We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Top to bottom this place has it going-on re facilities and customer service. One of the managers, Cliff, provided the kind of help and advice you would expect to get from a concierge at a five-star hotel - better, actually. For example, he gave-us a heads-up on expected wait at a local favorite breakfast eatery, called ahead (without being asked) to make sure they were still serving breakfast in late morning, printed out directions (again, without being asked) and made additional suggestions after learning a bit about our interests. Not what you would expect from an extended-stay chain hotel. Housekeeping was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Other on-duty staff members were almost equally helpful. The hotel managed to cram (without being overly crowded) everything one could need in the modest space of our suite. We found the facilities better than most Marriott Courtyards and even the nearby higher-star Courtyard Cheseapeake Marriott, which despite its price and appearance was rough around the edges. I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to give this place a hearty thumbs-up. Only gripe - pillows could have been fluffier/firmer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philandcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clint M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I also wanted to say thank you for the positive comments regarding my "concierge" service. I love to share things that I enjoy with my guests. I'm glad that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself. I hope that if you are in the area again we can see you!

Clint, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had the pleasure of attending a wrestling tournament and staying here for 4-5 nights. I cannot say enough about the fantastic service. I just finished sending the manager a nice email.

I travel "a lot" domestically and internationally and rarely write reviews. For the class hotel, these guys do a top notch job. All the staff that we encountered (probably 9 or so) over the course of our stay were outstanding. One incident stands out, my son who is small went looking for the laundry room by himself and a staff asked him if he needed help - he told her that he was looking for the laundry room - she not only walked him to the room but gave him 4 boxes of soap that a prior guest had left. Often kids are not treated quite as well as their paying parents - I was particularly impressed by this gesture and service - given that I was not present. She treated him like another guest and went the extra mile with the soap.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite - which is outstanding for kids and extended stay - separate bedrooms - full kitchen and living room in the middle. Also, the hotel was very quiet - which was a real bonus - we slept very well (which is often a problem for me given time zone issues).

Nevertheless, this is an outstanding hotel worthy of a try if you are staying in VA Beach. Right off 264 - so good location to get around. I should also point out that the final two nights of our stay we switched to a beachfront upscale hotel - while the view was great (oceanside) - I missed the amenities and small things that we experienced at this hotel.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Corner room was fantastic for family (2 separate bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I also appreciated the email you sent to me. I put it in my associate area for all to see! Thank you so much, and I look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Clint Militzer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel while in Virginia Beach is located bout 20 minutes driving distance from the shore (pending traffic). A vehicle is needed to get around this area as it is located in a more industrial part of town. The staff is friendly and attentive. Breakfast is free (as is usually the case at this chain), and is a standard continental buffet. Great for an extended stay.

Room Tip: I suggest not staying in a room by the pool if it's warm out as this can be a disturbance should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It will be my pleasure to share your positive comments with my staff. I hope that if you are in the area again you will choose to stay with us!

Clint Militzer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, but it was the staff who really shined. From the front desk to the breakfast room; the housekeeping staff to the manager, everyone was sincerely welcoming and friendly. I agree with the other comments that have been written. This is an excellent choice for your stay in the Virginia Beach, Norfolk area. Easy access to the highway makes this even better. I unreservedly recommend the TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review. We loved having you stay at the hotel and look forward to having you next time you make it to Virginia Beach! Talk to you soon!

Clint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My father n law stayed here for 2 days while we moved him. He is deaf and the staff went out of there way to make him comfortable. We really appreciate the friendly staff and look forward to staying there ourselves .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sheneda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Vaulued Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words. I will be delighted to share them with my staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and my staff was helpful. Thank you also for taking time to fill out this review. It is my goal that every guest has a perfect and problem-free stay. I hope that we will see you in the area again soon!

Clint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My company booked my room here for me. I had never stayed here before during my visits to Hampton roads so I was skeptical originally. Boy I was pleasantly surprised! One of the friendliest checking I have ever had. My room was clean and cool. The continental breakfast was hot and fresh. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyVABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your corporate trip to Virginia Beach. We hope to see you again soon if you travel to the Virginia Beach area again. My staff will love to hear your positive comments! Thank you for choosing Marriott!


Clint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was only there one night, but the room was spacious and accommodating. The space was clean. Service was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast had lots of choices and free coffee in room is always welcome. The location was a bit different, not too close to walk able good food, but near the highway to get around. It was quiet for us. No noisy neighbors but my sister said they could hear right through the walls. We had a first floor and did not hear anyone above us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSVirginiaBeach, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Hello and Thank You for the kind words! I will be delighted to share them with my staff and they will be so excited for the positive words. We work very hard to ensure that every guest has the best stay possible and i'm glad that we were able to provide that for you. I hope that if you are in the area again you will return and visit us again. Thank you so much, and see you soon!

Clint, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virginia Beach/Norfolk Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virgin...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
288 reviews
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,364 reviews
11.2 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach

Address: 5757 Cleveland St, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-1751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $108 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel in Virginia Beach offers 94 spacious suites that are thoughtfully designed. Enjoy fully furnished kitchens with dishwashers, ovens, and refrigerators in each of our suites. Complimentary Grab-n-Go breakfast. Stay connected and work easily with complimentary wireless internet-access. Each room also has free HDTV cable service including HBO. Laundry facility, outdoor seasonal pool, & great rates for extended stay visits at our Virginia Beach hotel. Get a great night's sleep with luxurious bedding featuring custom comforters and fluffy pillows. This hotel has a smoke-free policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing