We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Quarters Resort
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go elsewhere”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The location is great..right on the beach...but at least a hundred hoels at VA Beach can claim the same thing.
The parking garage is crazy tight. The outdoor pool is okay but the bar was never open. The indoor pool was closed. The spa with the hot tub, etc has an upcharge of $5 per person to use it. The jacuzzi tub in our room didn't work and the mirror surrounding the shower was coming loose and 70's era porn cheesy along with the avocado green doors.
The toilet is in a tiny little room and set very low. Very uncomfortable. And, it wouldn't fill requiring us to take the back off and adjust it to fill so we could flush.
Very disappointed given the price...will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    156
    103
    86
    73
See reviews for
204
142
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

It was ok but here is something you need to know. The parking is horrible. And pots are to big for the sink and they provide it. And im 9 years old.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We just got back from our stay at the Beach Quarters Hotel and I would recommend it very highly! The room/suite was spotless!!. Great view of the beach. The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative. Not once were we approached by the staff trying to promote time sharing. The outdoor pool and surrounding area was very clean. The parking garage is tight but if you take your time, it is very much doable. The elevators were clean and fast. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nags head, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My family and I just returned from a Sat/Sun (9/12-9/14) stay at the Beach Quarters. We were staying with a larger group attending a Sunday wedding.

The staff is Excellent and extremely friendly. However, this does not compensate for the lack of comfort/conveniences of this hotel.

This hotel is at best a 1 star. The parking is unbelievable, extremely tight and hard to navigate. I drive a suburban and had some difficulity. There were serveral people with much smaller cars than I who were having difficulty. The room size was fine, standard and nothing exceptional about them (definately did not stand up to the price). The beds are not very comfortable and small. The room had two temperatures, hot and freeze you buns off.

I spoke with the front desk staff after the first night and questioned the parking and the temperature issues. Suprisingly, they were not at all surprised. In fact the person at the front desk finished my sentence regarding the temperature. I would have cancelled my reservation for the second night, except unlike most hotels, they had a fee associated with a cancellation. There were fees associated with everything and make sure your out of the room by 10 and no room will be ready before 4 pm.

As I said before, the employees at this hotel were absolutely the nicest and most helpful of any hotel I have ever stayed. I stay at hotels about 10 times per month and really can not say enough about how nice the employees were.

I think its a shame that they have to continually apoligize for the short comings of this hotel.

Do yourself and your family a favor and stay somewhere else. You will definately regret staying at this hotel!!! I actually stopped a couple with a small child who was in the lobby asking about the hotel from staying at the place. The family was quite happy with what I suggested - the Hilton a few blocks down the street is half the price and twice the service/ammenities.

Good luck

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireandrainobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I made sure I did my homework before coming to this place. I was aware that the place had rooms on the small side. I must tell you that even though they advertised sleeps 4 that doesn't mean 4 people can be here comfortably. The one bedroom unit had a very small bed. the sleeper sofa is small and uncomfortable as well. the "kitchen", well there is not much to say, except that I am shocked they are allowed to call it a kitchen. The stove is less than 24 inches wide. the counter is 12 inches then the sink is too small for the pan that is in the room. There is 24 inches of floor space in that thing they call a kitchen. No dishwasher. There is a dining table 24 inches wide with 2 chairs. Remember the room can sleep 4. The room we had was room 302. this room has a double balcony. larger than the others which made it very nice at night.
There were people two floor up that kept throwing bread out for the birds, but you cant control who stays at the hotel.
The unit we had had a strange floor plan. the toilet was on one side of the entryway, and the sink and tub was in a differnt room on the other side of the entryway. I found it quite disgusting because after using the bathroom you have to open the door to by the toilet to cross the hall to the other room to wash your hands.
The hotel has activities planned each day but, they were not all at this facility. There are other Gold Key Resorts so activities are at all of them. The problem is they can be 24 blocks apart!!! Not worth it. They have "free internet". you must give a credit card in order to access. I have Walking Hot Spot. a program I downloaded to my cell that gives me my own hotspot that my laptop can connect to.
The hotel staff is top notch. That is the only reason I gave a score as high as I did. After check in you are immediately sent to the resort concierge desk. They will try to get you to get a time share. Just tell them you are not interested.
The gym on site is great. There is a tennis court, activity room for kids, laundry rooms, indoor and outdoor pools. Parking is great for cars.Who drives a car anymore. SUV's watch out. low ceiling in parking garage. The ramps up and down takes special maneuvering. Good Luck! If you have a luggage carrier on top, you will have to take it off.
I usually stay in a condo on the same end of the beach, but it was closed this season for renovations. I will definitely return there next time.
I am very sorry but I cant recommend this place to anyone with a family. It would be great for 1 or 2 people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

After all of the bad reviews, I was afraid of what I would see. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the hotel was spotless. The grounds are well kept and someone was always cleaning windows and elevators. We had an air conditioning problem and help was there immediately and corrected it. Yes, the parking garage was a nightmare and I would never consider buying a timeshare there because of it. Excellent place to stay, not sure where these others stayed!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyoffourVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Beach Quarters

I stayed at the Beach Quarters in July 2009- Now, if you are trying to decide if this is place for you- here are some comments that will help you decide:

1. It has an indoor pool. So one would think that it is good for young children on rainy days- think again! The tile floors all around the indoor pools and Jacuzzi are extremely slippery causing little ones to get hurt and bleed! The Jacuzzi is not relaxing at all. In fact, it is the most violent Jacuzzi I have ever been in!

2. The roof top pool is nice, yet the lounge chairs are ripped and old. There is also a roof top bar & grill- didn’t try it.

3. The rooms: You may have read that rooms have been renovated- that doesn’t mean much. The new carpet is nicer than before- and I did notice some paint updates, but other than that everything is the same. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you request not to be on the first floor- you will not have a good ocean view and you will not have chairs to sit on outside. Also, request not to be on the 12th (top) floor- there are huge spotlights above several 12th floor balconies that really attract the bugs at night. Therefore, you will not be able to sit outside at night, unless of coarse you don’t mind sharing your space with the biting bugs and moths. When you wake up, you will find a bunch of dead moths and live bugs on your balcony! That is not for me! I have stayed here two times- and I believe that there are definitely bed bugs all over- not to mention all different types of bugs in your room. Overnight, tiny little fleas or gnats will gather on towels and can be seen all over. Yuck!!!! The views from the rooms are nice, but would be great if there wasn’t a huge black pipe in the sand in front of the resort along with an ugly little bulldozer. We stayed in a one bedroom and the size is great for what we needed. The bathroom is tiny though, and our tub was dirty. The kitchen area is very small, but it is great to have at the beach.

4. Cleanliness: Our unit-Very poor!!!! Yuck! The cleaning crew seems to work in groups- which I found strange. Seems like there is much for talking going on than actual cleaning. However, I found the bathrooms by the indoor pool seemed to be cleaned frequently- which was nice.

5. Location: If you like being away from the action, then you’ve got it. Remember, there is always a bus ($2 to ride all day) which can take you to where you want to go. Also, you should know that on most days, a large part of the beach area directly in front of the Beach Quarters is designated for surfers, so you will need to move to the far left or right if you don’t want to get hit by them- in fact, I don’t think you can swim in that area during the surfing times.

6. Parking: Okay it is tight, but doable. I like that there are special spots throughout the levels designated for larger vehicles. Tip: Don’t unload you things before you get in the parking garage- you will hold up traffic, and it is much easier to unload in the parking garage. So when you arrive- go check-in, park and then unload. Luggage carts are easy to find. 

7. Customer Service: The staff at the Beach Quarters is very nice. Lynette, the front desk manager is extremely professional and kind.

8. Other Tip- One great thing about this place is that you can have an great ocean view, but also use the awesome amenities of Turtle Cay (a resort across the street). Simply show your room key to the Turtle Cay front desk to get a key to access their pools. You must renew the key each day. We had a great time at Turtle Cay!

9. Other Tip- Sunsations is right across the street and you can find coupons in the Sunny Day Guide- so make sure if you buy something you use the coupons. Coupon books can be found on the corner by the light.

10. Other Tip- Eat at Mahi Ma’s right next door in the Ramada. Great food and good service! You can find a coupon for buy one get 2nd half off (Sun-Th) in the coupon books.

11. Would I stay again- well, I don’t like bugs, so most likely not.

I hope this review helps with your research. If you are still looking for a place, and don’t need a kitchen- check out the Holiday Inn on 21st street. We really enjoyed our stay- and the location is right in the middle of the action, but it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitehall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#80 of 109 in Virginia Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
992 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Quarters Resort

Property: Beach Quarters Resort
Address: 501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3521 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the most amenities of any resort on the beach and all oceanfront rooms and suites, Beach Quarters is easily the best value on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. One-bedroom suites that sleep up to six, and a full kitchen and queen sleeper sofa in living room, make it great choice for families vacationing for a week or more. Studios include one king bed or two double beds and a kitchenette. Get in a game of rooftop tennis or shuffle board, swim in the heated indoor oceanfront pool or soak up the sun at the 7th floor rooftop pool. Enjoy a frozen cocktail or a meal poolside at Sandbar, a tropical bar and grill on the 7th floor pool deck, open seasonally. Work-out in the expansive athletic club which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and exercise machines. Additional resort amenities include a Business Center, laundry facilities onsite, free Wi-fi and onsite guest parking, a Youth Activity Center and Game Room, and easy access to water sports at Rudee Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach
Beach Quarters Virginia
Clarion Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing