We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very swanky place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
WIlson NC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very swanky place”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

No complaints whatsoever on this resort, other than the price. I realize it is right in line with others on the strand, but I consider them all overpriced.
Very nice interior wherever you go in teh buildings, and the grounds are very clean and well kept too. The indoor and outdoor pools are both small, but very few guest were in them. Love the umbrellas and chairs provided on the beach for guests.

Room Tip: ask for a room 5th floor and up for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    720
    700
    515
    358
See reviews for
1,083
706
135
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

On the last full day (Sunday) of our Fri.-Mon. stay, we returned fo our room at 4:00 pm after being out for the day. Housekeeping had not cleaned the room and there was not a houskeeping cart in sight in the hallway. Also, there was a note posted in the bathtub that a new non-slip surface was applied and not to use the tub until after 8:00 pm. A dirty rag used to apply the surface still in the tub. Fortunately, we did not come from a day at the beach in need of showers before dinner. I understand the need for continued maintenance but advance warning should have been given with alternate facilities for showering if necessary before 8:00 pm.

I called the front desk and advised that the room had not been made up which was fine but we did need fresh towels as our soiled ones were still on the bathroom floor. "Right away" was the pleasant response. An hour later, still no towels and another call to the desk. "Right away" was the response. Bottom line, towels never showed. A friend of ours staying a couple of rooms down gave us a couple of spare towels that he had.

Service in the restaurant was friendly but spotty at best. Went to breakfast and waited 20 minutes before flagging down a server. He apologized and explained it was his 2nd week on the job and the busiest day so far and was a bit frazzled. A mix up on some orders ensued but eventually it all worked out.

Dinner was another uneven experience. The menu is pricey and the daily specials were never mentioned. The ribeye steak was only at best a quarter of an inch thick, all for $28! Beautiful presentation however. An error on the final check would have resulted in an additional $23 had I not looked at it carefully.

Upon check-out, I mentioned to the gentleman (ok, 18 yr old kid) the issues with the towels and tub and received a monotone response of "sorry 'bout that."

On the plus side, unlike some other reviewers, we liked the more remote, quiet location on the beach. We were in an oceanfront room on a upper floor which seemed to have been refreshed not too long ago.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBnVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We went to this hotel a week before the memorial day weekend trying to avoid the rush. I hadnt planned on going here as we booked through priceline and we got what came through! After making the reservations and reading all the reviews I was dreading the stay not knowing what to expect. What we experienced was a very enjoyable stay and when I heard the front desk say "we see you booked through priceline..." I wasn't expecting that to be followed by "..and we have upgraded you to a ocean-front room in our renovated tower". So that worked out great. The rooms are good and the ocean view is amazing, so is the staff! The downside is, as other reviewers mentioned, no nearby restaurants or coffeeshop etc. But if you plan accordingly then it works out just fine. All in all, a great place to stay and I would definitely return when going to Virginia beach. Another downside is the lack of enough self-parking which is free, they do have a valet parking option aswell, didnt check its price.

Room Tip: 7th floor or higher means renovated tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The check in and check out was very quick. The room seemed to be located in the older part of the building. We booked a room with two queen sized beds which were pretty comfortable. In addition to the sleeping area it had a living room, kitchen area, and balcony. The location was a short driving distance off of the main strip plus the beach was clean. The things that I liked about the hotel was its friendly staff, comfortable beds, and clean beach. The things that I disliked about the hotel was its unstable/slow internet and the location because it was a long walking distance from shops.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anantinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

When I heard we were going to Virginia Beach and staying at the Wyndham, I read the reviews on here and was dreading it. When I opened the door to the room, which was in the old part of the buildng, I held my breath, expecting to see filth, mold, and ratty old bedding. There's no doubt that the building needs to be refurbished, and scrubbed really well, but it was as clean as most $89 hotels, the bed was comfortable, the shower had hot water and great pressure, and we were able to sleep oceanfront with the outside door wide open so we could hear the ocean and feel the breeze.

The hotel is about a mile from 'where the action is', a good fifteen to twenty minute walk. It's surrounded by adorable little cottages and it's easy to go anywhere in Virginia Beach, not just beachfront.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back here, and relieved that I didn't back out after reading the reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Road1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Why I would not recommend this hotel (motel):
It is very old. Few decades past due on remodeling. Still has CRT TV units from 1980’s, under the window AC unit, dirty hallway carpet, ASHTRAYS next to elevator entrances inside the hotel.
Location is in a middle of nowhere. Do yourself a favor; use Google maps to see how far it is from main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muxa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Bob in NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I have stayed at many Wyndham properties over the years (as well as numerous other major chains) both domestically and internationally. This hotel is unequivocally one of the worst I've ever seen. It is long, long overdue for a major renovation. From the carpet, to the common areas, to the rooms themselves, the place is nothing short of rundown and, frankly, not particularly clean. For a hotel of the supposed caliper of a Wyndham, the bathrooms are the size you'd find at a Motel 6. Don't even bother using the internet because neither my wife or my laptop could get a strong enough signal to even stay connected (we phoned tech support and they told us that the signal was the "best they could provide." The business center is equipped with outdated desktops and the speed is not much better. I chatted with their outside technician and he said that the manager was doing everything on the cheap and would not upgrade equipment. Much of the equipment in the fitness room didn't operate and/or was very worn. If all of that wasn't bad enough, I couldn't tell you how many guests had dogs, including one across the hall from us which yelped and scratched constantly. This place was so bad, my wife and I referred to it as the "Wyndump."

Room Tip: Read the reviews and pay particular attention to s
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chef3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,050 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,947 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2236 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel provides the perfect location and amenities for a memorable Virginia Beach vacation. Situated on the north end of the beach just blocks from the Boardwalk, the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel offers on-site entertainment along with access to countless attractions that make it the ideal setting for family fun. From a day spent enjoying the natural beauty at First Landing State Park to a stroll on the Boardwalk or a marine adventure at Virginia Aquarium, Virginia Beach provides the perfect blend of excitement and relaxation the whole family will enjoy. On-site entertainment is endless at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. Guests can spend the entire day relaxing on the semi-private beach or cooling off with a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a fitness center for those that wish to stick to their fitness routine. After enjoying dinner at the Surf Club Ocean Grille on-site at the hotel, families can take advantage of the free shuttle to the Boardwalk, where they can enjoy an evening of excitement and entertainment. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel features 244 guestrooms, with 166 oceanfront options available, boasting the most direct ocean views in Virginia Beach. Guests can delight in cool sea breezes from their private balcony or patio opening to our semi-private beach. All of the guestrooms at the hotel feature free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, coffeemaker and flat-screen TVs. For guests that want a little more space, the one and two bedroom suites as well as the Jacuzzi king rooms offer sweeping views of the shoreline, along with some extra room for the whole family to relax after a great day at the beach. The stunning scenery of the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel makes it a great option for a meeting or event. From a 5,128 square foot ballroom to a 2,000 square foot outdoor oceanfront patio, the hotel can accommodate groups up to 550 people. The hotel also provides the perfect setting for an oceanfront wedding, offering everything from exquisite catering options to personalized event services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing