemed it came from a backed up drainage. The most shocking thing I found was the mold in the bathroom where the wall paper was coming off the wall. If you leave this hotel without catching a disease call it a success. I have taken pictures of everything that I will post as well.

Room Tip: That would be a miracle as I don't know if that is possible to find any good rooms in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehsan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great beach that was not crowded. It's away from the tackiness of the boardwalk thankfully. However, the pools are useless because they are gross! The hot tub was so full of sand it had a small beach on the bottom. They gave us two towels for a four occupancy room, and finally after three calls we received more towels. The nonsmoking room smelled like smoke. When I mentioned this to the front desk staff member she took note of it, but to my knowledge nothing was ever done. The mini fridge needed to be defrosted so badly the door would not shut completely, and apparently they don't replenish the coffee supplies every day. The linens looked clean, but the room overall should have been much cleaner. We tolerated the hotel conditions because we were only there for two nights, and the beach was great. However, we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oceanfront
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oce...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2236 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $76 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel provides the perfect location and amenities for a memorable Virginia Beach vacation. Situated on the north end of the beach just blocks from the Boardwalk, the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel offers on-site entertainment along with access to countless attractions that make it the ideal setting for family fun. From a day spent enjoying the natural beauty at First Landing State Park to a stroll on the Boardwalk or a marine adventure at Virginia Aquarium, Virginia Beach provides the perfect blend of excitement and relaxation the whole family will enjoy. On-site entertainment is endless at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. Guests can spend the entire day relaxing on the semi-private beach or cooling off with a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a fitness center for those that wish to stick to their fitness routine. After enjoying dinner at the Surf Club Ocean Grille on-site at the hotel, families can take advantage of the free shuttle to the Boardwalk, where they can enjoy an evening of excitement and entertainment. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel features 244 guestrooms, with 166 oceanfront options available, boasting the most direct ocean views in Virginia Beach. Guests can delight in cool sea breezes from their private balcony or patio opening to our semi-private beach. All of the guestrooms at the hotel feature free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, coffeemaker and flat-screen TVs. For guests that want a little more space, the one and two bedroom suites as well as the Jacuzzi king rooms offer sweeping views of the shoreline, along with some extra room for the whole family to relax after a great day at the beach. The stunning scenery of the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel makes it a great option for a meeting or event. From a 5,128 square foot ballroom to a 2,000 square foot outdoor oceanfront patio, the hotel can accommodate groups up to 550 people. The hotel also provides the perfect setting for an oceanfront wedding, offering everything from exquisite catering options to personalized event services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing