We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Season Great Deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Quarters Resort
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off Season Great Deal!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Even though this particular property is older than Gold Key's fancier, newer places it was EXACTLY what I needed at the time. I was in the area to visit friends - but like having my own place to stay (that's how U keep friendships :-) & I couldn't have asked for a better price ($63/nite deal found online)! My ONLY "complaint" about the room was the fact that the sheets on the bed were too short. I'm an "active" sleeper & my sheets kept coming up from the foot of my bed so that I felt the "ticking" or bedding/padding underneath & that was annoying. If there would have been fitted sheets I would've literally have been in paradise! The fact that EVERY room faced the beach so that I could hear the ocean all day/night was divine!
One more complaint: not sure if they can make it a policy for patrons to NOT feed the birds from their balconies - that would be awesome. Thankfully, the people above me who did so checked in the day before I was leaving, so I didn't have to endure it for long. All in all - Beach Quarters was exactly what I needed - a Quiet, Beach Front get away BEFORE the late Spring/Summer crowds took over Virginia Beach. :-)
Others have complained about the tight corners of the parking garage - and it's true - U have to stay alert, but since the property wasn't crowded & I drive a mid-sized car I was fine. I would NOT have wanted to maneuver a truck on those corners.
I have no comments on the room service or food quality. I either ate out with friends or we'd bring food/drinks back to my room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    152
    101
    84
    70
See reviews for
195
137
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Sorry, but after just coming form North Beach Plantation in North Myrtle Beach, this place was disguisting. We paid $189 for one night. Will NEVER recommend this to anyone. It was obvious that they had renovated and thank goodness for this because I would not like to imagine this place before the reno. We should have done more research before staying here. We prepaid so couldn`t get out of it...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nstraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I paid only 65 dollars a night for a room with three rooms and an ocean view balcony, which is the same I pay for a dive motel in the middle of nowhere. Having a kitchen was very nice and saved a bunch of money on food costs. The front desk staff was EXTREMELY nice and professional. The ground floor pool was a little disappointing, but the hot tub was great. The living room was very open and naturally lit. The parking garage was seriously rough.. it was so tough to get in and out of that i intentionally avoided driving at all while i was there because i didn't want to chance it more than i had to. the only other complaint that I have was the fact that either the front desk or maid service called/pounded on the door repeatedly before 10 a.m.... I definitely would have liked to get a little more sleep while on vacation. Overall, though, great location on the boardwalk if you're looking to get away from the crowds a little, incredible views, and very well kept rooms. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: get a 2 bed efficiency.. it had the best set up of all the rooms i saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blgtn,IN
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good location,ocean view w/ sliding glass doors was very nice. The TV worked,bed was OK,lousy decor,fairly clean, tiny kitchenette, the shower was in the foyer (!!!)and the toilet was in something like a closet. I would never stay there again!

Room Tip: anyone with mobility problems should not stay at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweezieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We decided to visit here from the Baltimore MD area, this was a free time-share week. We are owners here and have enjoyed Beach Quarters on previous visits. As another reviewer had written, they love to try to talk you into buying here. The view of the ocean is magnificant and I love to see the sunrise over the Atlantic...daily. The room was very clean and recently remodeled, the kitchen was well equiped, the annoying thing was appliances were "crammed" into every tiny space there is under the counter. You have to dig them out, I do not have another suggestion on where to put the items needed in the kitchen, such as a toaster, knives, cutting board, etc, you get the picture. The regular oven had been replaced with a microwave/convection oven. I have never used one of these before and had no idea on how to operate one, there were no direction books or guides available. A plus was there is now a small dishwasher, which leads to the question, why is there a dish drainer under the counters? There is a flat counter top-2 unit cooking area. It is purely anemic. The bed is firm but comfortable, along with nice new pillows. An in-room safe appreciated. They now have in room wi-fi at no additional charge...hooray!. But they still charge owners for using the 5th floor fitness center-$2pp/per day. They gave us some double talk on why they charge, other resorts do not charge for the same amenities. The indoor and outdoor pools are very nice with reasonable hours.

Room Tip: One bedroom units have 2 double beds, they also have one bedroom units with a queensize. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the Beach Quarters on an Interval timeshare exchange with my family during the holidays. The facility is a step up from the other hotels like Hampton Inn and Ramada but not as good as the Hilton and Ocean Beach Club up the road. Overall, I liked it and would return. Be careful about extra charges as the facility charges for some things most hotels/timeshares do not (see below).

The good stuff:
1. Location: It's on the beach and all rooms have a balcony overlooking the ocean. We sat outside to watch the surfers (yes, surfers in December), dolphins and holiday light display.
2. 1BR Suite: clean, good storage, and comfortable beds. I slept on the pull-out sofa in the living room and it was very good. Most pull-outs are awful so finding a good one was a welcome surprise.
3. Staff: friendly, helpful, professional. A real plus and one of the reasons our stay was enjoyable.
4. Housekeeping: We found the room in very good shape and didn't need to call the front desk for extras or missing items. The once a week room clean-up for timeshare guests was very thorough, including replacing used items from the kitchenette.
5. Kitchenette: Good for the basics (breakfast, simple meals) but small and limited counter space.

The not so good:
1. Charging extra $ for the fitness center. This was a first, I've never been in a resort/hotel that charges for use of the fitness center. The equipment is basic, nothing special and no extras. Very disappointing.
2. Parking Garage. Yes, it's free. It's also very narrow so if you have a large vehicle you be very careful going up/down, which you will do a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarcNewYork37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful on checkin. The concierge desk gave us some ideas on places to eat and some directions. Everything was great until he started trying sell us a timeshare. When we told him clearly we were not interested, he said "You are not interested in saving money?". We said no and left for our room. Very annoying. The room was average. It has a nice view of the ocean and a balcony to sit out on. The room is dated. The bath/Jacuzzi had hairs in it. The bed was comfortable. The area is good at this time of year as most of the bars and restaurants were open. I would stay at a different place in the same area next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#78 of 109 in Virginia Beach
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,885 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Quarters Resort

Property: Beach Quarters Resort
Address: 501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the most amenities of any resort on the beach and all oceanfront rooms and suites, Beach Quarters is easily the best value on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. One-bedroom suites that sleep up to six, and a full kitchen and queen sleeper sofa in living room, make it great choice for families vacationing for a week or more. Studios include one king bed or two double beds and a kitchenette. Get in a game of rooftop tennis or shuffle board, swim in the heated indoor oceanfront pool or soak up the sun at the 7th floor rooftop pool. Enjoy a frozen cocktail or a meal poolside at Sandbar, a tropical bar and grill on the 7th floor pool deck, open seasonally. Work-out in the expansive athletic club which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and exercise machines. Additional resort amenities include a Business Center, laundry facilities onsite, free Wi-fi and onsite guest parking, a Youth Activity Center and Game Room, and easy access to water sports at Rudee Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach
Beach Quarters Virginia
Clarion Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing