We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip, Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Quarters Resort
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
long island, new york
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Trip, Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My wife, friends and I stayed at the Beach Quarters over the Easter Vacation for a week. I had read plenty reviews of this place and wasnt exactly sure what to think. I always take into consideration the opinions of both sides, then make my own once getting there.

SUV DRIVERS: We traveled there by SUV with a Thule box on the roof. After checking in we had to empty the Thule box and take it off the roof because it wouldnt have fit inside the parking garage. My friend actually called ahead to ask them the height, and they had put up a sign, so we knew the box was coming off anyway.

The parking garage is an absolute nightmare. The ramps to get up and out are very tight. It is labled with "Large" and "Small" Cars to allow movement, but, some people dont read that.

The rooms were outdated. We had two beds in our room, as did our friends in another room. Overall, the carpet and couches do have to be renovated, along with some other features of the rooms, however, ive seen worse. It was nice to have the balcony right on the beach to catch the sunrise in the morning. Having the kitchenette was perfect for all of us.

During the week, the nearby Naval Base does have fighter jets flying all over the beach and makes it very loud to some. I thought it was actually pretty cool.

The beach and boardwalk were awesome. Virginia Beach does an excellent job in maintaining everything to make sure how clean everything stays.

The outside pool looked nice, but didnt open until the day we were leaving because they were painting and fixing some other things. We didnt use the indoor pool, but, that also looked nice.

The staff at the hotel, from everyone that my friends and I had to deal with, all were pleasant and thanked us for our business.

The trip was awesome, very relaxing which was the goal for all 4 of us. The hotel, as mentioned earlier, can use an interior upgrade, but, overall, was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieb6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    162
    108
    88
    77
See reviews for
215
147
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Obviously, we didn't read the reviews carefully enough. This condo/suite was pre-paid, non-refundable. We arrived at night, tired from a long day of travel, looking forward to a relaxing, comfortable accommodation. We were booked for a week. First we had to navigate the parking structure. Neither my husband or I have ever been in such a scary, horrible parking facility. It is obvious that there have been a large number of damaged cars as you inch through the structure. It is very narrow with extremely sharp ramps from floor to floor, and it is not well lit. We walked into the building and the hallways smelled like dirty feet. Then we opened the door to the suite. What a nightmare. The unit was dirty, poorly maintained, smelled, and out-dated. We didn't even want to sit down. The carpets were dirty and the bedding looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for decades. The entrance to the suite was very awkward and the bedroom and bathroom had no windows. We did not want to even sit down. The staff told us it was the best they had available though they did offer to downgrade us! It was a Saturday night and all the hotels were full. So we pulled off the comforters and laid down on sheets that were worn and scratchy. The next morning we took our suitcases and moved to the Residence Inn. What a relief. No refund, of course, but we didn't care. Anything not to have to stay another night.

It is true that the rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean. However, the location on the beach is in the busiest, somewhat seedy area of the main street. It would be a perfect location for spring break.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molly0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were scared to go to this place because of all the bad reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the room layout is different and the carpet and curtains need an update, but there were many really nice things too. A beach front balcony was very important to us, and a nice comfortable bed. There was also a very nice 40 inch TV, and a very large tub/jacuzzi. Nice pools, tennis court and exercise facility. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The parking garage was bad for large cars and SUV's. But we had a chevy cavalier and had no trouble at all. Parking is free, wifi and exercise facility have a charge. We stayed in the smallest condo type room that they offer. Best restaurant we found within walking distance was Rockefellers. They are rated high on trip advisor which is why we checked them out. Very good BBQ bacon shrimp!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterSmileyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I wish I had read all the reviews before I booked this hotel. The garage is horrible and so tight. We damaged our car attempting to get out and it looks like that is a common occurance. The hotel rooms are old and dirty. The housekeeping staff only did the bare minimum (they didn't dust or vacuum). My socks were filthy from the floors. Forget about sleeping because the walls are very thin and the doors bang all night long and then the construction crews (they are currently renovating hotel (start at 7am. The hotel is located very close to an airforce base, so the jets fly overhead from 8am-10pm. There were some positives, the view of the beach was beautiful and the indoor pools were great. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful also.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom33941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

When I reserved over the phone I was told I would be given a room on the higher floor, but at check in given one on the lower floor. The staff had a take it or leave it attitude & couldn't care less. Rooms were outdated and not as neat and clean as pictured;Loud and ugly stiped carpeting.The hallways stunk. The parking garage is a hazard. The pool had a slimy bubbly film in the corner, just gross. We won't be back, but I'm sure they don't care.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilsis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

OK. There are 2 great things about this "resort." First of all the view is very nice...clear view and path to the beach. Secondly, the indoor pool was awesome and actually warm unlike most indoor pools we've come across lately. The rest is completely downhill. First of all the room is completely outdated (furniture, deco, etc)- forget trying to adjust the water- it's either freezing or scalding. We had to rig the cable in the bedroom because the reception was a joke. To their credit, they are in the midst of redecorating but during Spring Break??? We woke each morning before 7:30 to various construction and lawn maintenance sounds including major hammering overhead. The walls are seriously thin and we woke many times during the night to doors slamming in the hall and people yelling and running. We got VERY little sleep on our vacation which with little kids, is one of our favorite things to do. The parking deck is a hazard in and of itself. One way in and the same way out. Be careful- you're risking your life just driving in there! Overall, other than the pool situation we were very disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ida, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We read the reviews and were scared about staying at Beach Quarters. We drove from Arkansas to spend time with our newly married daughter who moved to Virginia. It was a bit chilly for a beach vacation to Virginia Beach but we had a great time. We got two rooms. We traded through interval. One room was for the kids(5 big kids-ages 15-26)It was a double room that slept six. The other room was for my husband and me. It was a king room with a hot tub. At first, the rooms were on different floors but they changed it so we could be closer in proximity.
The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Every staff member spoke to us in passing. As we were unloading our luggage onto the luggage carrier--one staff member ran to get is another rack. So very nice. They were quick to bring us all the towels we needed. Pool towels were available at the desk. As many as we wanted!
On Sunday, the resort offered a church service in the building. The couple that led us in worship were so nice.
The indoor pool was nice. I often just went down to sit in the reclining chair to read and look out at the beach.
The boardwalk ran right behind the hotel. It was nice and clean. We walked down to dinner a couple of times. The beach was beautiful and right out the back door.
The layout of the king room was weird with having the hot tub right by the door as you come in. But no big deal really. We were put in the remodeled rooms. They were still remodeling while we were there on the 11th floor. The water was turned off but we had ample warning of the exact time it would be off. We visited the Virginia Aquarium that day. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The curtains had the black out so we could sleep late. The televisions had dvd players with flat screens.
The kitchen in the king room was just like a hotel. Mini fridge and microwave with coffee maker.
The kitchen in the double room had a kitchen-but very small. It had a stove but no cookie sheet. The kitchen was stocked with everything else. There isn't a dishwasher and the sink was tiny but it served it's purpose.
I did miss having a table that we could all get around to eat. There is a tiny table in the double room with two chairs. To eat we just sat on the couch and brought in the chairs from the balcony.
The gym was nice with a hot tub overlooking the beach. The kids used the gym everyday and used the tanning beds everyday. The tanning was $20 for 5 days. But it was a brand new bed.
There was a computer room with two computers to check your email. We heard there was a fee for the wifi. But I am not sure how much.
They had some activities going on everyday. We painted frames one day for $5. Some of the activities were across the street at the sister hotel. The activities girl was really nice and said they were planning on getting some video games such as wii and xbox in the future.
The garage was hard to maneuvor our suburban around. But we learned after the first day to park on the first floor if possible.
We would definitely go back! Especially when it is warmer! Thank you Beach Quarter Resort Staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
389 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,054 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Quarters Resort

Property: Beach Quarters Resort
Address: 501 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3521 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the most amenities of any resort on the beach and all oceanfront rooms and suites, Beach Quarters is easily the best value on the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. One-bedroom suites that sleep up to six, and a full kitchen and queen sleeper sofa in living room, make it great choice for families vacationing for a week or more. Studios include one king bed or two double beds and a kitchenette. Get in a game of rooftop tennis or shuffle board, swim in the heated indoor oceanfront pool or soak up the sun at the 7th floor rooftop pool. Enjoy a frozen cocktail or a meal poolside at Sandbar, a tropical bar and grill on the 7th floor pool deck, open seasonally. Work-out in the expansive athletic club which features a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and exercise machines. Additional resort amenities include a Business Center, laundry facilities onsite, free Wi-fi and onsite guest parking, a Youth Activity Center and Game Room, and easy access to water sports at Rudee Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Quarters Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach
Beach Quarters Virginia
Clarion Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing