We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Quarters Resort
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach Hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a King room with Jacuzzi which was great. 7th floor room was immaculately clean and we had a nice balcony overlooking the boardwalk, beach and ocean. We were provided plenty of quality linens and had a nice little kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Having read many complaints about parking, we didn't find it to be as bad as indicated, We were in an SUV and the corners were a little tight but we didn't have any problems maneuvering around them. Just take it slow and you'll be fine. Mary, the front desk agent was really friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay at this hotel again. We've stayed at several other hotels on previous trips to VA Beach and found this to be the only one we would revisit.

Room Tip: Make sure and request a room at or above the 5th floor for the best view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dojeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    152
    101
    84
    70
See reviews for
195
137
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I had a weekend stay here, and we had several issues. We had a Jacuzzi room, which was nice, but a bit awkward because the front door opens into the bathroom. The room itself was immaculately clean, no complaints there, but we wanted a separate Jacuzzi tub and shower. If you can handle having mirrors on all 3 sides in the shower, have at it. The biggest problem was the parking garage. If you have anything bigger than a Tonka truck, save yourself the trouble and pay to park across the street. I managed to scrape my Prius all the way down the side of the exit because some jerk flew past me and I thought he was going to hit me. The hotel maintains no liability for damages in the parking garage, so I had to pay out of pocket to fix it. There was minor construction on the first floor, but it wasn't a hassle. Overall, I won't recommend this place to anyone, nor will I stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norfolksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited mid October and the weather was lovely. The room we had was a one bedroom with a traditional bathroom, unlike what earlier reviewers found. It was the size of a typical suite hotel room, with 2 full beds, tiny kitchen and cozy living room.
The kitchen has a full size fridge, 2 burner cook top and a micro/convection oven. Tightly packed but all you would need. The rooms were a perfect size for a couple, but it would not be comfortable for 6. There is a table by the balcony, so 2 can eat watching the dolphins.
We did not use the pool, but the fitness room center overlooking the ocean would make anyone want to exercise.
The parking lot is a ramp style, with tight spaces, no problem for our small SUV. Just be alert at the turns.
All the suites are oceanfront, so that is a big plus. Restaurants are nearby, as are some good grocery stores.
The staff throughout was friendly, but luckily we did not need to call on anyone, as everything in our unit was functioning well. No complaints.
Yes, you can hear the planes not too far away, but they are not much worse than that heard near an airport, and far less frequent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theatermomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We exchanged for this resort 9-22 to 9-27-12..Overall the place is in good shape..Lots of linens,clean and courtious people....The kitchen is tiny tough..Wouldnt want to cook much in there..The design of the building makes for allot of walking to get in/out if your on the other side of the elevators.....
They are trying to sell weeks so when you check in they bug you and every 5 blocks there is someone buging you to arrange a visit to their other timeshares....Gets old quick..

Room Tip: Stay close to the elevators to avoid long back and forth walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deervalley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have enjoyed the time we spent there, great view, fair size room, and it looks like everything was renovated.

Location was perfect for us, since it was to the end of the boardwalk but a walking distance to everything. VA Beach offers cheap transportation in case you don't feel like walking, but the total board walk is like 40 blocks, a really good exercise I beleive.

Bathroom was a little small, but overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently stayed at the Beach Quarters Resort (BQT) from 9/8-15/12 thru an Interval International exchange. We had a 1 bedroom unit with 1 bath facing the ocean. Here's the scoop.
The good:
1. Location right on the boardwalk on the quieter end (closer to the inlet).
2. The building is a bit old but in good shape and pretty well maintained.
3. Our unit had large balcony facing the ocean with 2 doors (1 by the living rm and the other by the bedroom) and plenty of chairs and tables.
4. Room was clean and comfortable.
5. Roof top pool was a nice place to go if the beach got too windy.
6. Staff was friendly and accomodating.
7. Parking was free.
8. Nice TV's in both rooms.
9. Awesome beach.
10. Walking distance to anything you need.


The bad:
1. Utilizing their wifi was very frustrating and required numerous calls to their tech support desk.
2. Parking garage is pretty tight for large sized SUV's.
3. Bathroom area was quite small and crampt.
4. Kitchen (actually kitchenette) was small compared to most 1 bedroom time share units I've stayed in, but one can manage with it.
5. Building is a bit dated but maintained pretty well.

Overall a decent place. Not as fancy/new as the other Gold Key resorts on the beach, but still pretty nice.


As for the area, the crowds die down in Sept. but there were still some families there and and a fair amount of beach goers. IE. as nice time to go.

Room Tip: stayed in #502
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennStateSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for a week starting 9/8/12 until 9/15/12. Crowds were gone, water was still warm, the Neptune Festival Wine Festival, and the Mediterrean Festival were on the boardwalk and the NAS Oceana Air Show featuring the Blue Angels were all going on. The resort itself has a rooftop pool with tiki bar, tennis court, indoor pool with hot tub. The exercise room is very nice and overlooks the ocean. Room was very clean and well appointed and just had been renovated last year. The staff was very friendly. It has its own parking deck, but be warned, anything larger than a standard size SUV might be too tight to fit. All rooms have a balcony facing the ocean but stay floor 2 or above or you will see mostly boardwalk. Our only issue is the kitchen is tight and is definitely 1 person only. Beach towels are even provided. Sleeps 4 in the bedroom on 2 beds and 2 on pullout sofa. Short walk to Rudee Inlet for deep sea fishing, stand up paddleboard, parasailing and jet ski.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas57598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#78 of 109 in Virginia Beach
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,890 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Quarters Resort

Property: Beach Quarters Resort
Address: 501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the most amenities of any resort on the beach and all oceanfront rooms and suites, Beach Quarters is easily the best value on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. One-bedroom suites that sleep up to six, and a full kitchen and queen sleeper sofa in living room, make it great choice for families vacationing for a week or more. Studios include one king bed or two double beds and a kitchenette. Get in a game of rooftop tennis or shuffle board, swim in the heated indoor oceanfront pool or soak up the sun at the 7th floor rooftop pool. Enjoy a frozen cocktail or a meal poolside at Sandbar, a tropical bar and grill on the 7th floor pool deck, open seasonally. Work-out in the expansive athletic club which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and exercise machines. Additional resort amenities include a Business Center, laundry facilities onsite, free Wi-fi and onsite guest parking, a Youth Activity Center and Game Room, and easy access to water sports at Rudee Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach
Beach Quarters Virginia
Clarion Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing